intervention  
 
Blois, 12 October 2018 – Cooperation, competition or war? Globalization in all its States
12/10/2018 - 18:00 > 19:30
 
Elvire Fabry, senior research fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute, participates in a round table as part of the Rendez-vous de l'Histoire.

The resurgence of strategic tensions between states highlights the difficulty of maintaining a stable and rules-based international economic relations organization. Can one still avoid that trade and financial exchanges degenerate into confrontation?

In the 1990s, the attraction of the model combining liberal democracy and decentralized capitalism seemed so strong that it suggested an end to history, to use the title of Francis Fukuyama’s book. The recent period, on the other hand, is marked by the return of power logic, through which strategic rivalry between states seems to become the organizing principle, even disruptive, of international economic relations. Trump’s unilateralism is, of course, the most striking illustration, but the evolution is broader and is also reflected in the policies pursued by China or Russia, among others. In these circumstances, the multilateral system of Bretton Woods is cracking. Trade tensions may well degenerate into war, while the ever-increasing financial interdependence is fraught with very great potential instability, which raises questions about the sustainability of the current international monetary and financial system. How to interpret these evolutions? Is a trade war avoidable? Is the international role of the dollar threatened? Can we find a more stable and peaceful organization of international economic relations?

Elvire Fabry intervenes alongside Vincent Bignon, advisor to the director general of studies and international relations at the Banque de France, and Sébastien Jean, director of CEPII. The debate is moderated by Dominique Rousset, journalist and producer of “L’Économie en questions”, on France Culture.

Free entry. Tickets must be picked up at the chalet closest to the meeting place, 2 hours before the schedule indicated on the program.

intervention  
 
Blois, 12 octobre 2018 – Coopération, concurrence ou guerre ? La mondialisation dans tous ses États
12/10/2018 - 18:00 > 19:30
 
Elvire Fabry, chercheuse senior à l'Institut Jacques Delors, participe à une table ronde dans le cadre des Rendez-vous de l'Histoire.

Le regain des tensions stratégiques entre États souligne la difficulté à maintenir une organisation des relations économiques internationales stable et fondée sur des règles. Peut-on encore éviter que les échanges commerciaux et financiers ne dégénèrent en confrontation ?

Dans les années 1990, l’attraction du modèle combinant démocratie libérale et capitalisme décentralisé a semblé si forte qu’elle a laissé penser à une fin de l’histoire, pour reprendre le titre de l’ouvrage de Francis Fukuyama. La période récente, au contraire, est marquée par le retour de logiques de puissance, au travers desquelles la rivalité stratégique entre États semble devenir le principe organisateur, voire désorganisateur, des relations économiques internationales. L’unilatéralisme de Trump en est évidemment l’illustration la plus frappante, mais l’évolution est plus large et se reflète également dans les politiques menées par la Chine ou la Russie, entre autres. Dans ces conditions, le système multilatéral de Bretton Woods se fissure. Les tensions commerciales pourraient bien dégénérer en guerre, tandis que l’interdépendance financière toujours plus forte couve une instabilité potentielle très grande, qui pose question quant à la pérennité du système monétaire et financier international actuel. Comment interpréter ces évolutions ? Une guerre commerciale est-elle évitable ? Le rôle international du dollar est-il menacé ? Peut-on retrouver une organisation plus stable et apaisée des relations économiques internationales ?

Elvire Fabry intervient aux côtés de Vincent Bignon, conseiller du directeur général des études et des relations internationales de la Banque de France et Sébastien Jean, directeur du CEPII. Le débat est modéré par Dominique Rousset, journaliste et productrice de « l’Économie en questions », sur France Culture.

L’entrée est gratuite. Les tickets sont à retirer dans le chalet le plus proche du lieu de la rencontre, 2 heures avant l’horaire indiqué sur le programme.