intervention  
 
Brussels, 16 October 2018 – EU trade policy in 2019 and beyond
16/10/2018 - 11:45 > 12:45
 
AmCham EU, the American Chamber of Commerce to the European Union, is organizing its EU 2018 plenary meeting on trade. Elvire Fabry, senior research fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute, participates.

As we move towards the end of the current EU term in 2019, a window of opportunity exists to move forward with the ratification of a number of recently concluded EU free trade agreements (FT As) and a number of other initiatives. Tangible achievements in this area before next summer would provide further evidence of the EU’s willingness and ability to conclude and implement ambitious trade deals, at a time of rising protectionism in other parts of the world. Continued business support and input for these agreements and initiatives could be crucial.

The discussion will also consider the outlook for trade policy during the next EU mandate, including expectations for trading relations with the US, the various trade negotiations that are underway with key partners around the world, and the outlook globally.

Elvire Fabry participates in the debate with Luca De Carli, Acting Head of Unit, Trade Strategy, DG TRADE and Kate Kalutkiewicz, Senior Trade Representative to the EU, Office of the US Trade Representative.

intervention  
 
Bruxelles, 16 octobre 2018 – La politique commerciale européenne en 2019 et au-delà
16/10/2018 - 11:45 > 12:45
 
AmCham EU, la Chambre de commerce américaine à l'Union européenne, organise sa réunion plénière annuelle sur le commerce. Elvire Fabry, chercheuse senior à l'Institut Jacques Delors, y participe.

À l’approche de la fin du mandat actuel du Parlement européen en 2019, il existe une opportunité pour faire avancer la ratification d’un certain nombre d’accords de libre échange récemment conclus par l’UE et un certain nombre d’autres initiatives. Des réalisations tangibles dans ce domaine avant l’été prochain apporteraient une preuve supplémentaire de la volonté et de la capacité de l’UE à conclure et à mettre en œuvre des accords commerciaux ambitieux, alors que le protectionnisme augmente dans d’autres parties du monde. Un soutien et une contribution continus des entreprises à ces accords et initiatives pourraient être cruciaux.

La discussion examine également les perspectives de la politique commerciale au cours du prochain mandat, notamment les attentes en matière de relations commerciales avec les États-Unis, les diverses négociations commerciales avec des partenaires clés dans le monde et les perspectives mondiales.

Elvire Fabry participe au panel, aux côtés de Lucas De Carli, chef d’unité par intérim à la DG Commerce et Kate Kalutkiewicz, représentante commerciale principale auprès de l’UE au bureau du représentant commercial des États-Unis.