intervention  
 
Brussels, 9 October 2018 – What can NPBIs bring to the table for territorial investment?
09/10/2018 - 14:30 > 16:00
 
Eulalia Rubio, senior research fellow, intervenes in a roundtable on the role of National Promotional Banks in the next EU budget. This event is part of the European week of regions and cities organised each year by the Committee of the Regions.

As new challenges arise for the EU budget, the next Multiannual Financial Framework (MFF) must maintain strong investment policies in the area of European economic and territorial development, by making the most of available resources. In this context, innovative financial instruments, as well as blending mechanisms may be part of the solution. Thanks to their financial expertise and their long-standing experience in supporting development policies, National Promotional Banks and Institutions (NPBIs) are natural partners of the EU institutions, public authorities and local project promotors in implementing such tools when appropriate and in designing an efficient and comprehensive post-2020 MFF.

This workshop focuses on providing feedback on the management by NPBIs of financial instruments coming from structural funds, and discusses the possibilities offered by financial instruments and platforms to maximise the impact of both structural and centralised funds.

Eulalia Rubio intervenes with Dariusz Stachera, Director of the Department of Social Housing Development from the BGK, Csaba Harsanyi, from the Hungarian Bank of Development and Jacek Ruszczynski, from the DG ECFIN.

If you want to know more on this topic, you can read Eulalia Rubio’s report : “Making Better Use of Public Funding: the Role of National Promotional Banks and Institutions in the Next EU Budget” (July 2018).

intervention  
 
Bruxelles, 9 octobre 2018 – Qu’est-ce que les NPBIs peuvent apporter à l’investissement territorial ?
09/10/2018 - 14:30 > 16:00
 
Eulalia Rubio, chercheuse senior, intervient lors d'une table ronde sur le rôle des banques nationales de promotion dans le prochain budget de l'UE. Cet événement fait partie de la Semaine européenne des régions et des villes organisée chaque année par le Comité des régions.

À mesure que de nouveaux défis se présentent pour le budget de l’UE, le prochain cadre financier pluriannuel (CFP) doit maintenir des politiques d’investissement fortes dans le domaine du développement économique et territorial européen, en tirant le meilleur parti des ressources disponibles. Dans ce contexte, des instruments financiers innovants, ainsi que des mécanismes de mélange peuvent faire partie de la solution. Grâce à leur expertise financière et à leur longue expérience en matière de soutien aux politiques de développement, les banques et institutions nationales de développement sont des partenaires naturels des institutions européennes, des autorités publiques et des promoteurs de projets locaux dans la mise en place d’outils et dans la conception d’un CFP post-2020 efficace et complet.

Cet événement organisé par le Comité des régions se concentre sur la rétroaction sur la gestion par les banques publiques d’investissement des instruments financiers provenant des fonds structurels et discute des possibilités offertes par les instruments financiers et des plates-formes pour maximiser l’impact des fonds structurels et centralisés.

Eulalia Rubio intervient aux côtés de Dariusz Stachera, directeur du Département du développement du logement social de la BGK, Csaba Harsanyi, de la Banque hongroise de développement, et Jacek Ruszczynski, de la DG ECFIN.

Si vous souhaitez aller plus loin sur ce sujet, vous pouvez consulter le rapport d’Eulalia Rubio : « Mieux utiliser les fonds publics : le rôle des NPBIs dans le prochain budget communautaire » (juillet 2018).