intervention  
 
Namur, 21 September 2018 – Migration policy and EU: which policy for Common good?
21/09/2018 - 15:30 > 17:00
INSCRIPTIONS
 
The group “Passion for Europe” together with the Jesuit European Social Centre (JESC) are proposing a two-day session to share the Christian vision of Europe’s current situation and main challenges, and open a dialogue on possible changes of mindset so as to rediscover the European common good.
Sébastien Maillard, director of the Jacques Delors Institute, participes as a moderator for the session "Migration flows: How Europe faces the global challenge? Which policy for Common Good?".

The so called „migrants crisis“ is at the heart of political evolutions in a number of EU countries. Europe policy is widely considered as a failure for a majority of citizens, and this issue is a source of division within Europe. Some EU national migration policies are in contradiction with the humanistic spirit at the foundation of Europe values; Pope Francis calls Europe to find “the right balance between its two-fold moral responsibility to protect the rights of its citizens and to ensure assistance and acceptance to migrants”, and calls for a dialogue to find new and sustainable solutions with greater boldness and creativity.

The speakers of this session are: Henrik Nielsen (tbc), acting director of the DG Migration and Home Affairs of the European Commission, Johannes Brandstaeter of the German Diakonisches Werk and José Ignacio García, director of JRS Europe.

intervention  
 
Namur, 21 septembre 2018 – Politique migratoire et UE : quelle politique pour le bien commun ?
21/09/2018 - 15:30 > 17:00
INSCRIPTIONS
 
Le groupe « Passion pour l’Europe », en collaboration avec le Centre social européen des Jésuites (JESC), propose une session de deux jours pour partager une vision chrétienne de la situation actuelle et des principaux défis de l’Europe et ouvrir un dialogue sur les changements possibles d'états d'esprit afin de redécouvrir le bien commun européen.
Sébastien Maillard, directeur de l'Institut Jacques Delors, y participe en modérant la session "Les flux migratoires : comment l'Europe fait face aux enjeux internationaux ? Quelle politique pour le bien commun ?".

La « crise des migrants » est au cœur des évolutions politiques dans plusieurs pays de l’UE. La politique européenne est largement considérée comme un échec par la majorité des citoyens, et cette question est source de divisions en Europe. Certaines politiques migratoires nationales des États membres de l’UE sont en contradiction avec l’esprit humaniste à la base des valeurs de l’Europe. Le pape François appelle l’Europe à trouver « le juste équilibre entre sa double responsabilité morale de protéger les droits de ses citoyens et à assurer assistance et acceptation aux migrants » et appelle à un dialogue pour trouver des solutions nouvelles et durables, faisant preuve d’audace et de créativité.

Cette session voit débattre Henrik Nielsen (tbc), directeur intérimaire de la DG Migration et affaires intérieures de la Commission européenne, Johannes Brandstaeter du German Diakonisches Werk et José Ignacio García, directeur de JRS Europe.