Conférence
 
Paris, 24 September 2018 – European social dialogue: what future?
24/09/2018 - 18:00 > 20:00
 
The Jacques Delors Institute is organizing, in partnership with the French trade union CFDT and the Maison de l'Europe in Paris, a conference on European social dialogue and its perspectives, on the occasion of the publication of the Jean Lapeyre, "History of a social innovation from 1985 to 2003" (in French).

The leaders of the 28 EU countries proclaimed last November at the Göteborg Social Summit the European Pillar of Social Rights (EPSR), which defines 20 principles and fundamental rights applicable to all Member States. It reaffirms the importance of European social dialogue in the design and implementation of economic, social and employment policies.

In recent years, however, the European social dialogue has been severely tested. The enlargement of the EU to countries in Central and Eastern Europe, which have different traditions and cultures of social relations and negotiations, has been a challenge for the dynamics and effectiveness of the European social dialogue. More recently, the crisis in Europe has had an impact on social dialogue at the national level; in several countries social dialogue has been decentralized or weakened. Ongoing changes in the labor market, such as the development of atypical forms of contract or dynamics such as digital and energy transitions, pose new challenges to the representativeness and priorities of action of the social partners, both national and international. European. The current difficulties faced by the European social partners are illustrated by the lack of agreement between them on the Commission’s first proposals to implement the 20 principles of the SEDS, in particular the Directive on reconciliation between work and private life. In such a context, how to revive and consolidate the dynamics of the European social dialogue?

After a welcome by Catherine Lalumière, President of the Maison de l’Europe, and an introduction by Jean Lapeyre, former Deputy Secretary of the European Trade Union Confederation, a panel brings together Laurent Berger, General Secretary of the CFDT, Maxime Cerutti, director of social affaires of Business Europe and Katja Lehto-Komulailen, deputy general secretary of the European Trade Union Confederation, around the question “Social dialogue: what future?”. This debate is moderated by Frank Vandenbroucke, former Belgian minister of Labour.

To register, visit the website of the Maison de l’Europe.

Conférence
 
Paris, 24 septembre 2018 – Dialogue social européen : quel avenir ?
24/09/2018 - 18:00 > 20:00
 
L'Institut Jacques Delors organise, en partenariat avec la Confédération Française Démocratique du Travail (CFDT) et la Maison de l'Europe de Paris, une conférence sur le dialogue social européen et ses perspectives, à l'occasion de la sortie du livre de Jean Lapeyre, "Histoire d'une innovation sociale de 1985 à 2003".

Les dirigeants des 28 pays de l’UE ont proclamé en novembre dernier au Sommet social de Göteborg le Socle européen des droits sociaux (SEDS), qui définit 20 principes et droits fondamentaux applicables à tous les États membres. Il réaffirme l’importance du dialogue social européen dans la conception et la mise en œuvre des politiques économiques, sociales et de l’emploi.

Pourtant, ces dernières années, le dialogue social européen a été mis à rude épreuve. L’élargissement de l’UE à des pays d’Europe centrale et de l’Est, qui ont des traditions et cultures de relations sociales et de négociation différentes, a représenté un défi pour la dynamique et l’efficacité du dialogue social européen. Plus récemment, la crise qui a frappé l’Europe a eu un impact sur le dialogue social au niveau national ; dans plusieurs pays, le dialogue social a été décentralisé ou affaibli. Des mutations en cours sur le marché du travail telles que le développement des formes de contrat atypiques ou des dynamiques telles que les transitions numériques et énergétiques posent de nouveaux défis en ce qui concerne la représentativité et les priorités d’actions des partenaires sociaux, tant nationaux qu’européens. Les difficultés actuelles rencontrées par les partenaires sociaux européens sont illustrées par l’absence d’accord entre eux sur les premières propositions de la Commission visant à concrétiser les 20 principes du SEDS, notamment la directive sur la conciliation vie professionnelle et vie privée. Dans un tel contexte, comment relancer et consolider la dynamique du dialogue social européen ?

Après un mot d’accueil par Catherine Lalumière, présidente de la Maison de l’Europe, et une introduction par Jean Lapeyre, ancien secrétaire adjoint de la Confédération européenne des syndicats, un panel regroupe Laurent Berger, secrétaire général de la CFDT, Maxime Cerutti, directeur des affaires sociales de Business Europe et Katja Lehto-Komulailen, secrétaire générale adjointe de la Confédération européenne des syndicats, autour de la question « Dialogue social : quel avenir ? ». Ce débat est modéré par Frank Vandenbroucke, ancien ministre belge de l’Emploi.

Pour vous inscrire, rendez-vous sur le site de la Maison de l’Europe.