Brief
 
Family allowances: their amount should not depend on the country where the child lives
The idea of indexing family allowances paid by each Dtate to European workers established on their territory at the standard of living of the country where their children reside has resurfaced in the European debate as part of the revision of the regulation on the coordination of social security systems.
|   19/04/2018             |   Sofia Fernandes   |   Justine Daniel             |   Labour and social affairs
Brief

This idea has its origin in the agreement between the United Kingdom and the EU signed in 2016 before the referendum on the membership of this country in the Union. This agreement, which was abolished by Brexit, included a provision providing for the indexation of family allowances paid to EU citizens and transferred to the country of residence of their children. Although the Commission rejected the idea of ​​changing European rules to provide for such indexation, some EU countries have come out in favor of this measure. In the European Parliament, this issue is also a source of debate and divides parliamentarians.

In this Policy Brief, Sofia Fernandes, senior Research Fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute, and Justine Daniel, research assistant at the Jacques Delors Institute, recall the terms of the debate and the positions of the different Member States, before explaining how the indexation of family allowances is unjustified and ineffective.

Policy Brief only available in French

Décryptage
 
Allocations familiales : leur montant ne doit pas dépendre du pays où vit l’enfant
L’idée d’indexer les allocations familiales versées par chaque État aux travailleurs européens établis sur leur territoire au niveau de vie du pays où résident leurs enfants a ressurgi dans le débat européen dans le cadre de la révision du règlement sur la coordination des systèmes de sécurité sociale.
|   19/04/2018             |   Sofia Fernandes   |   Justine Daniel             |   Travail et affaires sociales
Décryptage

Cette idée trouve son origine dans l’accord entre le Royaume-Uni et l’UE signé en 2016 avant le référendum sur l’appartenance de ce pays à l’Union. Cet accord, rendu caduc par le Brexit, incluait en effet une disposition prévoyant l’indexation des allocations familiales versées aux citoyens de l’UE et transférées vers le pays de résidence de leurs enfants. Bien que la Commission ait écarté l’idée de changer les règles européennes pour prévoir une telle indexation, certains pays de l’UE se sont manifestés en faveur de cette mesure. Au Parlement européen, cette question est également source de débats et divise les parlementaires.

Dans ce décryptage, Sofia Fernandes, chercheuse senior à l’Institut Jacques Delors, et Justine Daniel, assistante de recherche à l’Institut Jacques Delors, rappellent les termes du débat et les positions des différents États membres, avant d’expliquer en quoi l’indexation des allocations familiales est injustifiée et inopérante.