Brief
 
Brexit: potential scenarios amid turbulent waters
On the occasion of the Franco-German Rencontres d'Evian, Nicole Koenig, Senior Research Fellow at the Jacques Delors Institut - Berlin, and Elvire Fabry, Senior Research Fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute, conjointly published this policy brief on the potential scenarios of the Brexit.
|   25/07/2018             |   Elvire Fabry   |   Nicole Koenig             |   Europe in the world
Brief

At the turn of the summer of 2018, we are in turbulent Brexit waters. The only clear fact is that the United Kingdom (UK) intends to exit the EU on 29 March 2019. Beyond the effective withdrawal from the EU, a transition period agreed between the two parties should allow the status quo to prevail until December 2020, a much needed delay to negotiate the details of the new post-Brexit relations.

Developments in early July have demonstrated clearly that the Brexit talks are above all a domestic negotiation in the UK. Developed under increasing pressure by an already significant decrease in foreign direct investment and calls from the business community to maintain close economic ties with the EU, Theresa May’s 12th July 104-page long “white paper” represented a first substantial attempt to engage in an increasingly pressing discussion over the future economic and security partnership with the EU. Based on this document and previous rounds of domestic and bilateral negotiations, what can we expect in terms of the future trade relationship, which will be the backbone of future relations? How do scenarios differ with regard to the security dimension, which the British government presents as the second big pillar of the future relationship? The security partnership put forward by the UK covers a broad range of policy areas including internal security and development cooperation. Here, we focus on the core of the EU’s Common Foreign and Security Policy, namely security and defence.

In this policy brief, Nicole Koenig and Elvire Fabry analyse the potential scenarios for trade relations and defence cooperation after the Brexit.

Décryptage
 
Brexit : scénarios potentiels en eaux turbulentes
À l'occasion des Rencontres franco-allemandes d'Evian, Nicole Koenig, chercheuse senior au Jacques Delors Institut - Berlin, et Elvire Fabry, chercheuse senior à l'Institut Jacques Delors, publient conjointement ce décryptage sur les scénarios potentiels du Brexit.
|   25/07/2018             |   Elvire Fabry   |   Nicole Koenig             |   Europe dans le monde
Décryptage

Au tournant de l’été 2018, nous sommes dans les eaux turbulentes du Brexit. Le seul fait clair est que le Royaume-Uni a l’intention de quitter l’UE le 29 mars 2019. Au-delà du retrait effectif de l’UE, une période de transition convenue entre les deux parties devrait permettre le statu quo jusqu’en décembre 2020, délai bien nécessaire pour négocier les détails des nouvelles relations post-Brexit.

Les derniers développements ont montré que les négociations sur le Brexit sont avant tout une négociation interne au Royaume-Uni. Développé sous la pression croissante d’une réduction déjà significative des investissements directs étrangers et des appels des milieux d’affaires pour maintenir des liens économiques étroits avec l’UE, le « livre blanc » de Theresa May daté du 12 juillet représentait une première tentative de discussion sur le futur partenariat économique et de sécurité avec l’UE. Sur la base de ce document et des précédentes séries de négociations nationales et bilatérales, à quoi pouvons-nous nous attendre en termes de relations commerciales futures, qui seront l’épine dorsale des relations futures ? Comment les scénarios diffèrent-ils en ce qui concerne la question de la sécurité, que le gouvernement britannique présente comme le deuxième grand pilier de la relation future ? Le partenariat pour la sécurité proposé par le Royaume-Uni couvre un large éventail de domaines politiques, y compris la sécurité intérieure et la coopération au développement. Nous nous concentrons ici sur le cœur de la politique étrangère et de sécurité commune de l’UE, à savoir la sécurité et la défense.

Dans ce décryptage, Nicole Koenig et Elvire Fabry analysent les scénarios potentiels pour les relations commerciales et la coopération en matière de défense après le Brexit.

En anglais uniquement.