Policy paper 218
 
Transition: the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Brexit Galaxy
Brexit will enter into force on 29 March 2019. Without an agreement on the terms of future relations between the European Union and the United Kingdom, the UK will revert to accessing the EU single market under WTO rules and reestablishing customs controls. This scenario is known as a “fall from the cliff-edge”, as tariff and non-tariff barriers will penalise companies significantly. This scenario of economic chaos cannot be ruled out as the UK government is stalling in making clear its priorities between recovering its sovereignty and losing its access to the single market.
|   20/02/2018             |   Elvire Fabry   |   Marco De Toffol             |   Economics and finance
Policy paper

This Policy paper by Elvire Fabry, senior research fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute, and Marco de Toffol, research assistant at the Jacques Delors Institute, analyses the terms of this transition, the arrangements of this uncomfortable asymmetry which are still under debate (free movement of people, possible recourse mechanism for the UK to protect its interests, etc.) as well as the policy areas for which a post-Brexit agreement must be found now, without waiting for the transition to come to an end (civil aviation, ring-fencing of the UK contribution to the EU’s framework programme for research and innovation, etc.). Added to this is the challenge of transitioning all free trade agreements signed by the EU with third countries. Negotiations are moving from bilateral to trilateral aspects. Lastly, a transition of limited duration would be relatively easy to negotiate if it mainly consists of maintaining the status quo ahead of the development of the future UK-EU relations into a steady state of operation. It will prove more delicate and could become a Brexit purgatory if a longer transition period has to be envisaged.

The stakes at play during this transition can only be appreciated by considering the British dilemma and the complex choice they will have to now make to avoid a long transition. It is only when London decides on the level of regulatory convergence it wishes to maintain with the EU that negotiators will be able to begin to draft a post-Brexit agreement and prevent the no deal scenario which may still be possible at the end of the transition.

Policy Paper 218
 
Brexit : transition mode d’emploi
Le Brexit sera effectif le 29 mars 2019. Sans accord sur les modalités des futures relations de l’Union européenne et du Royaume-Uni, ce dernier devrait se conformer aux conditions d’accès au marché européen négociées à l’OMC et à un retour des contrôles douaniers. On évoque un « saut de la falaise » tant le rétablissement de barrières tarifaires et non-tarifaires pénaliserait les entreprises. Ce scénario de chaos économique n’est pas exclu tant le gouvernement britannique tarde à clarifier ses priorités entre une souveraineté retrouvée et un accès perdu au marché unique.
|   20/02/2018             |   Elvire Fabry   |   Marco De Toffol             |   Economie et finance
Policy Paper

Ce Policy paper par Elvire Fabry, chercheuse senior à l’Institut Jacques Delors, et Marco de Toffol, assistant de recherche à l’Institut Jacques Delors, analyse les modalités de cette transition, qu’il s’agisse des aménagements de cette inconfortable asymétrie qui font encore débat (libre circulation des personnes, recours possibles du Royaume-Uni pour faire valoir ses intérêts, …) ou de certaines politiques qui devraient d’ores et déjà faire l’objet d’un accord post-Brexit sans attendre la fin de la transition (aviation civile, sanctuarisation de la contribution britannique au programme-cadre de l’UE de recherche et innovation, …). À cela s’ajoute l’enjeu de la transition à assurer pour tous les accords commerciaux signés par l’UE avec des pays tiers. De bilatérale, la négociation devient trilatérale. Enfin, d’une durée limitée et relativement simple à négocier si elle consiste essentiellement à maintenir le statu quo en attendant le futur régime de croisière des relations Royaume-Uni-UE, cette transition s’avèrerait plus épineuse et pourrait tout aussi bien devenir le purgatoire du Brexit s’il fallait envisager une transition longue.
On ne mesure néanmoins les enjeux qui se jouent pendant cette transition qu’en revenant au préalable sur le dilemme britannique et la complexité du choix que le Royaume-Uni doit faire sans plus tarder pour éviter une transition longue. Ce n’est qu’en fonction du degré de convergence réglementaire que Londres décidera de maintenir avec l’UE que les négociateurs pourront commencer à élaborer un accord post-Brexit et éviter le saut de la falaise encore possible en fin de transition.