Brief
 
Es ist Zeit
The Jacques Delors Institute, in collaboration with the Jacques Delors Institute - Berlin, the Hertie School of Governance and the Bertelsmann Foundation, organised the conference "Making Europe's Economic Union Work", in the presence of great European personalities, including Mario Draghi and Enrico Letta . On this occasion, a speech by Jacques Delors on the future of EMU was read.
|   19/09/2018             |   Jacques Delors             |   Economics and finance
Brief

Jacques Delors, founding President of the Institute, insists that the future of Economic and Monetary Union is now at stake. At a time when Europe and its core values are being attacked by populists of all stripes as the UK prepares to leave the EU, it believes that we can not just contemplate our past successes or only defend what we have already built.

After having resituated the EMU in the long term, Jacques Delors pleads for the development of the economic and social pillars of the EMU, recalling this symbolic formula which is dear to him: growth that drives us, cohesion that makes us stronger , solidarity that unites us.

Décryptage
 
Es ist Zeit
L'Institut Jacques Delors, en collaboration avec le Jacques Delors Institut - Berlin, la Hertie School of Gouvernance et la Fondation Bertelsmann, a organisé la conférence "Making Europe's Economic Union Work", en présence de grandes personnalités européennes, dont Mario Draghi et Enrico Letta. À cette occasion, un discours de Jacques Delors sur l'avenir de l'UEM a été lu.
|   19/09/2018             |   Jacques Delors             |   Economie et finance
Décryptage

Jacques Delors, président fondateur de l’Institut, insiste sur le fait que l’avenir de l’Union économique et monétaire se joue maintenant. Au moment où l’Europe et ses valeurs fondamentales sont attaquées par des populistes de tout acabit, alors que le Royaume-Uni s’apprête à quitter l’UE, il estime que nous ne pouvons pas nous contenter de contempler nos succès passés ou de seulement défendre ce qu’on a déjà bâti.

Après avoir resitué l’UEM dans le temps long, Jacques Delors plaide pour le développement des piliers économique et social de l’UEM, en rappelant cette formule symbolique qui lui est chère : la croissance qui nous stimule, la cohésion qui nous rend plus fort, la solidarité qui nous unit.