Brief
 
Social Europe: From Slogan to Reality
Last year, major initiatives regarding the social dimension of the European Union have been launched, notably the proclamation of the European Pillar of Social Rights in Gothenburg in November. Thus, 2017 might mark a turning point in the development of the social dimension of European integration.
|   08/10/2018             |   Sofia Fernandes   |   Frank Vandenbroucke             |   Labour and social affairs
Brief

These initiatives signal the emergence of a new paradigm, but the jury is still out about its real and lasting impact. Next to the imperative to translate the solemn declaration of Gothenburg into tangible measures, the debate on social Europe remains handicapped by confusion and contradictory views about the role the Union should play in social policy.

Sofia Fernandes, senior research fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute, and Frank Vandenbroucke, professor at the University of Amsterdam and adviser at the Jacques Delors Institute, publish together this Policy Brief, with the Robert Schuman Foundation. They first briefly explain why a social dimension has become a necessity for the European Union, even though the Union has no vocation to become a Welfare State. Then they identify three areas in which concrete action by the Union is necessary: promoting upward convergence in social standards and performance; guaranteeing fair mobility; and making investment in human capital a leitmotif of European action.

Décryptage
 
Europe sociale : du slogan à la réalité
Alors que d’importantes initiatives relatives à la dimension sociale de l’Union européenne ont vu le jour en 2017 — la principale étant la proclamation du Socle européen des droits sociaux à Göteborg en novembre —, l’année écoulée pourrait marquer un tournant dans le développement de la dimension sociale du projet européen.
|   08/10/2018             |   Sofia Fernandes   |   Frank Vandenbroucke             |   Travail et affaires sociales
Décryptage

 Ces initiatives signalent un nouveau paradigme quant à la relation entre les dimensions économique et sociale du projet européen. La partie n’est cependant pas gagnée. Au-delà de l’impératif de traduire la proclamation solennelle de Göteborg en mesures concrètes, le débat sur l’Europe sociale pâtit toujours de l’absence d’une analyse claire, partagée par tous les acteurs, sur le rôle que doit jouer l’Union européenne dans le domaine social.

Sofia Fernandes, chercheuse senior à l’Institut Jacques Delors, et Frank Vandenbroucke, professeur à l’Université d’Amsterdam et conseiller de l’Institut Jacques Delors, publient conjointement ce décryptage, en collaboration avec la Fondation Robert Schuman. Ils expliquent d’abord brièvement pourquoi la politique sociale est devenue une dimension cruciale du projet européen, même si, simultanément, l’Union européenne n’a pas vocation à devenir un État-providence. Ils identifient ensuite trois domaines dans lesquels une action tangible de l’Union est nécessaire : promouvoir une convergence ascendante dans les normes et les performances sociales ; garantir une mobilité équitable des citoyens ; et faire de l’investissement dans le capital humain un leitmotiv de l’action européenne.