Brief
 

Invest in the clean energy future we want: ten recommendations to accelerate competitive clean energy innovation with Horizon Europe

|   30/01/2019             |   Thomas Pellerin-Carlin             |   Energy and environment
Brief

Doubt is spreading over Europe’s capacity to build a better future for all. Many parents fear their children will be worse off than they are. Four months ahead of the European elections, the European Union (EU) has a chance to challenge this mind-set by setting a new horizon for its Research and Innovation (R&I) policy.

The European Commission, Council and Parliament are indeed negotiating ‘Horizon Europe’, the next EU Framework Programme for R&I. This comes at a time when Europe is engaged in the energy transition: a radical change of the way we heat, power and transport ourselves, to ensure better lives on a clean planet.

The EU and European States ended the year 2018 with the EU Long Term Strategy and the international climate negotiations at COP24. They made the right promises; they now need to walk the talk. Horizon Europe is key in that regard, because there will be no energy transition without transformative innovation.

This policy brief aims to inform the negotiations and implementation of Horizon Europe, to help the European Union invest in the clean energy future we want. It thus makes ten recommendations to 1) strengthen EU R&I Missions, 2) focus the European Innovation Council on providing patient capital to innovators, and 3) invest sufficient public funding into these promising innovations.

Décryptage
 
Invest in the clean energy future we want: ten recommendations to accelerate competitive clean energy innovation with Horizon Europe
|   30/01/2019             |   Thomas Pellerin-Carlin             |   Energie et environnement
Décryptage

Le doute plane sur la capacité de l’Europe à bâtir un meilleur avenir pour tous. Beaucoup de parents craignent que leurs enfants soient moins bien lotis qu’eux. Quatre mois avant les élections européennes, l’Union européenne (UE) a une chance de remettre en cause cet état d’esprit en définissant un nouvel horizon pour sa politique de recherche et d’innovation (R&I).

La Commission européenne, le Conseil et le Parlement négocient en effet « Horizon Europe », le prochain programme-cadre de recherche et de développement de l’UE. Cela intervient à un moment où l’Europe est engagée dans la transition énergétique : un changement radical dans la façon dont nous nous chauffons, nous alimentons et nous transportons, afin de garantir une vie meilleure sur une planète propre.

L’UE et les États européens ont clôturé l’année 2018 avec la stratégie à long terme de l’UE et les négociations internationales sur le climat à la COP24. Ils ont fait les bonnes promesses. Ils doivent maintenant passer des paroles aux actes. Horizon Europe est central à cet égard, car il n’y aura pas de transition énergétique sans innovation transformatrice.

Ce Policy Brief vise à éclairer les négociations et la mise en œuvre d’Horizon Europe, afin d’aider l’Union européenne à investir dans l’avenir de l’énergie propre que nous souhaitons. Il formule donc dix recommandations pour 1) renforcer les missions de R & I de l’UE, 2) inciter le Conseil européen de l’innovation à fournir du capital patient aux innovateurs et 3) investir un financement public suffisant dans ces innovations prometteuses.

Seulement en anglais.