Report 117
 
The revenge of the nation: political passions in contemporary Poland
|   28/01/2019             |   Aziliz Gouez             |   Democracy and citizenship  |  Law and institutions
Report

The victory of Law and Justice (PiS) in the 2015 Polish parliamentary elections came as a shock to all those who deemed Poland securely set on liberal democratic tracks. The new ruling party and its leader, Jarosław Kaczyński, have since embarked the Polish nation upon a fierce battle with the European Union to regain its sovereignty and, together with it, its “dignity”. This paper, written by Aziliz Gouez, associate research fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute, examines the roots of Law and Justice’s appeal amongst the Polish electorate and its resonance beyond Poland. Indeed the political and cultural agenda championed by Poland’s national-conservative party is one that is gaining ground, not just in neighbouring Hungary and in Central Europe, but across the European Union. An “alternative idea for Europe” is emerging, which conjures up interpretations of democracy and solidarity, of the articulation between national and supra-national, as well as notions of identity, values and religion that run right to the heart of the European project as we know it.

Through the case of Poland, this paper thus intends to contribute to our understanding of the profound political shifts underway in Europe today. It starts by analysing the social dimension of PiS’s political project, its emphasis on the province, on redistribution, and on the role of state intervention. It then turns to the distinctive ideological grammar and historical repertoire that shape the Polish government’s politics of national identity. Doing so, it looks at how these two strands of Law and Justice’s project – social policy and nationalist assertion – feed off one another. For it is the conflation between personal and national dignity, between redistributive justice and national revival, which defines PiS’s specific brand of politics, and its strength. It is not just through the distribution of material benefits that Law and Justice appeals to Polish voters, but also by giving them a stake in the national drama, by offering them a shelter, a place in the world – a place of which they can be proud, a country that is theirs, and theirs only.

Ultimately, this paper is an invitation to reflect on the conditions for a renewal of liberal pluralism in Europe today. Can an alternative be built to the Kaczyński-Orbán-Salvini agenda – an alternative which would do justice to the aspirations for place, identity, community and equality which are mounting across Europe while holding firm on the four freedoms, on universalist principles and on liberal pluralism? These are the questions which the Polish liberal opposition and the Polish left, but also the next European Parliament, will have to tackle head on.

Rapports 117
 
La revanche de la nation : passions politiques en Pologne aujourd’hui
|   28/01/2019             |   Aziliz Gouez             |   Démocratie et citoyenneté  |  Droit et institutions
Rapports

La victoire de Droit et Justice (PiS) aux élections législatives polonaises de l’automne 2015 a été un choc pour tous ceux qui pensaient la Pologne résolument engagée sur les rails de la démocratie libérale. Le PiS et son leader, Jarosław Kaczyński, ont initié une bataille frontale avec Bruxelles pour reconquérir la souveraineté de la nation polonaise et, du même coup, sa « dignité ». Cette étude, écrite par Aziliz Gouez, chercheuse associée à l’Institut Jacques Delors, examine les racines du succès électoral de Droit et Justice et de ses échos européens. En effet, l’agenda politique et culturel porté par le gouvernement national-conservateur polonais s’inscrit dans une évolution plus large des « passions politiques » dans l’Europe contemporaine. Dans la quasi-totalité des États membres de l’Union, on assiste à l’émergence de forces politiques qui proposent une « nouvelle idée de l’Europe », engageant des interprétations rivales de la démocratie et de la solidarité, de l’articulation entre national et supranational, du rôle de l’identité, des valeurs, et de la religion.

À travers le cas de la Pologne, cette étude entend donc contribuer à la compréhension du basculement politique à l’œuvre en Europe aujourd’hui. L’auteure commence par y analyser la dimension sociale du projet de Droit et Justice, la place accordée au monde rural, à l’intervention étatique et à la question de la redistribution. Dans une seconde partie, elle se penche sur la grammaire idéologique et le répertoire historique qui façonnent la politique d’identité nationale portée par le PiS. Ce faisant, Aziliz Gouez montre comment les deux versants de cette politique – sensibilité sociale et affirmation nationaliste – se nourrissent l’un l’autre. Car c’est bien la combinaison entre dignité personnelle et dignité de la nation, entre justice redistributive et renouveau national, qui définit le style politique du PiS, et qui fait sa force. Cette force ne repose pas simplement sur l’attention portée à la condition des plus démunis, mais sur une capacité à rendre partie-prenante du « drame national » tous ceux qui se sentent lésés, déconsidérés, déboussolés, en leur offrant une place dans le monde, un abri contre les périls extérieurs, un passé dont ils peuvent être fiers – un pays qui est le leur, et le leur seulement.

Cette plongée dans les passions politiques polonaises est aussi une invitation à réfléchir aux conditions d’un renouveau du pluralisme libéral en Europe aujourd’hui. Les défenseurs de la démocratie libérale sont-ils capables de bâtir une alternative qui réponde au projet de l’emblématique trio Kaczyński-Orbán-Salvini – une alternative qui fasse justice aux demandes d’égalité, de communauté et d’enracinement qui montent à travers toute l’Europe, tout en tenant ferme sur les quatre libertés, les principes universalistes et les valeurs fondamentales ? Ce sont là des questions auxquelles l’opposition libérale et la gauche polonaise, mais aussi le prochain Parlement européen, devront s’attaquer de front.