Brief
 
The EU’s Four Strategic Challenges
In preparation for the NATO summit to be held on July 11 and 12, 2018, Nicole Gnesotto, vice president of the Jacques Delors Institute, identifies four strategic challenges that require European lighting.
|   10/07/2018             |   Nicole Gnesotto             |   Europe in the world
Brief

The international context makes the EU’s strategic balancing complex, unstable and worrying. It should not come as a surprise then, that security matters both within and around the EU are among the predominant concerns of citizens and Heads of State alike. Many initiatives, which were once impossible, are underway, often spurred on by France. But it is necessary to launch a debate on the purpose, objectives and the principles of these initiatives.

In this context, Nicole Gnesotto, professor at the CNAM and vice-president of the Jacques Delors Institute, distinguishes and analyses four strategic challenges that require European lighting: autonomy in decision-making, crisis anticipation, political influence and the coherence between our interests and our democratic principles.

Décryptage
 
Les quatre défis stratégiques de l’UE
En vue du sommet de l'OTAN qui se tiendra les 11 et 12 juillet 2018, Nicole Gnesotto, vice-présidente de l'Institut Jacques Delors, distingue quatre défis stratégiques qui attendent un éclairage européen.
|   10/07/2018             |   Nicole Gnesotto             |   Europe dans le monde
Décryptage

Le contexte international rend l’équation stratégique de l’UE complexe, instable et inquiétante. Il n’est donc pas surprenant que les questions de sécurité, aussi bien à l’intérieur qu’autour de l’UE, arrivent en tête des préoccupations des citoyens comme des chefs d’État. De nombreuses initiatives, naguère impossibles, sont d’ailleurs en cours de réalisation, souvent sous l’impulsion de la France. Mais il est également nécessaire d’amorcer un débat sur les finalités, les objectifs et les principes de ces initiatives.

Dans ce contexte, Nicole Gnesotto, professeur au CNAM et vice-présidente de l’Institut Jacques Delors, distingue et analyse quatre défis stratégiques qui attendent un éclairage européen : l’autonomie de décision, l’anticipation des crises, l’influence politique et la cohérence de nos intérêts avec les principes démocratiques.