Report 115
 
Making better use of public funding: The role of national promotional banks and institutions in the next EU budget
Financial Instruments (FIs) and budgetary guarantees have witnessed a marked expansion in the last two Multi-Annual Financial Frameworks (MFFs) and they are called to play an even more significant role in the forthcoming MFF. The set-up and implementation of these instruments is an issue for the National Promotional Banks and Institutions (NPBIs).
|   20/07/2018             |   Eulalia Rubio   |   Fleurilys Virel   |   Benedetta Pavesi             |   Economics and finance
Report

The role of NPBIs in this field has grown in importance over time and there is also a more explicit recognition of the benefits of involving NPBIs in the implementation of the EU budget. Despite that, there is little information on how exactly NPBIs intervene in the design, management and implementation of EU FIs and guarantees.

Written by Eulalia Rubio, senior research fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute, with the collaboration of Fleurilys Virel and Benedetta Pavesi, this study explores in detail NPBIs’ past experiences in the roll-out and implementation of EU market-based instruments. The main source of information is an on-line survey conducted between December 2017 to February 2018 to a representative sample of European NPBIs. On the basis of the results of the survey, and some in-depth interviews with EU and national experts, the study assesses the Commission’s proposals concerning the next generation of FIs and budgetary guarantees and formulates some recommendations on how to improve the role of NPBIs in the next MFF.

Rapports 115
 
Mieux utiliser les fonds publics : le rôle des banques et institutions nationales de développement dans le prochain budget communautaire
Les instruments financiers et les garanties budgétaires se sont fortement développés au cours des deux derniers cadres financiers pluriannuels (CFP), et devraient voir leur rôle augmenter davantage encore dans le prochain. La création et la mise en œuvre de ces instruments constituent une question clé pour les banques et institutions nationales de développement (National promotional banks and institutions, « NPBIs »).
|   07/08/2018             |   Eulalia Rubio   |   Fleurilys Virel   |   Benedetta Pavesi             |   Economie et finance
Rapports

Leur rôle dans ce domaine s’est accru au fil du temps et on observe une reconnaissance plus explicite des bénéfices de l’implication des NPBIs dans l’exécution du budget communautaire. Pourtant, les informations relatives aux modalités exactes d’intervention des NPBIs dans la conception, la gestion et la mise en œuvre des instruments financiers et des garanties de l’UE sont limitées.

Écrit par Eulalia Rubio, chercheuse senior à l’Institut Jacques Delors, avec la collaboration de Fleurilys Virel et Benedetta Pavesi, ce rapport analyse en détail les expériences passées des NPBIs en matière de création et de mise en œuvre des instruments de marché de l’UE. Les informations obtenues proviennent essentiellement d’une enquête en ligne menée entre décembre 2017 et février 2018 auprès d’un échantillon représentatif de NPBIs européennes. Sur la base des résultats de cette enquête et de quelques entretiens approfondis avec des experts nationaux et européens, ce rapport étudie les propositions de la Commission relatives à la prochaine génération d’instruments financiers et de garanties budgétaires, avant de formuler des recommandations sur la manière d’améliorer le rôle des NPBIs dans le prochain cadre financier pluriannuel (CFP).