Policy paper 228
 
For an “Erasmus teens”
On September 26, 2017, President Macron called for the establishment of an high school Erasmus, an idea already supported by Enrico Letta, President of the Jacques Delors Institute and former Italian Prime Minister. A real tool for the formation of a European public space, Erasmus + is often considered as elitist, affecting too few young people and not enough outside the specific fields of the university. On the eve of Jean-Claude Juncker's speech on the state of the Union and in this period of school year, the Jacques Delors Institute presents its proposal "Erasmus teens", the high school Erasmus.
|   11/09/2018             |   Claire Versini             |   Democracy and citizenship
Policy paper

For more than thirty years now, the European Union has been developing education and youth initiatives with a view to giving citizens from all backgrounds the opportunity to be mobile in Europe. Mobility provides knowledge, skills, expertise, soft skills, and open-mindedness to those who can experience it. Too few citizens are able to take advantage of these opportunities today, despite the national, bilateral or European efforts to offer mobility to an increased number of them.

The Jacques Delors Institute is convinced of the need for each young European to have had the opportunity to experience a type of mobility within the European Union before turning 18 in a bid to launch a genuine mobility and European citizenship cycle. To achieve this, the Institute has taken on the idea of an Erasmus programme for young people aged under 18 proposed by several European leaders and has drawn up a recommended blueprint.

This Policy Paper, written by Claire Versini, development manager and citizen & pedagogical activities manager at the Jacques Delors Institute, develops the idea of an Erasmus Teens programme which draws inspiration from the mobility formats currently offered to minors in the European Union: a class exchange, as part of a long-term project conducted in partnership with a class in another EU Member State, which would allow the teaching team and pupils to take ownership of all the components of a project and of European mobility. Available to all young Europeans between the age of 15 and 18, this initiative would be the cornerstone of a European mobility pathway. Having been given the opportunity to experiment the benefits of a mobility experience, all Europeans would then have the ability to decide how to build upon it during their studies and their professional and personal lives.

Such an initiative naturally requires teacher training and human, logistical and budgetary resources commensurate with its ambition. Even though the initiative is ambitious, it can count on the resources and tools already developed as part of policies which are still only accessible to a limited number of teachers and pupils. This Policy Paper discusses the means with which the European Union and Member States can leverage best practices, resources and tools which already exist to go further and develop a mobility programme open to all young people aged between 15 and 18 in the European Union.

Policy Paper 228
 
Pour un « Erasmus teens »
Le 26 septembre 2017, le Président Macron appelait de ses vœux la mise en place d’un Erasmus lycéen, une idée déjà soutenue par Enrico Letta, président de l’Institut Jacques Delors et ancien premier ministre italien. Véritable outil de formation d’un espace public européen, Erasmus+ est souvent considéré comme élitiste, touchant trop peu de jeunes et pas assez en dehors de filières spécifiques de l’université. À la veille du discours sur l’état de l’Union de Jean-Claude Juncker et en cette période de rentrée scolaire, l’Institut Jacques Delors présente sa proposition « Erasmus teens », l’Erasmus des lycéens.
|   11/09/2018             |   Claire Versini             |   Démocratie et citoyenneté
Policy Paper

Cela fait désormais plus de trente ans que l’Union européenne développe des initiatives en matière d’éducation et de jeunesse ayant pour vocation de donner aux citoyens de tous horizons l’opportunité d’être mobiles en Europe. Une mobilité qui apporte connaissances, compétences, savoir-faire, savoir-être et ouvre l’esprit de toutes celles et tous ceux qui peuvent en bénéficier, trop peu nombreux à ce jour en dépit des efforts nationaux, bilatéraux ou européens pour en augmenter le nombre.

C’est convaincu de la nécessité pour tout jeune européen d’avoir eu l’opportunité d’expérimenter une forme de mobilité au sein de l’Union européenne avant ses 18 ans afin de pouvoir initier un véritable cycle de mobilité et citoyenneté européenne que l’Institut Jacques Delors s’empare de l’idée d’un Erasmus des moins de 18 ans pour en dessiner les contours souhaitables.

Ce Policy paper écrit par Claire Versini, cheffe de développement et responsable des activités citoyennes et pédagogiques de l’Institut Jacques Delors, développe l’idée d’un Erasmus Teens qui se nourrisse des formats de mobilité proposés à ce jour aux mineurs de l’Union européenne : un échange de classes, ancré dans un projet de long-terme mené en partenariat avec une classe d’un autre pays de l’UE qui permette à l’équipe éducative comme aux élèves de s’approprier l’ensemble des composantes d’un projet et d’une mobilité européenne. Cette initiative, en bénéficiant à tout jeune européen entre ses 15 et ses 18 ans, constituerait la pierre fondatrice d’un parcours de mobilité citoyenne européen aux bienfaits duquel tout Européen serait alors sensibilisé, lui donnant la capacité de décider des suites à lui donner au cours de ses études ou de sa vie professionnelle ou personnelle.

Une telle initiative implique bien sûr une formation des enseignants et des moyens humains, logistiques et budgétaires à la hauteur. Pour ambitieuse qu’elle soit, elle pourra compter sur les ressources et outils d’ores et déjà développés dans le cadre de politiques qui ne bénéficient encore qu’à un nombre restreint d’enseignants et d’élèves. Ce Policy paper développe la manière dont l’Union européenne et les États membres peuvent capitaliser sur les bonnes pratiques, ressources et outils existants pour aller plus loin et développer un programme de mobilité qui bénéficie à l’ensemble des 15-18 ans de l’Union européenne.