Rapports
 

Power to the People

This study examines the merits for the EU of promoting decentralised, clean or green electricity generation systems owned by communities or individuals that have the potential to generate excess energy to sell back to the distribution network of the electricity grid. It concludes that the contribution could be significant and that the EU has a role to play.

|   29/06/2007             |   Stephen Boucher   |   Columbia University             |   Democracy and citizenship
Rapports

This study examines the merits for the EU of promoting decentralised, clean or green electricity generation systems owned by communities or individuals that have the potential to generate excess energy to sell back to the distribution network of the electricity grid. It concludes that the contribution could be significant and that the EU has a role to play.




The team responsible for this report included 10 members of Columbia University’s MPA Program in Environmental Science and Policy, as part of the programme’s Spring Workshop in Applied Earth Systems Management. Notre Europe commissioned the present survey and analysis.

Rapports
 
Power to the People
Cette étude (en anglais seulement) examine l'intérêt pour l'Europe à promouvoir la nouvelle génération de systèmes électriques, décentralisés, propres et écologiques. Détenus par les collectivités ou les individus, ces systèmes peuvent générer des excédents énergétiques suffisants pour être revendus au réseau de distribution d'électricité. Les auteurs concluent que cette contribution pourrait être significative et expliquent le rôle positif que pourrait jouer l'UE dans la mise en place de ces systèmes.
|   29/06/2007             |   Stephen Boucher   |   Columbia University             |   Démocratie et citoyenneté
Rapports

Cette étude (en anglais seulement) examine l’intérêt pour l’Europe à promouvoir la nouvelle génération de systèmes électriques, décentralisés, propres et écologiques. Détenus par les collectivités ou les individus, ces systèmes peuvent générer des excédents énergétiques suffisants pour être revendus au réseau de distribution d’électricité. Les auteurs concluent que cette contribution pourrait être significative et expliquent le rôle positif que pourrait jouer l’UE dans la mise en place de ces systèmes.

The team responsible for this report included 10 members of Columbia University’s MPA Program in Environmental Science and Policy, as part of the programme’s Spring Workshop in Applied Earth Systems Management. Notre Europe commissioned the present survey and analysis.