Policy paper 225
 
Saving the WTO Appellate Body or returning to the Wild West of trade?
A year ago, the world was still wondering whether to expect a hard Trump or a soft Trump, and whether the new US president would be ready to adopt aggressive unilateral measures to balance the American trade deficit. Now, in the face of punitive measures targeting a specific product or country, and alternations between sanctions and concessions, the countries most exposed are adjusting their own retaliation measures.
|   07/06/2018             |   Elvire Fabry   |   Erik Tate             |   Economics and finance
Policy paper

Beyond this, European concerns are relate to Donald Trump’s desire to either disentangle himself from multilateral trade rules, or his destabilisation strategy to strengthen the disciplines of the World Trade Organization (WTO).
Will the US continues to block the appointment of judges at the WTO’s Appellate Body, the cornerstone of international trade regulation, to the point that they could blow up the dispute settlement system? In that case, one would have to brace for a trade war. Trade would no longer be rule-bound: we would be back in a Wild West replete with no-holds-barred showdowns. Or could the United Stated – along with the European Union, Japan and others – be serious about tackling the distortions that Chinese state capitalism is causing in the global economy, and that are having a more decisive impact on the US trade deficit?
The WTO needs its two legs: litigation and negotiation. It is by bringing China to the negotiating table that we can restore the confidence of the United States in the ability of the WTO to enforce fair rules. This would enable the litigation component to continue to playing its role in reducing trade tensions.
This policy paper, by Elvire Fabry, senior research fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute, and Erik Tate, research assistant at the Jacques Delors Institute, examines Washington’s criticisms of the Appellate Body, reviews the procedural reforms that could improve its operation, and advocates multilateral disciplines that should be more tightly enforced so that dispute settlement mechanisms facilitate fair trade. If the US President’s vision turned out to be more short-termist, it would be up to Europe and the other major powers to preserve a plurilateral regulatory framework, which would be all the more needed to counter the new disruptive factor that the United States would become.

Policy Paper 225
 
Sauver l’organe d’appel de l’OMC ou revenir au Far West commercial ?
Il y a un an l’on se demandait encore s’il fallait s’attendre à du hard Trump ou à du soft Trump, et jusqu’à quel point le nouveau président américain serait prêt à adopter des mesures unilatérales agressives pour rééquilibrer les échanges commerciaux américains. À présent, face à l’alternance de mesures punitives ciblées sur un produit ou un pays et de sanctions et concessions décidée à Washington, les pays les plus exposés ajustent leur riposte.
|   30/05/2018             |   Elvire Fabry   |   Erik Tate             |   Economie et finance
Policy Paper

Au-delà, l’inquiétude des Européens porte également sur la volonté de Donald Trump de s’affranchir encore davantage des règles multilatérales du commerce ou d’orienter sa stratégie de déstabilisation sur le renforcement des disciplines de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce.
En continuant de bloquer la nomination des juges de l’organe d’appel de l’Organisation mondiale du commerce, les États-Unis peuvent-ils chercher à faire imploser le système de règlement des différends — clé de voûte de la régulation du commerce international ? C’est à la guerre commerciale qu’il faudrait alors se préparer, c’est à dire à un commerce sans règle : le Far West commercial où tous les coups sont permis. Ou bien, peuvent-ils entreprendre avec l’Union européenne, le Japon et d’autres, de s’attaquer plus sérieusement à certaines distorsions que le capitalisme d’État chinois provoque dans l’économie mondiale et qui pèsent de manière plus décisive sur le déficit commercial américain ?
L’OMC a besoin de ses deux jambes, celle du contentieux et celle de la négociation. C’est en parvenant à amener la Chine à la table des négociations que l’on peut restaurer la confiance des États-Unis dans la capacité de l’OMC à faire respecter des règles équitables et permettre à la « jambe » du contentieux de continuer à assurer sa fonction de réducteur des tensions commerciales.
Ce Policy Paper, écrit par Elvire Fabry, chercheuse senior à l’Institut Jacques Delors, et Erik Tate, assistant de recherche à l’Institut Jacques Delors, revient sur les griefs de Washington contre l’organe d’appel, pour examiner les réformes de procédures qui peuvent en améliorer le fonctionnement, et se concentrer sur celles des mailles des disciplines multilatérales qui devraient être resserrées pour que le règlement des différends contribue à maintenir un fair trade. Si la vision du président américain s’avérait plus court-termiste, il resterait aux Européens et aux autres grandes puissances à préserver un cadre de régulation plurilatéral, qui sera d’autant plus décisif pour contrer le nouveau facteur disruptif américain.