Policy paper 231
 

Towards a European Transition Support Fund

Since the establishment of the European Globalisation Adjustment Fund (EGF) in 2007, the EU co-funds, together with Member States, policies to facilitate the re-integration into employment of workers who have lost their jobs as a result of major restructuring events caused by globalisation.

|   11/10/2018             |   Sofia Fernandes   |   Justine Daniel             |   Labour and social affairs
Policy paper

By the end of 2017, the EGF had targeted 147,000 European workers. Yet, despite a relatively low budget, the fund has been under-used, with only 15% of its expenditure ceiling (EUR 611 million) being allocated. This is due to excessively restrictive eligibility criteria, lengthy procedures and a lack of visibility of the fund. In addition, it is difficult to measure the fund’s performance due to insufficient data. Eight EU Member States have never used the EGF.

Even though the EGF has not reached its potential over the last eleven years, this does not mean that it should be shelved. On the contrary, the far-reaching and swift changes underway in our economies and the political considerations on the specific added value of European action require to fully unlock the fund’s potential. The current negotiation of the next multiannual financial framework (MFF) for the 2021-2027 period is an opportunity to endow the EU with a genuine “European transition support fund”.

In this Policy Paper, Sofia Fernandes, senior research fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute, and Justine Daniel, research assistant at the Jacques Delors Institute, analyse the current functioning and performance of the EGF and then present a set of recommendations for this new fund:

  1. an extension of its scope of application to any major restructuring event, not only linked to globalisation but also to other transitions underway such as robotization, the digitisation of the economy and the energy transition, which may result in job losses;
  2. a simplification of its procedure and less restrictive eligibility criteria to increase its use;
  3. enhanced effectiveness of the re-integration into employment projects funded by the fund;
  4. improved synergies with the other European instruments;
  5. a significantly higher budget and greater visibility for the fund.

Policy Paper 231
 
Vers un fonds européen d’accompagnement des transitions
Depuis 2007, l’UE dispose d’un Fonds européen d’ajustement à la mondialisation (FEM) qui lui permet de cofinancer, avec les États membres, des politiques visant à faciliter le retour vers l’emploi des travailleurs ayant perdu leur travail en raison de restructurations majeures causées par la mondialisation.
|   11/10/2018             |   Sofia Fernandes   |   Justine Daniel             |   Travail et affaires sociales
Policy Paper

Jusqu’à fin 2017, ce fonds a visé 147 000 travailleurs européens. Néanmoins, malgré un budget relativement faible, ce fonds a été sous-utilisé : seuls 15% de son plafond de dépenses – soit 611 millions d’euros – ont été alloués. Cela s’explique par des critères d’accès au fonds trop restrictifs, des procédures trop longues ou encore un manque de visibilité du fonds. De plus, son efficacité est difficile à mesurer dû à un manque de données. Huit pays de l’UE n’ont jamais eu recours à ce fonds.

Si le FEM n’a pas atteint son potentiel au cours des onze dernières années, ce fonds n’est pas pour autant à abandonner. Au contraire, les profondes et rapides mutations en cours dans nos économies ainsi que les interrogations politiques sur la valeur ajoutée propre à l’action européenne appellent à libérer tout le potentiel de ce fonds. La négociation en cours du prochain cadre financier pluriannuel de l’UE pour 2021-2027 offre aux décideurs européens l’occasion de doter l’UE d’un véritable « fonds européen d’accompagnement des transitions ».

Dans ce Policy Paper, Sofia Fernandes, chercheuse senior à l’Institut Jacques Delors, et Justine Daniel, assistante de recherche à l’Institut Jacques Delors, présentent, à partir d’une analyse du fonctionnement et des résultats du FEM, un ensemble de recommandations pour ce nouveau fonds :

  1. un champ d’application élargi à toute restructuration majeure liée non seulement à la mondialisation mais aussi à d’autres transitions en cours – telles que la robotisation, la numérisation de l’économie et la transition énergétique – susceptibles de détruire certains emplois existants ;
  2. une simplification de la procédure et des critères d’accès moins restrictifs pour renforcer le taux de recours au fond ;
  3. une efficacité accrue des projets de retour à l’emploi financés par le fonds ;
  4. un budget fortement augmenté et une meilleure visibilité du fonds ;
  5. des synergies renforcées avec les autres instruments européens.