



Draft, 29/01/2015

## The Energy Union Conference

## Friday, 6 February

\*Please note that Latvian time is one hour ahead of Brussels time

08:15– 08:50 General registration and welcome coffee

08:50 – 09:10 Arrival of ministerial delegations

Welcome by Dana Reizniece-Ozola, Minister for Economics

## Opening of the Conference

09:10 – 09:35 Moderators: Jurijs Spiridonovs, Deputy State Secretary of the Ministry for Economics

& Dominique Ristori, Director-General for Energy, European Commission

Opening speech by Dana Reizniece-Ozola, Minister for Economics

Keynote speech by Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-President of the European Commission for Energy Union

Address by Jerzy Buzek, Chair of the Committee on Industry, Research and Energy,, Member of the European Parliament (video message)

## Broader landscape for the European Energy Union

09:35 – 11:00 Moderators: Jurijs Spiridonovs, Deputy State Secretary of the Ministry for

Economics& Dominique Ristori, Director-General for Energy, European Commission

Address by Miguel Arias Cañete, Commissioner for Climate Action and Energy, European Commission

Maria van der Hoeven, Executive Director, International Energy Agency (IEA)

Jonathan Taylor, Vice President, European Investment Bank (tbc)

Robin Dunnigan, Deputy Assistant Secretary for Energy Diplomacy, Bureau of Energy Resources, U.S. Department of State

Jean-Arnold Vinois on behalf of Jacques Delors Institute/Notre Europe (tbc)

TBC, European Trade Union Confederation (tbc)

Followed by discussion





11:00 – 11:15 Family photo

11:00 – 11:25 Coffee break

The Five Dimensions of the European Energy Union

11:25 – 12:10 Moderator: Christopher Jones, Deputy Director General for Energy, European

Commission

I Supply security, based on solidarity and trust

Krišjānis Kariņš, Committee on Industry, Research and Energy, Member of the

**European Parliament** 

Sandrine Dixson-Declève, Director, The Prince of Wales's Corporate Leaders Group;

Executive Director, Green Growth Platform

Gertjan Lankhorst, President, EUROGAS

Urban Rusnák, Secretary General, Energy Charter

Followed by discussion

12:10 – 13:00 Moderator: Christopher Jones, Deputy Director General for Energy, European

Commission

II A competitive and completed internal energy market

Bente Hagem, Vice Chairperson, ENTSO-E Board

Alberto Pototschnig, Director, ACER

Elmar Thyen, Chair of the CEEP Energy Task Force(European Center of Employers

and Enterprises providing Public Services)

Monique Goyens - Director-General, BEUC

Followed by discussion

13:00 – 14:30 Lunch

14:50 – 15:30 Press conference

Dana Reizniece-Ozola, Minister for Economics

Maroš Šefčovič, Vice-President of the European Commission for Energy Union

Miguel Arias Cañete, Commissioner for Climate Action and Energy

Maria van der Hoeven, Executive Director for International Energy Agency (tbc)

The Five Dimensions of the European Energy Union (continued)





14:30 – 15:35 Moderator: Gerassimos Thomas, Deputy Director General for Energy, European

Commission

III Moderation of energy demand

Monica Frassoni, President, EU Alliance to save energy (EU-ASE)

Paul Voss, Managing Director, Euroheat & Power

IV Decarbonisation of the EU energy mix

Thomas Becker, CEO, European Wind Energy Association (EWEA)

Oliver Schaefer, President, European Photovoltaic Industry Association

Jean-Pol Poncelet, Director-General, FORATOM

Followed by discussion

15:35 – 16:20 Moderator: Gerassimos Thomas, Deputy Director General for Energy, European

Commission

V Research and Innovation

Stephan Brandligt, Deputy-Mayor of Delft (NL); Board Member of Energy Cities; Signatory of the Covenant of Mayors

Marianne Haug, Professor Energy Policy and Sustainable Development, University of Hohenheim

Graeme Sweeney, Chairman, Zero Emissions Platform (ZEP)

Followed by discussion

16:20 – 16:30 Conclusions by Dana Reizniece-Ozola, Minister for Economics