Fostering Knowledge on Sustainable Ocean: What Benefits for the EU?

Introducing The Blue Book ‘Copernicus for a Sustainable Ocean’
Tuesday 19 November
11:45 – 14:30
European Parliament

On the occasion of the launch of Mercator Ocean International’s Blue Book, MEPs Catherine Chabaud, Renew Europe, and Cláudia Monteiro de Aguiar, EPP, organise a conference on The Challenges of Ocean protection.

Since 2014, Mercator Ocean International has been entrusted by the European Commission to monitor the marine environment of the global ocean and the European regional seas in the frame of the EU flagship space programme, Copernicus. Mercator Ocean International’s report, entitled Copernicus for a Sustainable Ocean, reports on the progress made in improving knowledge of the marine environment, which is the basis for the effective and efficient preservation of our oceans, as well as the challenges that lie ahead.

Geneviève Pons, Director of the Jacques Delors Institute’s Brussels’ Office, has been invited to conclude this event, during an intervention entitled “Ocean knowledge & policy: The challenges that lie ahead

The conference will also be the opportunity to question four different dimensions of the Ocean preservation issue, i.e. the environmental dimension (“How to sustainably address growing pressures on the Ocean?”), the economic one (“How to help entrepreneurs through ocean knowledge?), the citizen dimension (“How to engage citizens for a sustainable ocean?) and the diplomatic dimension (“How to support the EU leadership in international ocean governance?”).

Full programme available

Date

19 Nov 2019

Time

14 h 00 min - 14 h 10 min
QR Code

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Encourager le développement des connaissances sur la gestion durable des océans : quels bénéfices pour l’UE ?

Présentation du Blue Book ‘Copernicus pour un Océan durable”
Mardi, 19 novembre
11:45 – 14:30
Parlement européen

A l’occasion de la présentation du Livre Bleu, présenté par le groupe Mercator Ocean International, les députées Catherine Chabaud, Renew Europe, et Cláudia Monteiro de Aguiar, PPE, organisent une conférence sur les Défis de la protection des Océans.

Depuis 2014, Mercator Ocean International s’est vu confié par la Commission européenne, dans le cadre du programme Copernicus, la responsabilité de suivre l’état de l’environnement marin des Océans et des mers européennes. Le rapport du groupe Mercator Ocean International, intitulé “Copernicus pour un Océan durable”, fait état des progrès réalisés en matière de connaissances sur la préservation de la faune et de la flore marines, base d’une politique plus efficace en matière de protection des Océans, et des défis qu’ils restent encore à traiter.

En conclusion des échanges, Geneviève Pons, directrice du bureau de Bruxelles de l’Institut Jacques Delors, traitera dans son allocution “Ocean knowledge & policy: The challenges that lie ahead“, du défi de la transformation des connaissances en action.

Cette conférence sera aussi l’opportunité d’échanger et débattre sur quatre autres dimensions de l’enjeu de protection et de préservation des océans, au cours de quatre tables rondes, dont la première traitera des enjeux environnementaux (“How to sustainably address growing pressures on the Ocean?”), la deuxième des enjeux économiques (“How to help entrepreneurs through ocean knowledge?), la troisième des enjeux citoyens (“How to engage citizens for a sustainable ocean?) et enfin la quatrième portera sur les défis diplomatiques et de gouvernance (“How to support the EU leadership in international ocean governance?”).

Retrouvez l’ensemble du programme et les noms des intervenant.e.s sur le programme complet.

Date

19 Nov 2019

Heure

14 h 00 min - 14 h 10 min
QR Code

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *