The Future of European Trade

Europe’s Strategic Choices
Thursday 7 and Friday 8 November 2019
Berlin

Elvire FabrySenior Research Fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute, will contribute to the “Europe’s Strategic Choices”, a two-days conference hosted by Chatham House and the Institute for Security Policy at the University of Kiel. This event aims to explore and understand the complex set of challenges facing Europe in the areas of security, economic competitiveness and global influence. These issues make it an important moment to bring together senior politicians, business leaders and academics from across the continent to reinvigorate the debate about Europe’s place in the world.

She will, more particularly, intervene in a roundtable on “The Future of the European Trade” along with Marianne Schneider-Petsinger, Research Fellow, US and the Americas Programme, Chatham House, Dr. Stephanie Leupold, Head of Trade Strategy, DG Trade, European Commission, Dr. Stefan Mair, Member of the Executive Board, Federation of German Industries (BDI) and Dr Holger Hestermeyer, Reader in International Dispute Resolution, King’s College London

Framing
Whatever formula for Brexit that is eventually agreed will require a recalibration of many existing trade relations and an inevitable period of change. With slow progress on free trade agreements, and a shift towards national protectionism, this session will examine potential long-term consequences for Europe’s trading environment.

  • What is the potential that developments such as Brexit will lead to longer-term protectionist trade policies in Europe?
  • How will further escalation of tensions between the US and its trading partners affect global trade?
  • To what extent have decades of European integration weakened the UK’s ability to strike trade deals with major economies?
  • What new trade patterns and relationships are emerging, regionally and globally?

Full program available here

Date

07 Nov 2019

Time

15 h 30 min - 17 h 00 min
QR Code

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Le futur du commerce européen

Europe’s Strategic Choices
Jeudi 7 et Vendredi 8 novembre 2019
Berlin

Elvire Fabry, chercheuse senior à l’Institut Jacques Delors, intervient au cours de la conférence « Europe’s Strategic Choices », organisée par la Chatham House et l’Institute for Security Policy de l’Université de Kiel. Cet événement veut revenir en détails sur les différents enjeux auxquels l’Europe devra faire face à l’avenir, que ce soit dans le domaine de la sécurité, de la compétitivité économique ou en matière d’influence à l’échelle globale. A cette fin, cette conférence réunira des hommes et femmes politiques, des décideurs économiques et des chercheurs et chercheuses de l’Europe entière pour débattre de la place de l’Europe dans le Monde.

Elvire Fabry interviendra notamment au cours d’une table-ronde intitulée « L’avenir de la politique commerciale européenne » et discutera de cette thématique avec Marianne Schneider-Petsinger, Chercheuse, programmes « États-Unis et Amériques », Chatham House, Dr. Stephanie Leupold, cheffe de la stratégie commerciale, DG Trade, Commission européenne, Dr. Stefan Mair, Membre du Conseil d’administration, Fédération des industries allemandes (BDI) et Dr Holger Hestermeyer, Reader, Règlement des Différends Internationaux, King’s College London

Cadrage
Quelle que soit l’issue du Brexit, ce dernier aboutira nécessairement à une renégociation des accords commerciaux existants, et donc à une période changements. Compte-tenu des progrès relativement des négociations commerciales en cours, et de la tendance mondiale à favoriser un protectionnisme national, cette table-ronde souhaite examiner les conséquences d’un tel environnement sur la politique commerciale de l’Union européenne, en répondant à quatre questions principales :

  • Quelle est la probabilité que des événements, comme le Brexit, mènent à l’adoption, sur le long-terme, de politiques commerciales protectionnistes en Europe ?
  • Comment l’escalade des tensions entre les États-Unis et ses partenaires commerciaux affectent le commerce mondial ?
  • Dans quelle mesure peut-on dire que les décennies d’intégration européenne ont réduit la capacité du Royaume-Uni à négocier des accords commerciaux avec d’autres puissances économiques ?
  • Quelles sont les nouvelles tendances et les nouvelles relations qui se dessinent dans l’environnement commercial régional et mondiale ?

Programme complet disponible ici

Étiquettes : , ,

Date

07 Nov 2019

Heure

15 h 30 min - 17 h 00 min
Catégorie
QR Code

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *