Brief

A Social Climate Fund for a fair energy transition

The author would like to thank Marine Cornelis, Andreas Eisl, Namita Kambli, Klervi Kerneis, Phuc-Vinh Nguyen, Thomas Pellerin-Carlin, Adeline Rochet, Eulalia Rubio, Louise Sunderland and Karin Thalberg for their valuable comments on this text.

| 06/10/2021

Introduction

The social concerns triggered by soaring energy prices across Europe come as a reminder of the negative economic and social consequences of the current polluting fossil fuel system. It also implicitly underlines that any successful green transition must be a ‘just’ transition, or it will not materialize because of political backlashes. The EU Social Climate Fund Regulation the European Commission proposed as part of the 2021 Fitfor55 climate package is its attempt to ensure fair burden-sharing across society of the forthcoming energy price increases that would stem from the creation of a new EU carbon market on emissions from the building and road transport sectors (Emissions Trading System 2, “ETS2”).

This policy brief outlines three overarching reflections on the challenges and opportunities to finance a just transition through the Social Climate Fund. First, it argues that an EU price on carbon emissions from buildings and road transportation would worsen existing social challenges associated with the energy transition. An increase in price has very little influence on individual consumers’ energy consumption. Rising energy bills due to the ETS2 potentially could have large social consequences for European families, for limited decarbonization benefits. Second, this policy brief contends that the Social Climate Fund as currently proposed will not be enough to mitigate the negative and unfair effects of the ETS2 on Europeans, leading to a high risk of social unrest. Third, the Council and the Parliament should therefore bury the ETS2 proposed by the Commission. However, the Social Climate Fund has the potential to send a strong signal of the EU’s commitment to a just transition for all, which in turn could increase the social acceptability of the EU Green Deal. To ensure a just green transition, the ETS2 must be abandoned and the Social Climate Fund should instead be established with financing from the existing carbon market (“ETS1”). Finally, this policy brief concludes that the Social Climate Fund should be redirected to finance green investments in housing and mobility for those who need it the most.

Read more →

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Décryptage

Fonds social pour le climat pour une transition énergétique juste

L’autrice aimerait remercier Marine Cornelis, Andreas Eisl, Namita Kambli, Klervi Kerneis, Phuc-Vinh Nguyen, Thomas Pellerin-Carlin, Adeline Rochet, Eulalia Rubio, Louise Sunderland et Karin Thalberg pour leurs précieux éclairages sur ce texte.

| 06/10/2021

Introduction

La transition verte sera une transition juste ou ne sera pas. L’explosion des prix de l’énergie dans toute l’Europe entraine une crise sociale qui nous rappelle les conséquences négatives de notre système énergétique fossile. Le règlement sur Fonds social pour le climat, proposé dans le cadre du paquet législatif « Fit for 55 » (2021), marque une tentative de la Commission européenne d’atténuer les impacts sociaux attendus de la mise en place d’un nouveau marché du carbone sur les émissions liées aux secteurs du bâtiment et du transport routier (Système d’échange de quotas d’émission 2 « marché carbone 2 »).

Ce policy brief propose trois réflexions d’ordre général sur les défis et opportunités que pose le financement d’une transition juste à l’aide du Fonds social pour le climat. Pour commencer, un prix carbone européen sur les émissions du bâtiment et du transport routier devrait accroitre les défis sociaux associés à la transition énergétique. La hausse des factures d’énergie imputable au SEQE2 pourrait avoir de lourdes conséquences sur les familles européennes, pour des bénéfices limités en termes de décarbonation, car une augmentation de facture n’exerce qu’une influence minime sur la consommation d’énergie des particuliers. Deuxièmement, le Fonds social pour le climat, tel que proposé actuellement, ne suffira pas à atténuer les effets négatifs et injustes du nouveau marché carbone sur le bâtiment et le transport routier sur les Européens, avec un risque élevé d’agitation sociale. Le Conseil et le Parlement devraient par conséquent enterrer la proposition de nouveau marché carbone de la Commission. Le Fonds social pour le climat a cependant le potentiel d’envoyer un signal fort de l’engagement de l’Union européenne en faveur une transition juste, ce qui pourrait en retour favoriser l’acceptabilité du Green Deal européen. Pour une transition énergétique juste, il convient d’abandonner le marché carbone européen 2 et de mettre en place le Fonds social pour le climat avec les financements du marché du carbone existant (« marché carbone 1 »). Le Fonds social pour le climat pourrait être redirigé vers le financement d’investissements verts dans le logement et la mobilité, au profit des citoyens les plus vulnérables.

Lire la suite →

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more