Policy paper 271

Addressing the climate and social emergencies with minimum energy performance standards

| 18/11/2021

Introduction

This autumn 2021, as the COP26 dampened hopes for ambitious global climate action[1], soaring fossil fuel prices in the EU worsen energy poverty and highlight the need to speed up the clean energy transition[2]. The upcoming revision of the Energy Performance of Buildings Directive (EPBD) gives the EU an opportunity to kill two birds with one stone, addressing both the climate and social emergencies. The buildings sector is the single largest energy consumer in the EU, representing 40% of our energy consumption.

EU climate objectives require a fully decarbonized building stock by 2050. The success of building decarbonization rests on mass-deployment of existing techniques and products such as deep renovation methods, highly-efficient and renewable heating systems, insurance and financial products[3] for quality renovation.

Yet, EU and national policy-makers have so far failed to scale-up energy efficient renovation rate and depth. Despite growing awareness of the multiple benefits[4] of energy efficiency actions, most EU buildings remain energy inefficient. As part of its Renovation Wave Strategy[5], the European Commission announced a revision of the EPBD in December 2021, five years ahead of the planned review. It is a unique opportunity for the EU to increase the quality of life of millions of Europeans.

The European Commission should use the EPBD revision to introduce minimum energy performance standards (MEPS)[6] to address the lack of information, create legal certainty and incentives for renovation. To solve the buildings’ decarbonization challenge, the added value of EU coordination lies in bringing visibility to all stakeholders about the long-term objective (climate neutrality by 2050), and how to get there (decarbonization pathways). MEPS would require concerned buildings to reach minimum performance levels by a specified deadline or trigger point (e.g. sale or change of tenancy). It would guarantee that renovations result in buildings reaching minimum standards and allow links with public support and compliance, hence making sure that public incentives really translate into effective energy savings. The ambition of such MEPS will depend on the target stock, compliance deadlines, and performance levels.

This brief argues that EU MEPS will be a key driver for a deep renovation market which has the potential to be a decisive contribution to both EU climate action, by drastically reducing energy consumption and greenhouse gas emissions of the buildings sector, and social justice, by eradicating energy poverty[7]. To maximize benefits, MEPS should cover all building segments (public and private, residential and service) and align with the long-term objective of a decarbonized building stock by 2050. The particular focus of this paper is the residential sector, which accounts for 70% of buildings emissions but remains insufficiently addressed by EU and national policies.

To start off, the brief explains the rationale and obstacles of scaling up deep renovation. It then turns to describing MEPS as a key tool to create a stable demand for renovation and to unleash the high potential to create synergies between EU climate objectives, increased well-being and social justice.

Read more →


[1] Niranjan, A. 2021. COP26: wolrd leaders fail to honor climate pledge. Deutsche Welle, news article. 14/11/21

[2]Nguyen, P. Pellerin-Carlin, T. 2021 The European Energy Prixe Spike. Overcoming the Fossil Fuel Crisis. Jacques Delors Institute. Policy Brief. October 2021.

[3] Climate Strategy and Partners, 2021. Underwriting the Renovation Wave with Mortgage Portfolio Standards for Energy Efficiency. Report. June 2021.

[4] climate change mitigation, reduced import dependency, energy poverty alleviation, public health improvement, job creation. refereetool.eu/

[5] European Commission. 2020. A Renovation Wave for Europe – greening our buildings, creating jobs, improving lives. COM(2020)662 final.

[6] European Commission. 2020. A Renovation Wave for Europe – greening our buildings, creating jobs, improving lives. COM(2020)662 final.

[7] For an overview of the state of energy poverty in the EU, see Magdalinski, E., Delair, M., Pellerin-Carlin, T. 2021. Europe needs a political strategy to end energy poverty. Jacques Delors Institute. Policy paper #259. February 2021.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Policy Paper 271

Les normes minimales de performance énergétique : une réponse à l’urgence climatique et sociale

| 18/11/2021

Introduction

Cet automne 2021, la COP26 a déçu les espoirs d’une action mondiale ambitieuse pour le climat[1]. Pourtant, la hausse vertigineuse des prix des combustibles fossiles dans l’UE aggrave la précarité énergétique et accroit la nécessité d’accélérer la transition écologique[2]. La révision imminente de la directive sur la performance énergétique des bâtiments offre à l’Union européenne l’opportunité de faire d’une pierre deux coups, en répondant simultanément à l’urgence climatique et à l’urgence sociale. Le secteur du bâtiment est à lui seul le plus grand consommateur d’énergie dans l’UE, représentant 40% de notre consommation énergétique.

Les objectifs climatiques de l’UE requièrent un parc immobilier zéro-émissions d’ici 2050. Le succès de la décarbonation des bâtiments repose sur le déploiement massif de techniques et produits existants : rénovation performante, systèmes de chauffage efficaces alimentés par des énergies renouvelables, ou encore produits financiers et assurantiels[3] garantissant des rénovations de qualité.

Cependant, les responsables politiques européens comme nationaux n’ont jusqu’à présent pas réussi à accroître le rythme et la performance des rénovations énergétiques. Malgré une attention accrue  aux nombreux bénéfices[4] de l’efficacité énergétique, la plupart des bâtiments européens restent des passoires énergétiques. Dans le cadre de sa stratégie pour une Vague de rénovation[5], la Commission européenne a annoncé une révision de la directive sur la performance énergétique des bâtiments en décembre 2021, soit cinq ans avant la date prévue initialement. Il s’agit d’une opportunité unique pour l’UE d’améliorer la qualité de vie de millions d’Européens.

La Commission européenne devrait profiter de cette révision pour introduire des normes minimales de performance énergétique[6] susceptibles de répondre au manque d’information des citoyens et des élus, de donner de la visibilité juridique aux professionnels et d’inciter à rénover. Face au défi de la décarbonation des bâtiments, l’UE est de donner aux acteurs de la transition énergétique plus de visibilité sur les objectifs à poursuivre sur le long-terme (neutralité carbone d’ici 2050) et sur la manière d’y parvenir (trajectoires de décarbonation). Les normes minimales de performance énergétique obligeraient les bâtiments à atteindre des seuils minimums à une date butoir ou à un moment propice (tel que la vente ou le changement de locataire). Elles garantiraient l’atteinte d’un certain niveau de performance suite à la rénovation, et permettraient de lier soutien public au respect des normes. L’ambition de ces normes minimales de performance énergétique dépendra du parc ciblé, des délais de mise en conformité et des niveaux de performance.

Ces normes minimales sont essentielles pour créer un marché de la rénovation performante, indispensable pour atteindre les objectifs climatiques européens. Ceux-ci requièrent en effet une réduction drastique des émissions de gaz à effet de serre du secteur du bâtiment, qui en retour pourrait contribuer à une plus grande justice sociale par léradication de la précarité énergétique[7]. Afin d’en maximiser les bénéfices, les normes minimales de performance énergétique devraient couvrir tous les segments du secteur du bâtiment (public et privé, résidentiel et de service) et fixer des mesures assurant l’objectif à long terme d’un parc résidentiel décarboné en 2050. Cette note se concentrera sur le secteur résidentiel qui représente 70% des émissions des bâtiments, mais qui n’est toujours pas suffisamment pris en compte par les politiques européennes et nationales.

Ce policy brief présente d’abord les raisons pour lesquelles il faut massifier la rénovation performante ainsi que les obstacles rencontrés. Il aborde ensuite les normes minimales de performance énergétique  comme un outil essentiel permettant de créer une demande stable pour l’industrie de la rénovation ainsi que de débloquer les synergies entre action climat, meilleure qualité de vie et justice sociale.

Lire la suite →


[1] Niranjan, A. 2021. COP26: world leaders fail to honor climate pledge. Deutsche Welle, news article. 14/11/21

[2] Nguyen, P. Pellerin-Carlin, T. 2021 Flambée des prix de l’énergie en Europe. Comment surmonter cette crise des énergies fossiles ? Institut Jacques Delors. Policy Brief. Octobre 2021.

[3] Climate Strategy and Partners, 2021. Underwriting the Renovation Wave with Mortgage Portfolio Standards for Energy Efficiency. Report. June 2021.

[4] Lutte contre le changement climatique, baisse de la dépendance aux importations, réduction de la précarité énergétique, amélioration de la santé publique, création d’emplois. refereetool.eu/

[5] Commission européenne. 2020. Une vague de rénovations pour l’Europe : verdir nos bâtiments, créer des emplois, améliorer la qualité de vie. COM(2020)662 final.

[6] Commission européenne. 2020. Une vague de rénovations pour l’Europe : verdir nos bâtiments, créer des emplois, améliorer la qualité de vie. COM(2020)662 final.

[7] Pour un aperçu de l’état de la précarité énergétique dans l’UE, voir Magdalinski, E., Delair, M., Pellerin-Carlin, T. 2021. L’Europe a besoin d’une stratégie politique pour mettre fin à la précarité énergétique. Institut Jacques Delors. Policy paper #259. Février 2021.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more