Blog post

After Brexit, euro-denominated derivatives transactions should leave the City

| 20/04/2022

Download pdf →  | ← Download epub


Recommended citation:
Jaillet P. 2022. “After Brexit, euro-denominated derivatives transactions should leave the City”, Blogpost, Paris: Jacques Delors Institute, 20 April.


On 14th February 2022, Mairead McGuiness, European Commissioner for Financial Services, announced a three-year extension, from June 2022, of the permission granted to European Union banks to clear their euro-denominated transactions in London[1]. To use the Commission’s jargon, this “extension of the equivalence decision” is not the first, nor maybe the last, as this temporary authorisation has already been extended several times since Brexit. This new postponement demonstrates EU authorities’ inability to convince, let alone oblige the European financial industry to develop a competitive system that would relocate activities entailing a significant financial risk, both for the euro area interbank market and in terms of financial stability.

In spite of Brexit, the City remains the main transaction hub for euro-denominated derivatives. With a market share of about 90%, the company LCH Ltd enjoys a near-monopoly in clearing activities for euro-denominated interest rate swaps. In a statement published on 10 November 2021 (announcing the extension of the equivalence decision), the Commission noted that “over-reliance” on clearing houses outside the Single Market for euro-denominated clearing is a source of risk in the medium term, “notably in the event of stress”.

To justify this new extension, the Commission stated recurrent delays in the work underway to prepare a transfer of these activities to the euro area, a move deemed premature as it would lead to a “cliff-edge scenario” due to the sudden shift from one platform to another. It undertook to work with regulatory authorities and the financial industry to promote (unspecified) measures aimed at developing a competitive internal hub, with a view to creating a framework conducive to a relocation within the EU. It also stated that it was launching a “public consultation” to come up with a “strategy to reduce this over-reliance on third-country systemic CCPs (central counterparties)”. It may seem surprising that such a public consultation is launched just as the relocation process should have been reaching completion. Does this mean that there is no strategy right now?

While the issue of regulatory equivalence has been raised since Brexit, the location of a key component of the euro-denominated money market in the City was already out of step in relation to the monetary union. This is why the ECB’s initial oversight framework required clearing houses to be located in the euro area when transactions were settled in euros. However, the United Kingdom brought an action before the European Court of Justice in 2015, leading the Court to annul this provision, considering that the ECB does not have the necessary competence, limited to payment systems, and that the framework infringed on the freedom of establishment and of provision of services within the Single Market. Naturally, this argument is no longer valid due to Brexit.

The EMIR (European Market Infrastructure Regulation)[2], which records the commitments made by the G20 in 2009 with a view to improving transparency and security on derivatives markets, now subjects third-country CCPs to greater oversight. In particular, so-called Tier 2 systemic CCPs are directly monitored by the ESMA (European Securities and Markets Authority). The ECB can also require, for euro-denominated transactions, compliance with certain conditions concerning liquidity, the quality of collateral and the setting of margins. Ultimately, it is up to the Commission, on the basis of the ESMA’s recommendations and following the opinion of the ESRB (European Systemic Risk Board) and the ECB, to evaluate whether these conditions are met. If this is not the case, the Commission can decide not to recognise a systemic CCP, making the relocation of the activities concerned possible. That said, this decision must be approved by the Council and the European Parliament…

This impressive regulatory provision allegedly provides sufficient safeguards to ensure compliance with European regulations and financial stability requirements. This is an argument put forward by the European authorities to justify a new extension of the equivalence decision. It is, however, important to make two comments here. Firstly, a systemic CCP (such as LCH Ltd) may not strictly comply with some of the EMIR’s requirements if it can demonstrate that its national legislation is “comparable” to the prevailing EU legislation. The ambiguity of this term leaves open the possibility that a systemic CCP exempts itself from some functional obligations defined by the EMIR to comply with those stated in its own jurisdiction (this could also lead to distortions of competition).

A more fundamental issue concerns what would occur in the event of a severe crisis resulting in a default risk. This concern led to the European authorities launching a systemic risk assessment procedure in 2021 of LCH Ltd and ICE Clear. While these supervisory procedures are relatively well established, the fact is that the terms of CCP resolution remain vague on an international level[3]. They remain mainly in the hands of national jurisdictions and cannot be determined ex-ante. Yet any resolution procedure is likely to mean that the government concerned is liable, for example, in the event of a bail-out. If there is a default of an off-shore systemic CCP, however unlikely but not impossible, what would be the European authorities’ scope of action? The systemic risk component remains a blind spot of the Commission’s equivalence framework.

There is also the issue of relations between the central bank in the country of residence of the systemic CCP and the central bank issuing the transaction’s currency of denomination. Currently, British CCPs enjoy a deposit facility in euros via TARGET 2 and the Bank of England and the ECB have a swap agreement to manage requirements for emergency liquidity. These provisions are designed on the basis of a system that is running smoothly. What happens in the event of a severe crisis? It seems difficult to envisage the ECB playing the role of lender of last resort – directly for the CCP concerned or through the Bank of England – to save an establishment outside its jurisdiction.

One difficulty of this situation is that it involves both private and public interests, which complicates the incentive scheme. In terms of private interests, the main player, LCH Ltd, supported by the UK government and the Bank of England, has developed a clever set of arguments, convincing in some respects, in favour of maintaining the status quo[4]. LCH Ltd is careful to pledge its loyalty to the EMIR’s regulatory conditions and oversight by the ESMA. It argues that the euro is a “global” currency, that EU companies only account for a minority share (27%) of the notional amount of its euro-denominated clearing activities, that its cross-currency clearing services (a majority of which are denominated in currencies other than the euro) provide clients with low-margin services while enabling them to diversify their risks. Seen from this perspective, the relocation of euro-denominated transactions to the EU would result in a fragmentation of the market that would be detrimental to both financial stability and the interests of European banks, which are happy with the status quo and overestimate the investment costs related to relocation. In addition, relocation would give rise to a complex conflict of allocation between the two candidate CCPs to recover business from the City, LCH SA (French subsidiary of LCH Ltd) and German company Eurex Clearing AG[5].

In terms of public interests, the Commission, as we have seen, is stalling for time, is half-heartedly speeding up the process, launching a consultation, claims to be waiting for the ESMA’s assessment of systemic risks related to British CCPs and “insists on the need” for EU banks to reduce their exposure on them. None of this is particularly binding. National treasuries, against the backdrop of competition between the financial centres of Paris and Frankfurt in particular, are not encouraging their banks to agree on the investments required to set up a competitive system; Eurosystem[6] and the ESRB are being uncommonly discreet on this topic…

This procrastination naturally plays into the arguments of those advocating the status quo. Without a credible alternative to London-based CCPs, relocation will always entail more disadvantages than benefits, in terms of economic efficiency and financial stability. In the meantime, the combined inaction of the authorities and the industry consolidates the City’s key role as an administrator of euro-denominated transactions. Beyond symbolic importance, this situation also demonstrates the EU’s inability, thirty years on from the launch of the Single Market and more than twenty years after the launch of the euro, to establish a single capital market.


[1] Capital Markets Union: Commission extends time-limited equivalence for UK central counterparties and launches consultation to expand central clearing activities in the EU – Press release, 8 February 2022

[2] Cf.  Révision du règlement EMIR : vers un nouveau dispositif de surveillance des contreparties centrales (in French) ACPR (French Prudential Supervision and Resolution Authority), 28 May 2019. For a summary of the regulatory provisions, please also refer to the 2020 report of the Banque de France: “The Oversight of Payment Instruments and Financial Market Infrastructures”

[3] The Financial Stability Board (FSB) published recommendations in 2014 with a view to establishing a standardised international resolution framework, including the contingent creation of crisis management groups.

[4] EU firms’ exposures to UK CCPs – Supporting the debate – London Stock Exchange Group LSEG – 04/06/2021

[5] One reasonable solution would be that these two companies share the business as part of a polycentric network of EU financial centres that acknowledges their comparative advantages (such as Eurex’s long-term interest rate derivatives and LCH SA’s repo services).

[6] With the noteworthy exception of the Governor of the Banque de France, François Villeroy de Galhau, who recently criticised the risks of maintaining the status quo and reminded that it is “our collective responsiblity to reduce this systemic risk”. Address at Eurofi – Paris, 23 February 2022.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Blog post

Après le Brexit, l’activité de produits dérivés en euros devrait quitter la City

| 20/04/2022

Télécharger le pdf →  | ← Télécharger l’epub


Citer cet article:
Jaillet P. 2022. «Après le Brexit, l’activité de produits dérivés en euros devrait quitter la City», Blogpost, Paris: Institut Jacques Delors, 20 avril.


Le 14 février 2022, Mairead McGuiness, la Commissaire européenne en charge des services financiers, a annoncé la reconduction pour une période trois ans, à compter de juin 2022, de l’autorisation faite aux banques de l’Union européenne de compenser leurs transactions libellées en euros à la City[1]. Cette « prolongation de la décision d’équivalence », pour reprendre le jargon de la Commission, n’est pas la première -ni peut-être la dernière -, ce permis temporaire ayant déjà été prolongé à plusieurs reprises depuis le Brexit. Ce nouveau report illustre l’impuissance des autorités de l’UE à convaincre, a fortiori à contraindre l’industrie financière européenne à développer une offre compétitive permettant de relocaliser des activités comportant des enjeux non négligeables, à la fois pour le marché de la liquidité en euros et pour la stabilité financière.

En dépit du Brexit, la City reste en effet le principal hub des transactions sur les produits dérivés en euros. Avec une part de marché de près de 90 %, la firme LCH Ltd jouit d’un quasi-monopole dans la compensation des opérations de couverture des taux d’intérêt en euros. Dans sa communication du 10 novembre 2021 (annonçant sa décision de prolonger la décision d’équivalence), la Commission a admis que la dépendance excessive (« over-reliance ») des activités de compensation en euros vis-à-vis d’une entité extérieure au marché unique impliquait des risques à moyen terme, « notably in the event of stress ».

Pour justifier ce nouveau report, la Commission invoque les retards récurrents dans les travaux préalables à un transfert de ces activités dans la zone euro, jugé prématuré dès lors qu’il entraînerait un dangereux « effet de falaise » (cliff-edge effect) lié à un basculement brutal d’une plateforme à une autre. Elle s’est engagée à promouvoir, en liaison avec les autorités réglementaires et avec l’industrie financière, des mesures (non détaillées) destinées à développer une offre interne compétitive de façon à créer un cadre incitatif à la relocalisation dans l’UE. Elle a aussi indiqué qu’elle lançait une « consultation publique » en vue d’élaborer « une stratégie destinée à réduire cette dépendance excessive vis-à-vis des CCP (contreparties centrales) extérieures à l’UE ». On peut s’étonner qu’une telle consultation publique soit lancée au moment où le processus de relocalisation aurait déjà dû aboutir. Est-ce à dire qu’il n’existe pas de stratégie à ce jour ?

Si le problème d’équivalence règlementaire se pose depuis le Brexit, la localisation à la City d’un compartiment central du marché de la liquidité en euros avait déjà un caractère baroque au regard de l’union monétaire. C’est pourquoi le cadre de surveillance initial de la BCE exigeait que les chambres de compensation soient localisées dans la zone euro dès lors que le règlement des échanges s’effectuait en euros. Cependant la Cour de justice européenne, saisie en 2015 par le Royaume-Uni, réfuta cette disposition, estimant qu’elle outrepassait les compétences de la BCE, limitées aux systèmes de paiement, et enfreignait la liberté d’établissement et de prestations de services au sein du marché unique. Cet argument n’a bien sûr plus de pertinence depuis le Brexit.

Le règlement EMIR (European Infrastructure Infrastructure Regulation)[2], qui retranscrit les engagements du G20 de 2009 visant à améliorer la transparence et la sécurité des marchés de dérivés, soumet aujourd’hui les CCP des pays tiers à une surveillance renforcée. En particulier, les CCP d’importance systémique (dites de Tier2) font l’objet d’une supervision directe par L’AEMF (Autorité européenne des marchés financiers). La BCE peut aussi exiger, s’agissant d’opérations en euros, le respect de certaines conditions relatives à la liquidité, à la qualité des garanties ou à la fixation des marges. Il revient in fine à la Commission, sur la base des recommandations de l’AEMF et après avis du CERS (Comité européen du risque systémique) et de la BCE, d’apprécier si ces conditions sont réunies. A défaut, elle peut prendre une décision de non-reconnaissance d’une CCP systémique ouvrant la voie à la relocalisation des activités concernées. Encore cette décision doit-elle être validée par le Conseil et le Parlement européen…

Cet imposant dispositif règlementaire offre a priori les garanties suffisantes en matière de conformité à la réglementation européenne et de stabilité financière. C’est un argument avancé par les autorités européennes pour justifier une nouvelle extension de la décision d’équivalence. Il convient toutefois de faire ici deux remarques. La première est qu’une CCP systémique (comme LCH Ltd) peut ne pas se conformer strictement à certaines exigence d’EMIR si elle démontre que son droit national est « comparable » à celui prévalant dans l’UE. L’ambiguïté de ce terme laisse en effet ouverte la possibilité qu’une CCP systémique se dispense de certaines obligations fonctionnelles définies par EMIR pour suivre celles de sa propre juridiction (ce qui peut d’ailleurs créer des distorsions de concurrence).

Une question plus fondamentale a trait à ce qu’il adviendrait en cas de crise grave débouchant sur un risque de défaut. Cette préoccupation a d’ailleurs amené les autorités européennes à lancer en 2021 une procédure d’évaluation des risques systémiques de LCH Ltd et ICE Clear. Le fait est que si les procédures de supervision sont assez bien codifiées, les modalités de résolution des CCP demeurent floues sur le plan international[3]. Elles restent pour l’essentiel dans la main des juridictions nationales et ne peuvent être fixées ex ante. Or toute procédure de résolution est susceptible d’engager la responsabilité du gouvernement concerné, par exemple en cas de bail-out. Dans l’éventualité du défaut d’une CCP systémique off-shore, certes peu probable mais qu’on ne peut exclure, quelles seraient les marges de manœuvre des autorités européennes ? Ce volet du risque systémique reste un angle mort du cadre d’équivalence de la Commission.

Se pose en outre la question des relations entre la banque centrale du pays de résidence de la CCP systémique et la banque centrale émettant la monnaie de libellé des transactions. Les CCP britanniques bénéficient aujourd’hui d’une facilité de dépôt en euros via TARGET 2 et la Bank of England et la BCE ont un accord de swap pour faire face à des besoins de liquidités d’urgence. Ces dispositions sont calibrées pour un régime de croisière. Qu’en serait-il en cas de crise aiguë ? Il parait difficile d’envisager que la BCE joue le rôle de prêteur en dernier ressort – directement auprès de la CCP concernée ou par le truchement de la Bank of England – pour sauver un établissement hors de sa juridiction.

Une difficulté de ce dossier est qu’il mêle des intérêts privés et publics, ce qui complique le régime d’incitations. Du côté privé, l’acteur principal qu’est LCH Ltd, soutenu par le gouvernement britannique et la Bank of England, développe une argumentation astucieuse et à certains égards plutôt convaincante en faveur du statu quo[4]. LCH Ltd prend bien soin de faire allégeance aux conditions réglementaires d’EMIR et à la supervision de l’ESMA. Il plaide que l’euro est une monnaie « globale », que les entreprises de l’UE ne représentent d’ailleurs qu’une part minoritaire (27%) du montant notionnel de ses activités de compensation en euros, que son offre de compensation cross-currency (majoritairement libellée en devises hors-euro) offre à ses clients des services à marges faibles tout en leur permettant de diversifier leurs risques. De ce point de vue, la relocalisation des opérations en euros dans l’UE entraînerait une fragmentation du marché aussi nuisible à la stabilité financière qu’aux intérêts des banques européennes ; lesquelles s’accommodent très bien du statu quo et surestiment les coûts d’investissement liés à une relocalisation. En outre, cette dernière susciterait un délicat conflit d’attribution entre les deux CCP candidates pour récupérer les activités de la City, LCH SA (filiale française de LCH Ldt) et l’Allemand Eurex Clearing AG[5].

Du côté public, la Commission, comme on l’a vu, gagne du temps, pousse mollement les feux, lance une consultation, dit attendre l’évaluation par l’ESMA des risques systémiques lié aux CCP britanniques et « insiste sur la nécessité » que les banques de l’UE réduisent leur exposition sur elles. Rien de très contraignant. Les Trésors nationaux, sur fond de concurrence entre les places financières de Paris et Francfort, notamment, ne poussent guère leurs banques à s’entendre sur les investissements nécessaires à la mise en place d’une offre compétitive ; l’Eurosystème[6] et le CERS sont d’une rare discrétion sur le sujet…

Ces atermoiements apportent naturellement de l’eau au moulin des avocats du statu quo. Sans alternative crédible aux services des CCP londoniennes, la relocalisation comportera toujours plus d’inconvénients que d’avantages, en termes d’efficacité économique et de stabilité financière. En attendant, l’inertie combinée des autorités et de l’industrie conforte la City dans son rôle central de gestionnaire des activités en euros. Au-delà de sa portée symbolique, cette histoire illustre aussi l’impuissance de l’UE, trente ans après le lancement du marché unique et plus de vingt ans après le lancement de l’euro, à mettre en place un marché unique des capitaux.


Notes

[1] Capital Markets Union: Commission extends time-limited equivalence for UK central counterparties and launches consultation to expand central clearing activities in the EU – Press release, 8 February 2022

[2] Cf.  Révision du règlement EMIR : vers un nouveau dispositif de surveillance des contreparties centrales – ACPR, 28 mai 2019. Pour une synthèse des dispositions règlementaires, on peut aussi se reporter au rapport 2020 de la Banque de France : « La surveillance des moyens de paiement et des infrastructures des marchés financiers » 

[3] Le Financial Stability Board (FSB) a émis en 2014 des recommandations visant à établir un cadre international harmonisé de résolution, incluant la constitution contingente de groupes de gestion de crises

[4] EU firms’ exposures to UK CCPs – Supporting the debate – London Stock Exchange Group LSEG – 04/06/2021

[5] Une solution raisonnable serait que ces deux firmes se partagent les activités dans le cadre d’un réseau polycentrique de places financières dans l’UE tenant compte de leurs avantages comparatifs (par exemple dérivés sur taux longs chez Eurex et sur repos chez LCH SA).

[6] A l’exception notable du gouverneur de la Banque de France François Villeroy de Galhau, qui a récemment dénoncé les risques du statu quo et rappelé qu’il était « de notre responsabilité collective de réduire ce risque systémique ». Discours à l’Eurofi – Paris, 23 février 2022.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more