Policy paper 243
 

BEYOND INDUSTRIAL POLICY
WHY EUROPE NEEDS A NEW GROWTH STRATEGY ?

Henrik Enderlein, Director du Jacques Delors Institut – Berlin, Elvire Fabry, Senior research fellow, Institut Jacques Delors – Paris, Lucas Guttenberg, Deputy director, Jacques Delors Institut – Berlin, Nils Redeker, Policy fellow, Jacques Delors Institut – Berlin recommande a new growth strategy for EU.

|   14/10/2019             |   Henrik Enderlein   |   Elvire Fabry   |   Lucas Guttenberg             |   Economics and finance
Policy paper

Industrial policy has become a major buzzword in European economic policy debates but, as it stands, the term means too many different things to too many people. It is also a misnomer for what Europe truly needs: a new growth strategy that redefines the role of the state in the economy, allows Europe to tackle the challenges of globalization, automation and digitalization and, at the same time, appreciates the fact that close economic partners increasingly question the norms of fair competition.
For such a strategy to be successful, it needs to stand on firm intellectual ground so that it does not run the risk of generating superficial solutions to poorly-defined problems. Solutions need to be future-oriented and compatible with the digital age or they will be dysfunctional. They also need to go beyond individual member states and be at least European or else they will be irrelevant. Furthermore, a new growth strategy should strengthen, not weaken global trade relations as well as Europe’s openness to the world.
An encompassing European growth strategy should therefore:
#1 ▪ Make substantial progress on the traditional Single Market agenda;
#2 ▪ remove obstacles for small European firms and start-ups to scale up;
#3 ▪ strive to set the global regulatory gold standard for technologies of the future;
#4 ▪ make progress towards an “Economic Schengen”;
#5 ▪ increase European public funds for innovation and gear its budget toward research as
well as making new technologies ready for the market;
#6 ▪ make the Capital Markets Union a reality to facilitate the private funding of innovation;
#7 ▪ defend open trade with new bi-and multilateral treaties;
#8 ▪ equip the EU with the necessary defensive measures to level the playing field in
global trade;
#9 ▪ refrain from politicizing competition policy, but use it more intelligently.

Policy Paper 243
 

Au-delà de la politique industrielle
une nouvelle stratégie de croissance pour l’Europe ?

Henrik Enderlein, Directeur du Jacques Delors Institut – Berlin, Elvire Fabry, Chercheuse senior, Institut Jacques Delors – Paris, Lucas Guttenberg, Directeur adjoint, Jacques Delors Institut – Berlin, Nils Redeker, chercheur, Jacques Delors Institut – Berlin analyse les besoin de l’Europe en matière de stratégie de croissance.

|   14/10/2019             |   Henrik Enderlein   |   Elvire Fabry   |   Lucas Guttenberg             |   Economie et finance
Policy Paper

La politique industrielle est devenue une expression à la mode fréquente dans les débats sur la politique économique de l’Union européenne, mais il est difficile de s’entendre sur le sens à lui donner. L’expression est également utilisée à mauvais escient pour désigner ce dont l’Europe a vraiment besoin, à savoir une nouvelle stratégie pour la croissance qui redéfinisse le rôle de l’État dans l’économie, qui permette à l’Europe de relever les défis de la mondialisation, de l’automatisation et de la numérisation, et qui, parallèlement, reconnaisse le fait que certains partenaires économiques de premier plan remettent en question les règles d’une concurrence équitable.
Pour assurer son succès, cette stratégie doit reposer sur une base intellectuelle solide afin d’éviter tout risque d’apporter des solutions simplistes à des problèmes mal définis. Celles-ci doivent être prospectives et adaptées à l’ère numérique, au risque d’être sinon inefficaces. En outre, une nouvelle stratégie pour la croissance devrait renforcer et non affaiblir les relations commerciales internationales ainsi que l’ouverture de l’Europe au monde.
Une stratégie européenne globale pour la croissance devrait donc :

#1 ▪ Faire progresser de manière substantielle l’agenda du marché unique classique ;
#2 ▪ supprimer les entraves au développement pour toutes les petites entreprises
et start-up européennes ;
#3 ▪ essayer de fixer des normes règlementaires mondiales de référence pour
les technologies du futur ;
#4 ▪ avancer sur la voie d’un « Schengen économique » ;
#5 ▪ augmenter les fonds publics européens pour l’innovation, orienter le budget
communautaire vers la recherche et rendre les nouvelles technologies prêtes pour la
commercialisation ;
#6 ▪ faire de l’Union des marchés des capitaux une réalité pour faciliter le financement
privé de l’innovation ;
#7 ▪ défendre l’ouverture commerciale avec de nouveaux traités bi- et multilatéraux ;
#8 ▪ doter l’UE des mesures protectrices nécessaires pour rendre la concurrence équitable dans le commerce mondial ;
#9 ▪ éviter de politiser la politique de concurrence, mais l’utiliser de manière
plus intelligente.