Blog post

Happy birthday and best wishes, Erasmus!

| 22/02/2022

The three Jacques Delors Institutes are enthusiastically celebrating the Erasmus programme’s 35-years of existence, during which time some 12 million Europeans (students, scholars, apprentices, educators, etc.) have had the opportunity to participate in a training course at a university or educational establishment in another Member State. In 1987, only several hundred students were enrolled in the programme; by 2027, there will be well over a million per year. What is the driving force behind this success, this popularity?

In 1986, when the Commission adopted its Erasmus proposal, cooperation between European universities was in its infancy. Member States were deeply suspicious – if not outright hostile – towards the idea of European Institutions getting involved in university affairs. It is assumed today that there was enthusiastic support for the creation of Erasmus, however, this was far from being the case. In fact, the opposite was true. When the Council meeting of ministers for education took place in October of that year, the UK Presidency had drawn up an agreement that not only reduced the programme’s budget by two-thirds, but also excluded student exchanges completely. An Erasmus, therefore, that was not intended to apply to students! This agreement was approved by the ministers. Alerted by my adviser, whom I had asked to attend the Council, and in agreement with Manuel Marin, the European Commissioner who sat on the Council, I decided to withdraw the Commission’s proposal, as the Treaty allowed me to do. This was one of the rare cases in history where the Commission had to withdraw its proposal on the grounds that its original concept had been distorted by the Council.

It was at this time that I requested the heads of state and government, who were to meet in London two months later in December 1986 under the presidency of Margaret Thatcher, to take a decision on the future of Erasmus. Ahead of the meeting, in a one-on-one discussion with the British Prime Minister, I told her that if it failed, I would have to publicly regret the European Council’s lack of interest in students and universities. Beyond diplomatic language, it would signify a marked failure of the summit over which she presided. Margaret Thatcher understood this fact, and it was shortly thereafter that the heads of state and government began paving the way for Erasmus’ adoption.

Therein marked Europe’s entry on the educational scene. While Europe was making a fresh start on several grounds with the prospect of the single market, social dialogue, and the reinforcement of its social cohesion, we were in the process of doubling the structural funds budget in order to help regions lagging in their development with the launch of a major research and development policy embodied in the Esprit programme as well as the inclusion of the environment in the Treaty. It was essential to demonstrate that this new common space for Europeans was also an arena for cooperation and solidarity beyond competitive economic activities.

And so went the lesson from this period. Europeans were up to the task. Every time a field of cooperation had been introduced, whether in education or research to name but a few, Europeans were always ready and keen to join the process.

Europe is not, as it is sometimes portrayed, an abstract, artificial entity, but rather a living, active community. Today, almost all universities and research centres in Europe are involved in collaborative training and research activities on a daily basis. Hundreds of thousands of Erasmus students can be found in practically every university on the continent, acquiring experience that will facilitate their integration into the labour market, and introducing their own cultures in lecture halls and classrooms. In this way, the spirit of belonging to a Europe “united in diversity”, to use Fernand Braudel’s beautiful expression, is nurtured.

“by virtue of Erasmus, Europe’s deep roots are ever-present”

In an era where the quest for identity is turning into a nationalist obsession, where French political debate has a limited horizon, and where “ignorance” of European affairs is becoming “encyclopaedic” as said Jean Jaurès; let us first remind ourselves that, by virtue of Erasmus, Europe’s deep roots are ever-present. University cooperation, student and teacher mobility, common training courses and universally recognised diplomas all date back to the Middle Ages wherein the Sorbonne, the universities of Bologna, Coïmbra, Salamanca and dozens of others welcomed teachers and students from other European nations. With the creation of Erasmus, Europe was in fact reviving its brilliant past.

In expressing my heartfelt best wishes for Erasmus, I would also like to pay tribute to the successive Presidents and Members of the European Commission who have tirelessly supported Erasmus. Since 1995, they have notably extended the programme to include apprentices for short periods of exchange and, since the launch of Erasmus Pro in 2017, for long periods of exchange, which was initiated at the impetus of the Delors Institute. Today, more than 185,575 young people and teachers in vocational training benefit from various forms of mobility.

Erasmus also paved the way for the development of “European Universities”, which was launched by Emmanuel Macron in his speech at the Sorbonne. It is both a natural and admirable extension of the programme: in just two years, 41 “European Universities” have been established, bringing together more than 300 institutions. Its budget has even been doubled for the period between 2021 and 2027! We must also pay tribute to the European Parliament, which has always supported and defended the programme, despite some states wanting to abolish it.

I would also like to pay tribute to the Commission officials who, for years, have worked hard to convince national authorities of the advantages of cooperating within the European framework and to design a bold Erasmus programme. Only a handful of them worked under the leadership of the Welshman Hywell Jones, the Italian Domenico Lenarduzzi, and the Briton Alan Smith. Their efforts were a true reflection of their institution.

Today, I am delighted to learn that this exchange programme is poised to further extend to secondary school students. Secondary school exchanges will offer young people an initial European experience to encourage openness and broaden their horizons. Our Institutes are proud to have supported these initiatives. We have also advocated for the addition of a blue component to the programme. If we are to ensure that Europe protects and restores its hydrosphere as envisaged by Mission Starfish, as well as fulfils its responsibilities as a maritime power, we must equip our youth with the necessary skills and competencies.

Godspeed to Erasmus, and may future generations, the youth of Europe, continue to enrich this great European project. It is now up to them to envision and shape the future, as some of them are already doing by taking part in this year’s Youth Conference. To all these young people, I send a heartfelt greeting.


Recommended citation :

Delors J. 2022. “Happy birthday and best wishes, Erasmus!”, joint paper, Jacques Delors Institute (Paris), Jacques Delors Centre (Berlin), Europe Jacques Delors (Bruxelles), 23 February.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Blog post

Bon anniversaire Erasmus et bon vent !

| 22/02/2022

Les trois instituts Jacques Delors célèbrent cette année avec ferveur les 35 années d’existence du programme Erasmus au cours desquelles 12 millions d’Européens (étudiants, scolaires, apprentis[1], éducateurs,..) ont pu suivre une formation dans un établissement universitaire ou scolaire d’un autre Etat membre. En 1987 ils n’étaient que quelques centaines d’étudiants dans ce cas. Et d’ici à 2027, ils seront plus d’un million par an. Pourquoi un tel succès, un tel engouement ?

En 1986, quand la Commission a adopté sa proposition Erasmus, la coopération universitaire européenne n’en était qu’à ses balbutiements. Les Etats membres affichaient une méfiance profonde voire une hostilité résolue à voir les Institutions européennes mettre un pied dans les affaires universitaires. On pense aujourd’hui que la création d’Erasmus fit l’objet d’un consensus enthousiaste. Ce fut loin d’être le cas. Et même le contraire. Quand le Conseil des ministres de l’éducation se réunit en octobre de cette année-là, la présidence britannique avait élaboré un accord qui voyait non seulement le budget du programme réduit des deux tiers, mais qui excluait complétement les échanges d’étudiants. Un Erasmus qui ne devait pas concerner les étudiants ! Ce compromis recueillait l’assentiment des ministres. Alerté par mon conseiller à qui j’avais demandé d’assister au Conseil et en accord avec Manuel Marin, le Commissaire européen qui y siégeait, je décidai alors de retirer la proposition de la Commission, comme le Traité m’y autorisait. Ce fut dans l’histoire l’un des rares cas où la Commission dût retirer sa proposition la jugeant dénaturée par le Conseil.

Je demandais alors que les chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement qui devaient se réunir à Londres deux mois plus tard en décembre 1986, sous la présidence de Margaret Thatcher, puissent se prononcer sur l’avenir d’Erasmus. Avant la réunion, en tête à tête avec la Première ministre britannique, je lui dis qu’en cas d’insuccès je serais contraint de devoir regretter publiquement le désintérêt du Conseil européen pour les étudiants et les universités. Au-delà du langage diplomatique, cela signifierait un échec notable du sommet qu’elle présidait. Margaret Thatcher le comprit et les chefs d’Etat et de gouvernement ouvrirent la route pour l’adoption d’Erasmus.

Les trois coups de l’Europe du Savoir étaient frappés. Alors que l’Europe se relançait avec la perspective du marché unique, le dialogue social, le renforcement de sa cohésion sociale – nous allions doubler le budget des fonds structurels pour aider les régions en retard de développement, avec le lancement d’une grande politique de recherche et développement préparée par le programme Esprit, l’inclusion de l’environnement dans le Traité. Il fallait démontrer que ce nouvel espace commun aux Européens était aussi un espace de coopération et de solidarité au-delà des activités économiques concurrentielles.

Et c’est aussi la leçon de cette période. Les Européens ont répondu présents. A chaque fois qu’un champ de coopération a été ouvert que ce soit pour l’éducation ou la recherche, par exemple, les Européens s’y sont investis avec enthousiasme.

L’Europe n’est pas, comme on l’entend parfois une entité abstraite, artificielle, mais une communauté vivante, active. Aujourd’hui la quasi-totalité des universités et centres de recherche en Europe sont impliqués au quotidien dans des actions communes de formation et de recherche. Les centaines de milliers d’étudiants Erasmus sont présents dans pratiquement toutes les universités du continent, recueillant une expérience qui facilitera leur insertion professionnelle et apportant dans leurs amphithéâtres et salles d’études le témoignage de cultures voisines. Se conforte alors le sentiment d’appartenance à une Europe « unie dans la diversité » selon la belle expression de Fernand Braudel.

A une époque où la quête d’identité tourne à l’obsession nationaliste, dans un débat politique français à l’horizon limité et où « l’ignorance » sur la chose européenne devient « encyclopédique » selon le bon mot de Jean Jaurès, rappelons d’abord qu’avec Erasmus, l’Europe renoue avec des racines profondes. La coopération universitaire, la mobilité des étudiants et des professeurs, des parcours communs de formation, des diplômes reconnus par tous trouvent leur origine au moyen âge quand la Sorbonne, les universités de Bologne, Coïmbra, Salamanque…et des dizaines d’autres accueillaient professeurs et étudiants venant d’autres nations européennes. Avec la création d’Erasmus, l’Europe renouait donc avec ce brillant passé.

En souhaitant de tout cœur « bon vent à Erasmus », je voudrais aussi rendre hommage aux Présidents et membres successifs de la Commission européenne qui, sans relâche, ont soutenu Erasmus. Ils l’ont notamment élargi aux apprentis, depuis 1995, pour des mobilités courtes et, depuis 2017, pour des mobilités longues avec Erasmus Pro lancé sous l’impulsion de l’Institut Delors. Aujourd’hui, plus de 185 575 jeunes et enseignants de la formation professionnelle bénéficient des différentes mobilités.

Erasmus a aussi ouvert la voie aux « Universités européennes » qui se développent depuis le lancement de cette idée par Emmanuel Macron dans son grand discours de la Sorbonne. Un prolongement logique et admirable : déjà, en deux ans, 41 universités européennes constituées rassemblant plus de 300 institutions. Et un doublement de son budget pour la période 2021-2027.

Il faut également rendre hommage au Parlement européen, qui a toujours soutenu et défendu ce programme quand certains Etats voulaient le supprimer.

Hommage aussi aux fonctionnaires de la Commission qui pendant des années ont labouré le terrain avec opiniâtreté, convaincu les administrations nationales de l’intérêt qu’elles avaient à coopérer dans le cadre européen, à concevoir ce programme Erasmus avec audace. Ils étaient peu nombreux à travailler sous la férule du Gallois Hywell Jones, l’Italien Domenico Lenarduzzi, le Britannique Alan Smith. Leur travail a fait honneur à leur Institution.

Aujourd’hui, je me réjouis que ce programme d’échange s’apprête à s’élargir encore aux lycéens. Les échanges dès l’enseignement secondaire offriront aux jeunes une première expérience européenne qui ouvriront leurs esprits et élargiront leurs horizons. Nos instituts se félicitent d’avoir soutenu ces initiatives[2]. De même, nous avons plaidé pour que le programme s’enrichisse d’un volet bleu. En effet, si nous voulons que l’Europe protège et restaure son hydrosphère comme le prévoit la mission Starfish et assume ses responsabilités de puissance maritime, nous devons former nos jeunes et les doter des aptitudes et compétences nécessaires.

Oui « bon vent » à Erasmus et puissent les générations futures, nos jeunes Européens, enrichir encore cette belle construction européenne. A eux maintenant d’imaginer et de dessiner l’avenir, comme certains s’y emploient en participant à la Conférence organisée à cette fin. A tous, je leur adresse un salut fraternel.


[1] https://institutdelors.eu/publications/erasmus-pro-pour-un-million-de-jeunes-apprentis-europeens-dici-2020/

[2] https://institutdelors.eu/publications/erasmus-retrouver-les-ambitions-dorigine/


Citer cet article :

Delors J. 2022. « Bon anniversaire Erasmus et bon vent ! », publication conjointe, Institut Jacques Delors (Paris), Jacques Delors Centre (Berlin), Europe Jacques Delors (Bruxelles), 23 février.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more