Blog post

Strategic Compass: industry or power?

“the Compass is not yet a European White Paper on defence: it sets an industrial direction, but definitely not a strategic course”

| 04/04/2022

← Download pdf  Download epub


Recommended citation:
Gnesotto N. 2022. «Strategic Compass: industry or power?», Blogpost, Paris: Jacques Delors Institute, 4 April.


One month on from the outbreak of war in Ukraine, and following stalling discussions over the last two years, the Member States of the European Union stepped up the latest negotiations. This enabled the EU Council to adopt, as a matter of urgency, the “Strategic Compass for Security and Defence” on 21 March. This is a 47-page text with a sub-heading that sums up its ambition –“For a European Union that protects its citizens, values and interests and contributes to international peace and security”.

1– The main achievements

For Josep Borrell, High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy, the adoption of this text recognises long-term diplomatic efforts: it was no mean feat to achieve a consensus of the 27 Member States regarding the analysis of the threats facing the EU, without addressing traditionally divisive topics such as “strategic autonomy”, the relationship between the EU and NATO, increases in defence budgets, etc.  It took five different versions since the project’s launch in 2000, as the Strategic Compass shuttled back and forth between the European External Action Service (EEAS) and the Member States. Neither the Commission, nor the European Parliament were stakeholders. The war launched by Vladimir Putin stepped up Europeans’ pace and determination. Reeling from the shock of the invasion and bombing of Ukraine, the EU-27 put aside some habits and differences to get to the heart of the matter: to assert the EU’s strategic unity and its determination to develop its collective security and defence efforts.

The document enshrines several collective decisions which complement other military decisions taken individually by some Member States: Germany’s decision to increase its defence budget by €100 billion and to define a national security strategy, the decision of several Member States to use a special, off-budget mechanism (the European Peace Facility) to send weapons to Ukraine, and the almost unanimous drive to reach the 2% of GDP called upon by the USA, and Donald Trump in particular, for defence expenditure. The Compass now places these initiatives within a common operational and industrial investment programme for 2025-2030.

The Compass is comprised of five very detailed sections: an assessment of the strategic environment, or in other words the threats surrounding the EU, is followed by four key work strands: act, secure, invest and partner. Summary sheets at the end of each section bear witness to the effort taken to make the Compass accessible to the general public, a move that is somewhat rare for this type of document. A range of ideas are set down for future implementation, pending new decisions, in a relatively short timeframe, between 2022 and 2025. That said, some of the new initiatives have already been converted into decisions. These include in particular :

  • The creation of a rapid deployment capacity, acting as first responders in a crisis theatre, of up to 5000 troops, in the land, air and maritime components.
  • The consolidation of civilian resources: States set themselves the objective of deploying a “mission with 200 civilian experts within 30 days”.
  • For greater flexibility in the decision-making process: the use of constructive abstention (which does not revoke each Member State’s right of veto) and of article 44 of the Treaty of Lisbon which authorises the Council to “entrust the implementation of a task to a group of Member States which are willing and have the necessary capability for such a task” (which does not affect the unanimity required for the decision to launch the mission itself).
  • A move from virtual to live exercises for forces under Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP) missions on land and at sea, and for cyber-security.
  • The adoption in 2023 of an EU Space Strategy for Security and Defence.
  • Specific expectations of the Commission regarding the “incentives” to stimulate industrial cooperation between Member States, including a potential VAT waiver.
  • A regular revision clause, in the format of an annual report by the High Representative on progress made, with possible extensive revision in 2025.

2– Questions and the future of the European superpower

However, this Strategic Compass will have difficulty in convincing that Europe has just taken a qualitative leap towards the status of superpower.

Is this text the first of its kind in the history of the CSDP? Definitely not. In the past, Europeans adopted a “European Security Strategy” in 2003, under the leadership of Javier Solana, then a “Global Strategy” drafted under the aegis of Federica Mogherini in 2016. The former was a short text setting out the main principles and European vision for international security. The latter was a long document, like the current Compass, that already gave a regional analysis of perceived risks and objectives set by the European Union.

What is different about the Compass? The 2022 Compass stands out in three ways:

  • It goes further in its analysis of threats (ranging from cyber-risks to space, from Russia to terrorism, hybrid threats to the use of force). However, it places almost all threats on the same footing and therefore no priorities emerge (each Member State wishes its specific concerns to take precedence).
  • The Compass’ goal is mainly focused on capacity and industry: above all it sets out potential avenues for European cooperation initiatives that are eligible for the European Defence Fund. Some of these objectives are limited, while stated “discoveries” are not really new. Back in 1999, the Helsinki European Council set a clear capacity target for 2003, known as Headline Goals. These set an EU objective of being able to deploy 60,000 persons abroad within sixty days for one year. In the subsequent conferences on military capacity that were held at regular intervals, Member States also drew up an initial assessment of their capacity gaps, with strategic aircraft already topping the list.
  • This industrial priority leads the text to overlook the shared principles which could guide the use of military forces in a European framework: how does the EU intervene? With or without a United Nations mandate? For what purpose? Are there specific characteristics in the European use of force? Are CSDP missions always related to external operations (17 are underway in 2022)? Should European forces be formatted solely to be “first responders” in a warzone, as the rapid deployment capacity suggests? What are the rules that define this principle of a “rules-based international order”, much repeated in the text? Why use this term rather than the principle of multilateralism, which was a priority for Europeans dating back to their 2003 Strategy?  Who writes or revises these rules? What about European autonomy in relation to NATO? And so on. In other words, the Compass is not yet a European White Paper on defence: it sets an industrial direction, but definitely not a strategic course.

Is the Compass ambitious? Yes, for the scale of the work conducted for the threat and risk analysis.  The exercise itself, which took two years, was definitely important in terms of lessons learned: to oblige the EU-27 to attempt a common approach to their security environment is an achievement in itself. It is also ambitious in that the text is firmly focused on action: action must be taken and therefore resources must be developed to take it together.  Lastly, the text allows for the implementation of certain provisions of the Treaty of Lisbon, which are never or only rarely applied: a common analysis of threats, and flexibility in actions and decisions.

However, there is nothing spectacular about the text’s operational decisions: the rapid deployment capacity of 5,000 persons does not amount to much in terms of combat strength. It is above all an overhaul of the battle groups, which were never used. The civilian capacity is much less ambitious than that decided in 2000 at the Santa Maria da Feira European Council, where States undertook to deploy more than 1,000 police officers within thirty days, as part of a total force of 5,000 persons.

Is the Compass a founding act for a European superpower? This question has become paramount following the war in Ukraine and goes beyond the text of the Strategic Compass: are Europeans rising as a credible political and military power? The answer is unquestionably positive in view of the many decisions already made, concerning national rearmament, the sending of weapons to Ukraine, collective sanctions or initiatives to support refugees: the war in Ukraine was a real shock for Europeans, a nightmare scenario, which put paid to many illusions regarding the adequacy of the pacifying virtues of trade and interdependence alone. It has pushed Europe into a stark geopolitical reality. Member States are the driving force here. This European awakening does not disrupt the way the EU operates: it confirms the conventional sharing of European governance roles, with the Commission dealing with sanctions and energy and States in charge of defence and diplomacy.

Nevertheless, even though they have just adopted this Strategic Compass, Member States are far from wanting a European superpower and implementing the EU’s strategic autonomy. The extent of the threat from Russia, the unleashing of forces used against Ukraine and the first tentative steps achieved today for a common defence policy do not leave much room for the European Union but instead give maximum priority to NATO. There in lies the paradox of this war: it has awakened Europe, but to strengthen NATO. It has stimulated the European desire for energy independence from Russia, but it will heighten the EU’s energy reliance on the USA.

This European Atlantic reflex is both normal and reasonable against a backdrop of actual war in Europe. The more Eurosceptic will most likely see this as end of European ambitions – and French ambitions in particular – of becoming a superpower. In reality, it is a more question of inevitable sequencing: first NATO, then Europe. The USA needs to strengthen its western leadership against Putin and must also move as quickly as possible to their other, highest priority in Asia: China.  The EU will therefore require a great amount of collective intelligence – a genuine geopolitical compass – to combine these two stages, and build a powerful Europe as a precondition of the future development of US power itself.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Blog post

Boussole stratégique :
l’industrie ou la puissance ?

“la boussole n’est pas encore un Livre blanc européen sur la défense : elle indique un nord industriel, certainement pas un nord stratégique”

| 04/04/2022

← Télécharger le pdf  Télécharger l’epub


Citer cet article:
Gnesotto N. 2022. «Boussole stratégique : l’industrie ou la puissance», Blogpost, Paris: Institut Jacques Delors, 4 avril.


Un mois après le début de la guerre en Ukraine, et alors que les discussions patinaient depuis deux ans, les États membres de l’Union européenne ont accéléré les dernières négociations pour permettre au Conseil de l’UE, le 21 mars, d’adopter en urgence la « Boussole stratégique en matière de sécurité et de défense » : un texte de 47 pages dont le sous-titre résume l’ambition « Pour une Union européenne qui protège ses citoyens, ses valeurs et ses intérêts et qui contribue à la paix et à la sécurité internationale ».

1– Principaux acquis

Pour Josep Borrell, haut représentant de l’Union pour les affaires étrangères et à la politique de sécurité, l’adoption du texte vaut consécration d’un long travail diplomatique : parvenir au consensus des 27 États membres sur l’analyse des menaces qui pèsent sur l’UE, sans aborder des sujets aussi traditionnellement diviseurs que « l’autonomie stratégique », la relation entre l’Union et l’OTAN, l’augmentation des budgets de défense, etc. était une gageure. Cinq versions successives ont été nécessaires depuis le lancement de l’exercice en 2020, lors de va-et-vient constants entre le Service européen d’action extérieure (le SEAE) et les États membres. Ni la Commission, ni le Parlement européen ne furent parties prenantes. C’est la guerre déclenchée par Vladimir Poutine qui a forcé l’allure et la détermination des Européens. Sous le choc devant l’invasion et le bombardement de l’Ukraine, les Vingt-Sept ont mis de côté certaines habitudes et divergences pour aller à l’essentiel : l’affirmation de l’unité stratégique de l’Europe et leur détermination à développer leurs efforts collectifs en matière de sécurité et de défense.

Le document entérine plusieurs décisions collectives qui complètent d’autres décisions militaires prises individuellement par certains États membres : la décision allemande d’augmenter de 100 milliards d’euros son budget de défense et de se doter d’une stratégie de sécurité nationale ; la décision de nombre d’entre eux d’utiliser une ligne budgétaire spéciale, non communautaire (la Facilité européenne pour la paix) pour envoyer des armes à l’Ukraine ; et la volonté de pratiquement tous d’atteindre les 2% du PIB réclamés par les États-Unis, surtout par Donald Trump, pour les dépenses de défense. La boussole installe désormais ces initiatives particulières sous un programme commun d’investissements opérationnels et industriels à horizon 2025-2030.

La boussole comporte 5 parties très détaillées : l’analyse de l’environnement stratégique, autrement dit des menaces entourant l’UE, précède quatre impératifs qui servent de titres aux parties suivantes : agir, assurer la sécurité, investir, travailler en partenariat. Des synthèses et des fiches récapitulatives en fin de chaque partie témoignent d’un effort de communication grand public assez rare pour ce type de document. De multiples idées sont déclinées au futur, dans l’attente de nouvelles décisions, sur un calendrier relativement court, entre 2022 et 2025. Mais un certain nombre de nouveautés font d’ores et déjà l’objet de décisions. On retiendra notamment :

  • La création d’une capacité de réaction rapide, destinée à entrer en premier dans un théâtre de crise, pouvant aller jusqu’à 5 000 militaires, dans les trois composantes terre, air, mer.
  • La consolidation des moyens civils : les États se donnent pour objectif de déployer une « mission composée de 200 experts civils dans un délai de trente jours ».
  • Une plus grande flexibilité dans les décisions : l’utilisation de l’abstention constructive (qui ne supprime pas pour autant le droit de veto de chaque État) et le recours à l’article 44 du Traité de Lisbonne qui permet au « Conseil de confier la mise en œuvre d’une mission à un groupe d’États membres qui le souhaitent et disposent des capacités nécessaires pour une telle mission » (ce qui ne supprime pas non plus l’unanimité requise pour la décision du lancement de la mission elle-même).
  • Le passage à des exercices réels et non plus virtuels, pour les forces affectées à la politique de sécurité et de défense commune (PSDC) sur terre et sur mer, et en matière de cyber-sécurité
  • L‘adoption en 2023 d’une stratégie spatiale de l’UE pour la sécurité et la défense
  • Des attentes précises à l’égard de la Commission sur des « mesures incitatives » pour favoriser les coopérations industrielles entre États membres, dont une exonération possible de la TVA.
  • Une clause de révision régulière, sous forme d’un rapport annuel du Haut Représentant sur les progrès accomplis, avec éventuelle révision globale en 2025

2– Interrogations et avenir de l’Europe puissance

Pour autant, cette boussole stratégique a du mal à convaincre que l’Europe vient d’effectuer un saut qualitatif vers la puissance.

Ce texte est-il une première dans l’histoire de la PSDC ? Certainement pas. Les Européens ont par le passé adopté une « Stratégie européenne de sécurité » en 2003, sous la houlette de Javier Solana ; puis une « Stratégie globale » rédigée sous l’égide de Federica Mogherini en 2016. La première était un texte court énonçant les grands principes et la vision européenne de la sécurité internationale. La seconde était un long document comme l’actuelle boussole, et contenait déjà une analyse régionale des risques perçus et des objectifs poursuivis par l’Union européenne.

Comment la boussole se distingue-t-elle ? Le texte de 2022 se distingue de trois façons :

  • La boussole va plus loin dans l’analyse des menaces (tout y est, du cyber à l’espace, de la Russie au terrorisme, des menaces hybrides à l’usage de la force). Mais elle met les menaces pratiquement toutes sur le même plan et n’arrive donc pas à définir des priorités (chacun des États membres voulant faire valoir sa préoccupation particulière).
  • La boussole a un objectif essentiellement capacitaire et industriel: elle propose surtout des pistes pour des coopérations européennes éligibles au Fonds européen de défense. Avec parfois des objectifs limités et des « découvertes » qui n’en sont pas. Déjà en 1999, le Conseil européen d’Helsinki avait fixé un objectif capacitaire clair pour 2003, les Headline goals. Ceux-ci donnaient comme objectif à l’UE de pouvoir déployer à l’étranger 60 000 hommes en 60 jours pour une durée d’un an. Dans les conférences sur les capacités militaires qui suivirent régulièrement, les États membres avaient également procédé à un premier bilan de leurs lacunes capacitaires : les avions de transport stratégiques figuraient déjà en première place.

Cette priorité industrielle amène le texte à faire l’impasse sur les principes communs qui pourraient servir de guide à l’utilisation des forces militaires dans un cadre européen : comment l’UE intervient-elle ? Avec ou sans mandat des Nations unies ? Avec quels objectifs ? Y a-t-il une spécificité européenne dans l’usage de la force ? Les missions de la PSDC sont-elles toujours liées à des opérations extérieures (17 sont en cours en 2022) ? Les forces européennes doivent-elles être formatées seulement pour « entrer en premier » sur une zone de guerre, comme le suggère la capacité de réaction rapide ? Quelles sont les règles qui définissent ce principe maintes fois répété dans le texte « d’un monde fondé sur des règles » ? Et pourquoi employer cette locution plutôt que le principe du multilatéralisme, pourtant priorité des Européens depuis leur stratégie de 2003 ?  Qui écrit ou réécrit ces règles ? Qu’en est-il de l’autonomie européenne par rapport à l’Otan ? etc. Autrement dit, la boussole n’est pas encore un Livre blanc européen sur la défense : elle indique un nord industriel, certainement pas un nord stratégique.

Est-ce un texte ambitieux ? Oui, par l’ampleur du travail effectué sur l’analyse des menaces et des risques. L’exercice en lui-même, pendant deux ans, a certainement eu une valeur pédagogique précieuse : obliger les Vingt-Sept à tenter une approche commune de leur environnement de sécurité est un acquis en soi. Oui également, car le texte est résolument tourné vers l’action : il faut agir et donc développer des moyens pour agir ensemble. Oui enfin car il permet de mettre en œuvre certaines dispositions du traité de Lisbonne, jamais ou rarement appliquées : l’analyse commune des menaces, la flexibilité des actions et des décisions.

Toutefois, les décisions opérationnelles n’ont rien de spectaculaire : la force de réaction rapide de 5 000 hommes ne représente pas grand-chose en termes de force de combat. Elle se présente surtout comme une refonte des groupes de combat (battle groups) jamais utilisés. La capacité civile est beaucoup moins ambitieuse que celle décidée en 2000, au Conseil européen de Feira (les États s’engageaient à déployer dans un délai de 30 jours, jusqu’à 1 000 policiers, dans le cadre d’un réservoir global de 5 000 personnes).

Est-ce un acte fondateur pour l’Europe puissance ? La question est devenue cruciale à la suite de la guerre en Ukraine et elle va bien au-delà du texte de la boussole stratégique : les Européens sont-ils en train de se réveiller comme puissance politique et militaire crédible ? La réponse est sans conteste positive au regard des multiples décisions déjà prises, de réarmement national, d’envoi d’armes à l’Ukraine, de sanctions collectives ou de mobilisation pour le soutien aux réfugiés : la guerre en Ukraine constitue pour les Européens un véritable choc, un réveil cauchemardesque, qui met fin à nombre d’illusions sur la suffisance des seules vertus pacificatrices du commerce et de l’interdépendance. Elle fait entrer l’Europe dans la brutalité géopolitique pure et dure. Ce sont les États membres qui sont à la manœuvre. Ce réveil européen ne bouleverse pas en effet le fonctionnement de l’Union : il confirme le partage des rôles typique de la gouvernance européenne, la Commission s’occupant de sanctions et d’énergie, les États de la défense et de la diplomatie.

Pour autant, même s’ils viennent d’adopter leur boussole stratégique, les États membres sont loin de vouloir réveiller une Europe puissance et de mettre en œuvre l’autonomie stratégique de l’UE. L’ampleur de la menace russe, le déferlement des forces utilisées contre l’Ukraine, les balbutiements à ce jour des acquis en matière de politique de défense commune, ne laissent guère de place à l’Union européenne mais accorde au contraire la priorité maximale à l’Otan. C’est bien le paradoxe de cette guerre : elle réveille l’Europe mais c’est pour renforcer l’Otan. Elle nourrit le désir d’autonomie énergétique des Européens face à la Russie, mais elle va renforcer leur dépendance énergétique à l’égard des États-Unis.

Ce réflexe atlantique des Européens est aussi normal que sensé dans une situation de guerre réelle en Europe. Les plus eurosceptiques y verront sans doute l’enterrement des ambitions européennes –  et surtout françaises –  en matière de puissance. Il s’agit plutôt de séquences inévitables : d’abord l’OTAN, ensuite l’Europe. Car les États-Unis ont autant besoin de renforcer leur leadership occidental face à Poutine, que de passer, le plus vite possible, à leur autre et première priorité en Asie : la puissance chinoise.  Il faudra donc à l’Union beaucoup d’intelligence collective – une véritable boussole géopolitique – pour conjuguer ces deux étapes, et construire l’Europe puissance comme une condition nécessaire à l’épanouissement futur de la puissance américaine elle-même.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more