Policy paper 282

China and the role of Europe in a new world order

| 10/10/2022

Recommanded citation:
Lamy P., Fabry E. & Redeker N. 2022. “China and the role of Europe in a new world order“, Policy paper, Paris: Jacques Delors Institute, 10th Octobre.


Introduction

The EU-China relationship has deteriorated significantly. Given the likely direction of travel of China and of the world, it needs rebalancing in various directions in order to strengthen the EU’s position while engaging China where cooperation seems both necessary and possible and avoiding its isolation. This will imply releveling the economic playing field, reducing critical EU dependencies, increasing its resilience and its strategic autonomy, augmenting its global clout, and building cooperation with China in topics or regions where our interests converge.

The Russian invasion of Ukraine marks a new low point in EU-China relations. The fact that the Chinese government has shared the anti-western narrative of the Russian aggressor has accentuated many of the long-standing economic and political tensions between the two blocs. It has forged a new sense of unity amongst Member States vis-à-vis China, prompted a number of member states to rethink their economic dependencies on the authoritarian state and led Brussels to stress the systemic rivalry between the EU and China in even starker terms than before.

While it is now obvious that the diplomatic relations will remain on a downward spiral for the foreseeable future, it is much less clear how this new reality should translate into policy. With the remaining economic interdependencies and the need to cooperate with China as a world power on several issues from climate policy to health or food security, the EU will need to find new ways to juggle conflicting economic and political goals. France and Germany should, therefore, take the lead in formulating this new approach.

Most importantly, the two countries should push the EU to continue to level the playing field towards Chinese competitors, reduce its dependence in strategic sectors through trade policy but also through a politically and macroeconomically meaningful European industrial strategy. Moreover, the EU should leverage the geopolitical clout of its standard-setting powers and carve out a realistic agenda for an arm’s length cooperation in those areas in which the two blocs still pursue common interests.

Read more →

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Policy Paper 282

Rééquilibrer la relation UE-Chine dans un nouvel ordre mondial

| 10/10/2022

Citer cet article :
Lamy P., Fabry E. & Redeker N. 2022. «Rééquilibrer la relation UE-Chine dans un nouvel ordre mondial», Policy paper, Paris: Institut Jacques Delors, 10 octobre.


Introduction

Les relations entre l’UE et la Chine se sont fortement détériorées. Compte tenu de la trajectoire prise par la Chine et de l’évolution du monde, un rééquilibrage de ces relations s’impose pour que l’UE puisse renforcer sa position tout en continuant à coopérer avec la Chine, lorsque cela est à la fois nécessaire et possible, et en évitant d’isoler cette dernière. Pour cela, il faut garantir une concurrence équitable, réduire les dépendances critiques de l’UE, améliorer sa résilience et son autonomie stratégique, accroître son influence dans le monde, et nouer des accords de coopération avec la Chine sur les sujets ou dans les régions où les intérêts des deux blocs convergent.

L’invasion russe de l’Ukraine a encore dégradé les relations entre la Chine et l’UE. Le soutien du gouvernement chinois au discours anti-occidental de l’agresseur russe a avivé les tensions économiques et politiques qui existent entre les deux blocs depuis de nombreuses années. Cela a renforcé la cohésion des États membres vis-à-vis de la Chine, et poussé certains Etats à réévaluer leurs dépendances économiques au régime autoritaire, tout en incitant Bruxelles à encore durcir le ton vis-à-vis de son rival systémique chinois.

Si l’on n’envisage pas d’amélioration des relations diplomatiques sino-européennes à court terme, reste à savoir comment s’adapter à cette nouvelle donne. En effet, compte tenu des interdépendances économiques actuelles et de la coopération qui s’impose avec une puissance mondiale comme la Chine sur des questions telles que le climat, la santé ou la sécurité alimentaire, l’UE devra trouver de nouvelles façons de concilier ses objectifs économiques et politiques. La France et l’Allemagne doivent activement contribuer à cette nouvelle approche.
Les deux pays devraient notamment soutenir les efforts engagés par l’UE pour garantir une concurrence équitable avec la Chine et réduire ses dépendances stratégiques grâce non seulement à sa politique commerciale, mais aussi à une politique industrielle européenne fondée sur un véritable cadre de gouvernance économique. En outre, l’UE devrait mieux tirer parti du levier d’influence géopolitique que lui offre son pouvoir normatif et établir un programme de coopération réaliste et équitable dans les domaines dans lesquels les deux blocs ont encore des intérêts communs.

Lire la suite →

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more