Brief

Climate policy
of the new German Government

Do provisions meet its ambitions?

| 16/02/2022

Introduction

Climate change mitigation was at the core of the German electoral campaign in summer 2021 and one of the decisive election topics for German citizens[1]. After the elections, Social-Democrats (SPD), the Green Party (Bündnis90/DieGrünen) and the Liberals (FDP) started negotiating a coalition to build a government. On 24th of November, the parties presented their coalition agreement with the title “Dare More Progress”[2]. The so-called treaty is a declaration of intent, not a contract in the legal sense of the term[3]. It contains on 177 pages the program of the government for its period of four years in office.

The new government coalition took office in December 2021. Just one month later, on January 11th 2022, Robert Habeck, new German Minister of Economic Affairs and Climate Change Mitigation, presented his initial assessment of the status quo in climate change mitigation saying: “We need to triple the yearly emission reductions”[4]. He further announced a climate emergency program with legislative packages for spring and summer 2022 that should provide a basis to reach this tripling of climate efforts. Additionally, the new government is fully committed to support the reform of the EU legislation to meet its objective of reaching climate neutrality by 2050.

For twenty years, Germany has been implementing its “energy turnaround” (Energiewende)[5]. The new coalition is determined to launch what looks like a revolution of the energy system and economy in order to reach climate neutrality by 2045, five years ahead of France or the European Union. This policy brief examines the coalition treaty and first governmental announcements for each sector[6] (electricity, industry, mobility, buildings), and gives an overview of cross-cutting policies (innovation, governance, carbon pricing). It concludes with concrete recommendations on how EU climate policy can reinforce the strengths and compensate for the flaws in the plans of the new German government.

Read more →


[1] See the survey in this article or another survey after the election in this article.

[2] The title is a reference to chancellor Willy Brandt, who led the first coalition of SPD and FDP 1969-1974. He ended his first speech as a chancellor saying “Let’s dare more democracy”. The treaty can be found here.

[3] In contrast to this non-binding nature and a respectively rather low public trust in the promises of those documents, two studies (here and here) of Bertelsmann foundation found for the last two German governments that about 80 % of the proposed measures were adopted within their term.

[4] The current climate law obliges the government to reach a 65 % reduction in greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions by 2030 compared to 1990 and climate neutrality in 2045. The EU agreed to reduce GHG emissions by 55 % by 2030 and to reach climate neutrality in 2050.

[5] Delair & Pellerin-Carlin (2021):  The German Energy Transition – A Review of 20 Years of Political Decisions. Energy & Climate Policy Brief No 270, September 2021. Jacques Delors Institut: Paris.

[6] Ordered by the relevance of the sectors’ emissions. Cf. Annex 1.


Recommended citation:
Leuser L., Delair M. & Pellerin-Carlin T. 2022. “Climate policy of the new German Government. Do provisions meet its ambitions? “, Policy brief, Jacques Delors Institute, February 16th.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Décryptage

La politique climatique du nouveau gouvernement allemand est-elle à la hauteur de ses ambitions ?

| 16/02/2022

Introduction

Placée au cœur de la campagne électorale allemande durant l’été 2022, la question de l’atténuation du dérèglement climatique a constitué l’un des thèmes électoraux décisifs pour les citoyens allemands[1]. Après les élections, les sociaux-démocrates (SPD), le parti vert (Bündnis90/Die Grünen) et les libéraux (FDP) ont entamé des négociations pour aboutir à une coalition gouvernementale. Le 24 novembre, ces partis ont présenté leur accord de gouvernement, sous le titre « Oser plus de progrès »[2]. Bien qu’appelé « traité de coalition », il s’agit en fait d’une déclaration d’intention et non d’un contrat au sens juridique du terme[3]. Le programme gouvernemental pour les quatre années de la mandature y est détaillé en 177 pages.

La nouvelle coalition gouvernementale est entrée en fonction en décembre 2021. Un mois plus tard, le 11 janvier 2022, Robert Habeck, le nouveau ministre fédéral allemand de l’économie et de la protection du climat, présentait sa première analyse de la situation en matière d’atténuation du dérèglement climatique en affirmant : « Nous devons tripler les réductions annuelles d’émissions »[4]. Il annonçait également un programme d’urgence climatique, qui prévoit la présentation au printemps et à l’été 2022 de paquets législatifs devant servir de base au triplement de ces efforts en faveur du climat. Le nouveau gouvernement est par ailleurs pleinement déterminé à soutenir la réforme de la législation de l’UE afin que celle-ci atteigne son objectif de neutralité climatique d’ici 2050.

Depuis vingt ans, l’Allemagne met en œuvre son « tournant énergétique » (Energiewende)[5]. Pour parvenir à la neutralité climatique d’ici 2045, cinq ans avant la France ou l’Union européenne, la nouvelle coalition est déterminée à engager ce qui ressemble bien à une révolution de son système énergétique et de son économie. Ce Policy Brief examine le contrat de coalition ainsi que les premières annonces gouvernementales dans chaque secteur[6] (électricité, industrie, mobilité, bâtiments) et offre un aperçu des politiques transversales (innovation, gouvernance, prix du carbone). Il propose en conclusion des recommandations concrètes sur la manière dont la politique climatique de l’UE peut renforcer les points forts et pallier les carences des projets du nouveau gouvernement allemand.

Lire la suite →


[1] Voir l’enquête dans cet article ou celle réalisée après l’élection dans cet autre article.

[2] Ce titre fait référence au chancelier Willy Brandt, qui avait dirigé la première coalition entre la SPD et la FDP entre 1969 et 1974. Il avait conclu son premier discours en tant que chancelier par « Oser plus de démocratie ». Le contrat de coalition est accessible ici.

[3] Malgré la nature non contraignante et une confiance plutôt faible des citoyens dans les promesses de ces documents, deux études (ici et ) de la Fondation Bertelsmann ont conclu que les deux gouvernements allemands précédents avaient adopté près de 80% des mesures proposées au cours de leur législature.

[5] Delair & Pellerin-Carlin (2021) : La transition énergétique allemande – Bilan de 20 ans de choix politiques, Policy Brief n° 270, septembre 2021. Institut Jacques Delors : Paris.

[6] Classement par quantité d’émissions de ces secteurs. Voir Annexe 1.


Citer cet article :
Leuser L., Delair M., Pellerin-Carlin T. 2022. «La politique climatique du nouveau gouvernement allemand est-elle à la hauteur de ses ambitions ?», Décryptage, Institut Jacques Delors, 2 mars.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more