Policy paper

255

Harmful tax competition

OVERCOMING UNFAIR FRUGALITY

By Edgar Rivoli, pseudonym of Senior civil servant

| 10/09/2020

|
ABSTRACT

Harmful tax competition is neither a recent phenomenon nor is it limited to the European economic area. The phenomenon, which accelerated through globalisation and the digital revolution, has been a cause for concern since the 1990s. Outside observers might have thought the European project and the single market would have protected Member States from such unfair practices. However, the European Union’s (EU) failure to harmonise company taxation, with a few exceptions, has paved the way for the development of harmful tax competition.

It is a controversial matter. States benefiting from this competition attach importance to their fiscal sovereignty, thereby benefitting from competitive advantages and tax attractiveness for foreign investment. The other States, in favour of dismantling harmful tax systems, are faced with the unanimity rule imposed by the treaties on Council decisions in tax matters.

That said, the increase in tax scandals (the Lux Leaks, Panama Papers, Paradise Papers, etc.) is a testament to the scale of the phenomenon. Initiatives have re-emerged to combat unfair tax competition, which is indicative of a breach in solidarity between EU Member States.

Competition | Social Europe | Tax

Policy Paper 255
 

Concurrence fiscale dommageable

UNE FRUGALITE DELOYALE A COMBATTRE

Par Edgar Rivoli, pseudonyme d’un haut fonctionnaire

|   10/09/2020             |   Edgar Rivoli             |   Economie et finance
Policy Paper
RESUME

La concurrence fiscale dommageable n’est ni récente ni limitée à l’espace européen. Favorisée par la mondialisation et la révolution numérique, elle fait l’objet de préoccupations depuis les années 1990. On aurait pu penser que le projet européen, et en particulier le marché unique, aurait permis de mettre les États membres à l’abri de ces pratiques déloyales. Mais l’incapacité de l’Union européenne à harmoniser la fiscalité des entreprises, à quelques exceptions près, a ouvert la porte à un développement de la concurrence fiscale dommageable.

Ce sujet ne fait pas consensus. Les États bénéficiaires de cette concurrence sont attachés à leur souveraineté fiscale qui leur permet de disposer d’avantages compétitifs et d’une attractivité fiscale pour les investissements étrangers. Les autres, partisans d’un démantèlement des régimes fiscaux dommageables, se heurtent à la règle de l’unanimité imposée par les Traités aux décisions du conseil en matière fiscale.

Mais la multiplication des scandales fiscaux (Lux leaks, Panama papers, Paradise papers…) ont mis en évidence l’ampleur du phénomène et relancé les initiatives en faveur d’une lutte contre une concurrence fiscale déloyale révélatrice d’une rupture de solidarités entre les États de l’Union européenne.