Blog post

Between Francis and Viktor,
the tugs and pulls among Central European Catholics

Par Lukáš Macek,
Associate Reseacher, Central and Eastern Europe, Jacques Delors Institute.

| 01/10/2021

Shifting our focus beyond the speculative political messages, the recent visit of Pope Francis to Hungary and Slovakia calls for an examination of the role of the Catholic Church[1] in Central Europe. In the broader sense, it prompts us to consider the reference to Christian values in Central European politics.

The relationship between Central Europe and Pope Francis is complex in more ways than one. Jorge Mario Bergoglio marks a certain departure from his two predecessors who had a close connection with the region of missionaries Cyril and Methodius: the Pole, John Paul II, and the Bavarian, Benedict XVI. However, when we delve deeper than simple matters of geographical and cultural ties, there seems to be something of a doctrinal chill between the current pope and many Central European Catholics. Against this background, the media have reported the striking difference in the number of believers who attended his visit compared with that of John Paul II in 2003. In this respect, it goes without saying that multiple factors are at play, not least the health crisis. Nonetheless, for some Slovaks, the problem lies in the overly “progressive” stance adopted by Pope Francis, not to mention his “pro-migrant” messages. A similar perspective has been developed in Poland, while those close to the FIDESZ party in Hungary never miss an opportunity to criticise the Bishop of Rome, dubbing him the “Soros Pope”…

That said, the Pope’s visit shed light on more than just the internal tensions within the Catholic Church. Above all, it highlighted the strong disconnect between his adopted stance and the positions of the governments of the so-called Visegrád Group (the Czech Republic, Hungary, Poland, and Slovakia). Theoretically, though, one would think the Bishop of Rome might be pleased with the insistence of the Hungarian and Polish governments on defending Christian values. In this spirit, Viktor Orbán criticised Western Europe for having “renounced Christian Europe” while Hungary and the nations of Central Europe – around the “Polish flagship” – are “in the process of restoring to their rightful place the time-honoured instincts for life, the liberating power of Christianity, the honour of work, national pride and duty towards our parents and children.” The same can be said of Poland’s current leaders where Jaroslaw Kaczyński continues to hammer home the message that “Every good Pole should know what the role of the Catholic Church is, because beyond the church there is only nihilism.” Speeches aside, the Hungarian government is not afraid to flaunt its pro-family policy as a symbol of its commitment to Christian values.

While the will to defend such values could only be agreed upon between Rome, Budapest and Warsaw, there is a stark and strong divergence regarding the interpretation of these same values. This has particularly applied since the 2015 migrant crisis. A distrustful and downright hostile stance towards migrants and Islam has been forcefully imposed among the political classes of the Visegrád countries, which is spearheaded by the Hungarian Prime Minister. Conversely, Pope Francis has constantly called for openness towards migrants, championing multiculturalism and interreligious dialogue. Pope Francis has repeatedly made gestures of generosity towards migrants just as he has called for solidarity with Muslims. By contrast, the prevailing rhetoric spun in Central Europe seeks to uphold the notion of an inveterate difference between the two religions and of an Islam that is irreconcilable with the values of Europe. Proponents of this school of thought are quick to liken immigration from Muslim countries to an “invasion”. Viktor Orbán simply echoed this idea when he presented Pope Francis with a letter written by Hungarian King Béla IV to Pope Innocent IV, appealing for help with the Mongol invasion that swept across Hungary and Europe.

Very few Central European leaders would publicly endorse this sentence from Pope Francis’ latest Encyclical, Fratelli tutti: “Our response to the arrival of migrating persons can be summarised by four words: welcome, protect, promote and integrate.” In contrast, a number of people might feel targeted by a passage in the very same Encyclical that describes “an unhealthy populism” defined as a scenario in which “individuals are able to exploit politically a people’s culture, under whatever ideological banner, for their own personal advantage or continuing grip on power. Or when, at other times, they seek popularity by appealing to the basest and most selfish inclinations of certain sectors of the population. This becomes all the more serious when, whether in cruder or more subtle forms, it leads to the usurpation of institutions and laws.” Lastly, it should be noted that the disconnect stretches far and beyond the issue of migration. Pope Francis continually focuses on the polemical issues and was quick to do so on his visit to Hungary and Slovakia where he condemned anti-Semitism and the excluded Roma people. The current Bishop of Rome is also an avid advocate for the environment, an issue which Central European governments tend to put on the back burner whenever they are not toying with the idea of “climate scepticism”.

In this context, it is easy to notice the political motives behind the papal visit in Hungary given that it only lasted a few hours and was exclusively driven by the International Eucharistic Congress, this year held in Budapest. Compare this with Pope Francis’ three-day visit of Slovakia, in response to the invitation from President Zuzana Čaputová. Within the Central European political landscape, Čaputová is somewhat an exception to the rule. She is a former pro-environment activist, liberal-progressive and pro-European who advocates the legacy of political figureheads such as Václav Havel and Lech Wałęsa. In essence, Čaputová embodies all the principles that are reviled by the “illiberal” Central Europeans. It is, in fact, true that Pope Francis ended up extending his visit to Budapest as he met Viktor Orbán alongside Hungarian President, János Áder. Be that as it may, his speech to Hungarian bishops came across as a thinly veiled criticism of the authorities. The Bishop of Rome constantly urged the need for a fraternal and inclusive society that is open to encountering others. His speech also serves as a reminder to the Hungarian Catholic hierarchy, which has hardly voiced its diverging opinion in response to Orbán government policies and communications.

Yet, if we extend our focus beyond Hungary, the real issue at stake is the positioning of the Church – as an institution, not forgetting all the local and charitable initiatives that it may undertake and which are fully consistent with Pope Francis’ message – and in the wake of national-populist ideology within Central Europe. Faced with political forces that propagate priorities which are specific and dear to the Catholic electorate – notably issues related to the family model and sexual minorities – and that more or less vehemently uphold a Christian vision of politics and European identity, Central European Catholic authorities tend to get carried away and turn a blind eye to the fundamentally controversial dimensions of the political agenda pushed by these political forces. This is especially true of countries where such political forces are in power, starting with Hungary, where a generous policy of public subsidies challenges the very independence of the Catholic Church.

In Poland, a deep and complex relationship has developed between the Church and the majority in power since 2015. The nature of this relationship is such that it alters the internal balances between conservative and progressive movements[2]. Synergies with Poland’s Law and Justice Party (PiS) strengthen the most conservative circles in the Church. The prime example is that of Father Tadeusz Rydzyk, director and founder of the polemical Radio Maryja. In the past, the radio station was heavily criticised by the European Parliament, the American Secretary of State, the Council of Europe, the Simon Wiesenthal Center, and none other than the Polish primate and the Vatican. Despite his tempestuous relations with the Kaczyński brothers and his stance, which is often more radical on many subjects than those of the PiS, Father Rydzyk appears to be the man pulling the party’s strings. He is an influential figure who is the lynchpin of a media and university empire that is now much more than the radio station created in 1991.

In the Czech Republic, the Archbishop of Prague, Dominik Duka, frankly expresses his admiration of personalities who promote a quasi “illiberal” stance within the sphere of Czech politics. This positioning is also closely tied to Europhobic and anti-immigrant rhetoric. Leading figures of this ideology include former Czech President, Václav Klaus, and his successor Miloš Zeman. In contrast to Poland and Hungary, in a highly de-Christianised country[3], such collusion is more akin to the personality of the current Primate of Bohemia. What’s more, it appears more as rather superficial temporary alliances in the face of common adversaries – namely, the progressive and pro-European portion of the public opinion  – rather than a bona fide ideological community. Not once have Václav Klaus, Miloš Zeman (or Robert Fico in Slovakia) staked a claim to the Christian Democratic tradition. Unlike them, Viktor Orbán is an active proponent of a “true” Christian democracy, likening himself to Helmut Kohl. Nor do the above leaders affirm that their dream is to “re-Christianise Europe”, unlike Polish Prime Minister, Mateusz Morawiecki. Moreover, for the Czech Catholic Church, the natural political partner remains the small Christian Democratic party, KDU-ČSL, which is part of the mainstream within the European People’s Party (EPP).

As with many other issues in this part of Europe, a comparison over the last thirty years makes for compelling reading. In 1989, the Catholic Church supported a “return to Europe”, i.e., swift adoption of the Western European model, as an important component of a civil society that campaigned against the communist regime. It was obvious for countries with an established religious background. First, in Poland, where the Church was vital to the opposition, helped by the figure of John Paul II, who embodied a synthesis of moderate Catholic conservatism and the spirit of 1989. The same can be said about Slovakia. A political movement, culminating in Czechoslovakia’s “Velvet Revolution” (November 1989), was kick-started by highly religious protests. One of the turning points was the “candlelight protest” held in March 1988, which was orchestrated by Catholic dissidents. However, the same goes for the Czech Republic where, despite the relative lack of religious observance, the Church was also in a rather favourable position. Significantly, the large-scale November-December 1989 anti-regime demonstrations were animated by the Catholic priest, Václav Malý. Václav Havel had forged a positive bond with the Catholic Church, as evidenced by the Te Deum celebrated on the day of his election as President of Czechoslovakia on 29 December 1989. Whilst Havel’s political rhetoric was not founded on specific and forthright religious inspiration, he did steer the public debate towards priority topics on which the Church could have made his voice heard, spreading its influence within civil society, in a continuation of the spirit of the pre-1989 period of dissent. Havel focused on priorities including the spiritual dimension of politics, the importance of the ethics, the individual’s responsibility to overcome challenges and a concern for the ideals of the European construction and an essentially “Western” direction for the country.

Thirty years on, an opportunity has clearly been missed. The Church in the Czech Republic has not been able – or perhaps willing? – to fully embrace these priorities. Instead it has focused on a commitment to social issues such as the defence of the traditional family model and a fight to reclaim property confiscated by the communist regime. To some extent in Poland and especially in Hungary, the Church is struggling to express an independent, critical viewpoint in relation to the government in power on issues where the values of the Church should force it into positions that go against the grain of the dominant political stance – positioning itself more closely to Pope Francis than to Viktor Orbán. Without any shadow of a doubt, the Church has found its greatest success in Slovakia where it has struck a balance in its relationship with the political class. The task is unquestionably simpler in a country where “illiberal” momentum is less vigorous and with a political class which is more fragmented but relatively consistent in terms of its devotion to Christianity, a devotion reflected even in the country’s coat of arms.

All told, it is important to remember that Central European Churches are not monolithic structures. A recent incident in the Czech Republic makes for an interesting case in point: an economist, Hana Lipovská, who openly emphasises her “Christian values” as well as her radical Euroscepticism, was elected by an ad hoc coalition in the Chamber of Deputies to the supervisory board for public television. This election followed her nomination by the Czech Bishops’ Conference, thanks in particular to support from Cardinal Duka. Following a series of controversies and Lipovská’s decision to be a candidate on a far-right list for the next legislative elections on 8 and 9 October, the Bishops’ Conference decided to cut off all ties. Poland is also home to considerable tensions. The Catholic Church veers between a tacit alliance with the PiS and a reticence when it comes to refugees and the issue of eroded liberal democracy[4]. Polish Catholics are as divided as society as a whole. On the one hand, there are those who espouse liberal democracy and the European integration of their country. On the other, there are nationalist and “illiberal” movements, more or less radical. This conflict may result in permanently severed ties. Despite the lack of accurate data, in recent years, the number of acts of apostasy appears to have risen substantially in Poland.

Essentially, the Catholic Church in Central Europe must address a double-headed issue. First, what political affiliations is the Catholic Church prepared to establish? Second, what priorities does it wish to foreground as themes that steer public debate? Does the Central European Catholic Church wish to foster closer ties with Christian-democratic political forces, which, by tradition, are rather centrist and pro-European? Or rather, does the Catholic Church prefer to team up with national-populist groups that are more staunchly conservative? By its very nature, the Catholic Church is anti-liberal regarding societal issues. Will such an attitude force the institution into allying itself to political forces whose anti-liberalism reaches to the very heart of politics, thereby diametrically opposing the core principles of Western democracy? This line of thinking harks back to a distant past. It challenges the existing relationship between the Church and a Christian Democratic model as developed and reaffirmed during the twentieth century and which is closely linked to the founding fathers of the European project. During his speech at the EPP Helsinki summit 2018 the President of the EPP, (the centre-right European People’s Party) and former Prime Minister of Poland, Donald Tusk, who is the custodian of this heritage, categorically stated what is unacceptable for a Christian Democrat: abandoning the core principles of liberal democracy and heeding to the call of bigotry and authoritarianism. On the Catholic Church’s side these sentiments were expressed by Czech Bishops’ Conference President, Jan Graubner: “It is not possible to hide behind a value which corresponds to the Christian vision of society and the world, while at the same time occluding or denying other Christian values.”

Beyond relations with the Church, the Christian-Democratic concept, which simultaneously embraces liberal democracy and traditional societal values is hardly rooted in Central Europe. This is one of the factors that has made post-1989 democracies vulnerable to the lure of “illiberalism”. Faced with such temptation, an effective political solution also depends on the ability of other committed liberal democracy political circles to show empathy for the conservative electorate, both in Central Europe and elsewhere. This electoral group has been left dumbfounded by the sweeping societal changes in Western norms and customs. This is no easy task in the current climate of radicalised activist demands of all types. Though, confronting these trends with a spirit of compromise and moderation, isn’t it precisely the strength and the very purpose of the European project?


[1] Without wishing to overshadow other Churches and religions in Central and Eastern Europe – note, for instance, that Viktor Orbán has a Calvinist background and that former Czech Republic Prime Minister, Jiří Paroubek, is a member of the Czechoslovak Hussite Church – I will focus this article on the Catholic Church and Central Europe in the strict sense, namely on the Visegrád four: Hungary, Poland, the Czech Republic and Slovakia.

[2] Meyer Resende (Madalena), Hennig (Anja): “Polish Catholic Bishops, Nationalism and Liberal Democracy” in Religions, 2021, https://www.mdpi.com/2077-1444/12/2/94/pdf

[3]According to Pew Research Center data, the proportion of people who consider themselves “highly religious” in the Czech Republic is 8%, compared with 17% in Hungary, 29% in Slovakia and 40% in Poland (https://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2018/12/05/how-do-european-countries-differ-in-religious-commitment)

[4] Meyer Resende, Hennig in the work cited. See also: https://www.dw.com/en/how-the-catholic-church-ties-in-to-polands-judicial-reform/a-39809383

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Blog post

Entre François et Viktor, les tiraillements des catholiques centre-européens

Par Lukáš Macek,
Chercheur associé, Europe centrale et orientale, Institut Jacques Delors.

| 01/10/2021

Au-delà des spéculations quant aux messages politiques qu’elle a véhiculés, la récente visite du pape François en Hongrie et en Slovaquie invite à s’interroger sur le rôle de l’Eglise catholique[1] et plus généralement sur la référence aux valeurs chrétiennes dans la vie politique des pays d’Europe centrale.

À bien des égards, la relation entre l’Europe centrale et le pape François est complexe. Jorge Mario Bergoglio incarne une certaine rupture avec ses deux prédécesseurs, fortement liés à la région des évangélisateurs Cyrille et Méthode: le Polonais Jean-Paul II et le Bavarois Benoît XVI. Mais au-delà des simples questions d’affinités géographiques ou culturelles, c’est bien au niveau du positionnement doctrinal qu’un certain froid semble exister entre le pape actuel et de nombreux catholiques centre-européens. Ainsi, la presse s’est fait écho d’une différence saisissante au niveau du nombre des fidèles mobilisés par sa visite en Slovaquie par rapport à celle de Jean-Paul II en 2003. Certes, ce décalage découle sans doute de toute une série de facteurs, dont bien évidemment la situation sanitaire, mais il n’en est pas moins vrai que pour une partie des Slovaques, ce sont les prises de position trop « libérales » du pape François ou encore ses appels « pro-migrants », qui posent problème. On rencontre des attitudes similaires en Pologne, alors que des proches du FIDESZ en Hongrie ne se privent pas de critiquer le « pape de Soros »…

Toutefois, la visite du pape n’éclaire pas seulement des tensions internes à l’Eglise catholique. Elle a surtout mis en évidence la dissonance forte entre son discours et les positions des gouvernements des pays dits de Visegrád (République tchèque, Hongrie, Pologne, Slovaquie). Pourtant, a priori, l’insistance des gouvernements hongrois et polonais sur la défense des valeurs chrétiennes pourrait ravir l’évêque de Rome. Ainsi, Viktor Orbán critique l’Europe occidentale pour avoir « renoncé à l’Europe chrétienne », alors que la Hongrie et plus généralement les pays de l’Europe centrale – autour du « vaisseau amiral polonais » – seraient « en train de remettre à leur juste place les instincts séculaires pour la vie, la puissance libératrice du christianisme, l’honneur du travail, la fierté nationale et le devoir envers nos parents et nos enfants. » Même son de cloche du côté des dirigeants actuels de la Pologne où Jaroslaw Kaczyński n’hésite pas à affirmer que « tout bon Polonais doit savoir quel est le rôle de l’Église, il doit savoir qu’au-delà d’elle il y a le nihilisme. » Outre ce discours, le gouvernement hongrois ne manque pas de mettre en avant sa politique familiale très volontariste pour illustrer son engagement au service des valeurs chrétiennes.

Si la volonté de défendre ces dernières ne pourrait que faire consensus entre Rome, Budapest et Varsovie, une divergence forte apparaît nettement quant à l’interprétation de ces mêmes valeurs, en particulier depuis la crise migratoire de 2015. Un discours méfiant, voire franchement hostile à l’égard des migrants et de l’Islam s’est fortement imposé au sein des classes politiques des pays de Visegrád, avec pour figure de proue le premier ministre hongrois. De son côté, le pape François n’a cessé d’inviter à l’ouverture à l’égard des migrants et de promouvoir par ailleurs le multiculturalisme et le dialogue interreligieux. On ne compte plus ses appels à la générosité à l’égard des migrants, de même que ses gestes d’ouverture à l’égard des musulmans, alors que le discours ambiant en Europe centrale vise plutôt à accréditer l’idée d’une opposition irréductible entre les deux religions et d’un Islam irréconciliable avec les valeurs de l’Europe. Les tenants de ces thèses assimilent volontiers l’immigration provenant des pays musulmans à une « invasion ». Viktor Orbán n’a pas fait autre chose en offrant au pape la copie d’une lettre adressée par le roi de Hongrie Béla IV au pape Innocent IV, l’appelant à l’aide face à l’invasion mongol déferlant sur la Hongrie et l’Europe…

Peu de dirigeants centre-européens souscriraient publiquement à cette phrase de la dernière encyclique du pape François, Fratelli tutti : « Nos efforts vis-à-vis des personnes migrantes qui arrivent peuvent se résumer en quatre verbes: accueillir, protéger, promouvoir et intégrer. » Nombreux sont en revanche ceux qui pourraient se sentir visés par le passage de la même encyclique qui évoque « un populisme malsain », défini comme « l’habileté d’un individu à captiver afin d’instrumentaliser politiquement la culture du peuple, grâce à quelque symbole idéologique, au service de son projet personnel et de son maintien au pouvoir. Parfois, on cherche à gagner en popularité en exacerbant les penchants les plus bas et égoïstes de certains secteurs de la population. Cela peut s’aggraver en devenant, sous des formes grossières ou subtiles, un asservissement des institutions et des lois. » Enfin, notons que les désaccords ne se limitent pas aux questions migratoires : le pape François n’hésite pas à soulever des questions qui fâchent et n’a pas manqué de le faire à nouveau lors de cette visite en Hongrie et en Slovaquie, en plaidant contre l’antisémitisme ou contre l’exclusion des Rom. Il est également connu pour sa sensibilité aux questions environnementales, un sujet sur lequel les gouvernements centre-européens ont tendance à traîner des pieds, quand ils ne flirtent pas avec le « climatoscepticisme ».

Dans ce contexte, il est difficile de ne pas avancer une interprétation très politique du fait que la visite pontificale en Hongrie n’a duré que quelques heures et était motivée par la seule tenue à Budapest du Congrès eucharistique international, alors que François s’est ensuite rendu en Slovaquie pour y passer trois jours, à l’invitation de la présidente Zuzana Čaputová. Or, dans le paysage politique centre-européen, cette dernière fait figure de l’exception qui confirme la règle : ancienne militante associative pro-environnement, libérale-progressiste et pro-européenne qui se revendique de l’héritage de Václav Havel ou de Lech Walesa, elle incarne à peu près tout ce que les « illibéraux » centre-européens pourfendent. Certes, François a finalement prolongé un peu sa visite à Budapest, il a bien rencontré Viktor Orbán en compagnie du président hongrois János Áder, mais son discours face aux évêques hongrois apparaît comme une critique à peine déguisée du pouvoir par une insistance marquée en faveur des notions de fraternité, de solidarité et de l’ouverture à l’autre. Ses propos s’apparentent aussi à un rappel à l’ordre d’une hiérarchie catholique hongroise qui n’a guère fait entendre sa différence face à la politique et à la communication du gouvernement Orbán.

Mais au-delà du cas hongrois, c’est la question du positionnement de l’Eglise – en tant qu’institution dans sa globalité, sans nier toutes les initiatives locales ou associatives qui peuvent exister et parfaitement correspondre au message du pape – face aux tendances nationales-populistes en Europe centrale qui est posée. Confrontées aux forces politiques qui mettent en avant certaines priorités chères à l’électorat catholique, notamment des questions liées au modèle familial et aux minorités sexuelles, et qui se réclament avec plus ou moins de véhémence d’une vision chrétienne de la politique et de l’identité européenne, les hiérarchies catholiques centre-européennes ont tendance à se laisser séduire et à fermer les yeux sur des aspects foncièrement problématiques de l’agenda des forces politiques en question. C’est d’autant plus vrai dans le cas des pays où ces forces sont au pouvoir, à commencer par la Hongrie, où une politique généreuse de subventions publiques remet en cause l’indépendance même de l’Eglise catholique.

En Pologne, la proximité entre l’Eglise et la majorité au pouvoir depuis 2015 est forte et complexe, dans la mesure où elle affecte aussi ses équilibres internes entre les mouvances conservatrices et libérales[2]. Les synergies avec le PiS renforcent les milieux les plus conservateurs de l’Eglise. L’exemple emblématique est celui du père Tadeusz Rydzyk, directeur-fondateur de la très controversée Radio Maryja, laquelle a su s’attirer par le passé de vives critiques de la part du Parlement européen, du Secrétariat d’Etat américain, du Conseil de l’Europe, du Centre Simon Wiesenthal, mais aussi du primat de Pologne et du Vatican. Même si ses relations avec les frères Kaczyński ont été variables et ses positions sont souvent plus radicales sur bien des sujets que celles du PiS, le père Rydzyk apparaît comme une éminence grise de ce parti et une figure influente, à la tête d’un groupe médiatique et éducatif qui va bien au-delà de la radio créée en 1991.

En République tchèque, l’archevêque de Prague Dominik Duka ne cache pas sa sympathie pour des personnalités qui portent sur la scène politique tchèque le discours proche des forces « illibérales », europhobes et anti-immigration, notamment l’ancien président Václav Klaus et son successeur Miloš Zeman. Néanmoins, à la différence des cas polonais et hongrois, dans ce pays fortement déchristianisé[3], ces collusions tiennent davantage à la personnalité même de l’actuel primat de Bohême et correspondent à des alliances de circonstances assez superficielles, face à des adversaires communs – la partie libérale et pro-européenne de l’opinion – plutôt qu’une véritable communauté idéologique. Ni Václav Klaus, ni Miloš Zeman – comme d’ailleurs Robert Fico en Slovaquie – ne se sont jamais revendiqués de la tradition chrétienne-démocrate, à la différence de Viktor Orbán qui se pose en défenseur d’une « vraie » démocratie chrétienne et se plaît à revendiquer une filiation avec notamment Helmut Kohl. Ils n’affirment pas davantage avoir pour rêve de « rechristianiser l’Europe », à la différence du premier ministre polonais Morawiecki. Par ailleurs, pour l’Eglise catholique tchèque, le partenaire politique naturel reste le petit parti chrétien-démocrate KDU-ČSL, proche du mainstream du Parti populaire européen (PPE).

Comme sur beaucoup d’autres sujets concernant cette partie de l’Europe, la comparaison à l’échelle des trente dernières années est saisissante. En 1989, l’Eglise catholique figurait du côté de la revendication du « retour à l’Europe », autrement dit d’une adoption rapide du modèle européen occidental, en tant que composante importante de la société civile qui s’est révoltée contre le régime communiste. C’était une évidence dans les pays à forte pratique religieuse : en Pologne d’abord, où l’Eglise jouait un rôle essentiel au sein de l’opposition, aidée par la figure de Jean-Paul II qui incarnait une forme de synthèse entre un conservatisme catholique modéré et l’esprit de 1989. Mais aussi en Slovaquie, où le mouvement qui a convergé vers la « révolution de velours » tchécoslovaque de novembre 1989 est parti des protestations à forte dimension religieuse, avec notamment la « manifestations aux bougies » de mars 1988, organisée par la dissidence d’inspiration catholique. Même du côté tchèque, où la pratique religieuse est très faible, l’Eglise se trouvait dans une position plutôt favorable : détail significatif, c’est un prêtre catholique, Václav Malý, qui animait les grandes manifestations anti-régime de novembre-décembre 1989. Václav Havel entretenait des relations positives avec l’Eglise catholique, comme en témoignait le Te Deum célébré le jour de son élection à la présidence de la Tchécoslovaquie, le 29 décembre 1989. Et même si son discours politique n’était pas ancré dans une inspiration religieuse franche et précise, il orientait le débat public vers des thématiques sur lesquelles l’Eglise aurait pu être audible et cultiver ainsi son influence au sein de la société civile dans le prolongement de la situation des temps de la dissidence : la dimension spirituelle de la politique, l’importance de la dimension éthique, la responsabilité de l’individu face à ce qui le dépasse, mais aussi l’attachement aux idéaux de la construction européenne et à une orientation fondamentalement « occidentale » du pays.

Trente ans plus tard, force est de constater que cette opportunité n’a guère été saisie. L’Eglise en République tchèque n’a pas su – ou voulu ? – s’identifier pleinement à ces thématiques, elle a privilégié son engagement sur des thèmes de société tels que la défense du modèle traditionnel de la famille, ou encore son combat pour obtenir la restitution des biens qui lui ont été confisqués par le régime communiste. En Pologne dans une certaine mesure et surtout en Hongrie, l’Eglise peine à faire entendre une voix indépendante et critique à l’égard du pouvoir en place, là, où ses valeurs devraient lui dicter des prises de position à contre-courant du discours politique dominant – en se rangeant davantage du côté du discours du pape François que de celui de Viktor Orbán. C’est sans doute en Slovaquie où l’Eglise réussit le mieux à maintenir une forme d’équilibre dans sa relation à la classe politique, une tâche sans doute plus simple dans un pays où les dynamiques « illibérales » sont moins robustes et où la classe politique est plus morcelée, mais relativement consensuelle en ce qui concerne l’attachement à la référence au christianisme présente jusqu’aux armoiries du pays.

Toutefois, il est à souligner que les Eglises centre-européennes ne sont pas des structures monolithiques. Un récent épisode tchèque l’illustre bien : une économiste mettant en avant son attachement aux « valeurs chrétiennes », mais aussi son euroscepticisme radical a été élue par une coalition ad hoc au sein de la Chambre des députés au conseil de surveillance de la télévision publique, après avoir été nommée par la Conférence épiscopale tchèque, grâce notamment au soutien du cardinal Duka. Or, après un certain nombre de polémiques et  sa décision d’être candidate sur une liste d’extrême droite aux prochaines législatives des 8 et 9 octobre, la même Conférence épiscopale a fini par prendre clairement ses distances avec elle. De fortes tensions existent aussi en Pologne, où l’Eglise catholique oscille entre une alliance tacite avec le PiS et une certaine prise de distance au sujet des réfugiés ou sur la question de l’érosion de la démocratie libérale[4]. Les catholiques polonais sont aussi divisés que la société toute entière, entre ceux qui restent attachés à la démocratie libérale et l’orientation européenne de leur pays, et les mouvances nationalistes et « illibérales » plus ou moins radicales. Ce conflit peut aller jusqu’à la rupture : mêmes si les données exactes manquent, le nombre d’actes d’apostasie semble augmenter fortement ces dernières années en Pologne.

Au fond, c’est une double question qui se pose à l’Eglise catholique en Europe centrale : celle des affinités qu’elle est prête à assumer sur la scène politique ; et celle des priorités qu’elle souhaite choisir entre les thématiques qui structurent le débat public. Souhaite-t-elle cultiver une proximité avec les forces politiques chrétiennes-démocrates, de tradition plutôt centriste et pro-européenne ? Ou bien pariera-t-elle sur les forces nationales-populistes au conservatisme volontiers plus intransigeant ? Son antilibéralisme naturel sur les questions de société l’incitera-t-il à s’allier avec des forces qui poussent leur refus du libéralisme jusqu’au cœur du domaine politique, en tournant le dos aux principes fondamentaux des démocraties occidentales ? Ces questionnements ne sont pas neufs et interrogent le rapport actuel de l’Eglise au modèle de la démocratie chrétienne telle qu’elle s’est développée et affirmée au cours du XXème siècle et qui est intimement lié au projet européen des pères fondateurs. Le président du PPE (Parti populaire européen, centre-droit), l’ancien premier ministre polonais Donald Tusk, dépositaire de cet héritage, a énoncé d’une manière très claire ce qui n’est pas acceptable pour un chrétien-démocrate dans son discours d’Helsinki en 2018 : renoncer aux valeurs fondamentales qui caractérisent la démocratie libérale, succomber aux sirènes de l’intolérance et de l’autoritarisme. Du côté de l’Eglise, l’idée similaire a été exprimée – dans l’affaire précitée – par Jan Graubner, le président de la Conférence épiscopale tchèque : « Il n’est pas possible de se cacher derrière une valeur qui certes correspond à la vision chrétienne de la société et du monde, tout en occultant ou niant d’autres valeurs chrétiennes. »

Au-delà du rapport à l’Eglise, la synthèse chrétienne-démocrate entre l’attachement à la démocratie libérale et les valeurs traditionnelles en matière sociétale est assez peu enracinée en Europe centrale – ce qui constitue un des facteurs de la vulnérabilité des démocraties post-1989 face à la tentation « illibérale ». Une réponse politique efficace à cette tentation passe donc aussi par la capacité des autres familles politiques attachées à la démocratie libérale à faire preuve d’empathie pour l’électorat conservateur, en Europe centrale et ailleurs, désarçonné par les évolutions rapides des sociétés occidentales en matière de normes sociales et de mœurs. Ce n’est pas une tâche facile, face à la tendance actuelle à la radicalisation des revendications militantes de tous les particularismes. Mais y opposer la logique de compromis et de modération, n’est-ce pas justement la force et la raison d’être même du projet européen ?


Notes

[1] Sans vouloir occulter la place des autres Eglises et religions en Europe centrale et orientale – rappelons, par ex. que Viktor Orbán est issu d’un milieu calviniste ou que l’ancien premier ministre tchèque Jiří Paroubek fait partie de l’Eglise tchécoslovaque hussite – nous allons nous concentrer ici sur l’Eglise catholique et l’Europe centrale au sens étroit, à savoir les quatre pays dits de Visegrád : la Hongrie, la Pologne, la République tchèque et la Slovaquie.

[2] Meyer Resende (Madalena), Hennig (Anja): “Polish Catholic Bishops, Nationalism and Liberal Democracy” in Religions, 2021, https://www.mdpi.com/2077-1444/12/2/94/pdf

[3] Selon les données du Pew Research Center, la proportion de personnes se considérant comme « hautement religieuses » en République tchèque est de 8%, contre 17% en Hongrie, 29% en Slovaquie et 40% en Pologne (https://www.pewresearch.org/fact-tank/2018/12/05/how-do-european-countries-differ-in-religious-commitment)

[4] Meyer Resende, Hennig op. cit. Et aussi https://www.dw.com/en/how-the-catholic-church-ties-in-to-polands-judicial-reform/a-39809383

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more