Blog post

Tribute to David Sassoli,
a driving force in Europe’s social conscience

| 11/01/2022

The Delors Institutes in Paris, Berlin (Jacques Delors Centre) and Brussels (Europe Jacques Delors) are saddened by the death of the President of the European Parliament, David Sassoli and express sincere condolences to his family. Enrico Letta, the President of our Institute in Paris and compatriot of Mr. Sassoli, mourns a friend and political companion.

With his sudden passing, a deeply valued representative of European social conscience has gone. As head of the European Parliament during the pandemic, David Sassoli endeavoured not only to ensure the continuity of its work in the interests of democracy, but also to ensure access to it for the most disadvantaged in his quest for social justice. This same commitment to fighting poverty led him to dedicate his first trip to France to the Restaurants du Coeur in support of the Fund for European Aid to the Most Deprived, which was initiated by Mr. Jacques Delors.

David Sassoli’s name is also inseparable from the liberalisation of rail transport, an issue on which the social-democrat MEP proved his talents as a capable compromise builder in 2017.

At the beginning of his mandate as President of the European Parliament in 2019, David Sassoli gave us the honour of speaking at the Jacques Delors Institute’s annual soirée in Paris. We remember his passion for Europe, his exquisite simplicity in taking action and his attentiveness to all, which his teams in the Parliament also valued. His voice, well known in Italy by RAI viewers during his time as a journalist, will certainly be missed on the European political scene.

Our founding president Jacques Delors has expressed his deepest sympathies to the Sassoli family and joins the Jacques Delors network in the statements made herein.

Pascal Lamy

Coordinator of the Jacques Delors think tank network, Paris-Berlin-Brussels

Press contacts:

The Jacques Delors Institute is a European think tank founded by Jacques Delors in 1996 (under the name Notre Europe), at the end of his presidency of the European Commission. Based in Paris, it is chaired by Enrico Letta and directed by Sébastien Maillard. It operates in collaboration with the Centre Jacques Delors (Hertie School, Berlin) and Europe Jacques Delors (Brussels).

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Blog post

Hommage à David Sassoli,
une conscience sociale pour l’Europe

| 11/01/2022

Les instituts Delors de Paris, Berlin (Centre Jacques Delors) et Bruxelles (Europe Jacques Delors) ont appris avec douleur le décès du Président du Parlement européen, David Sassoli. Nous transmettons à sa famille nos sincères condoléances. Le président de notre Institut de Paris, son compatriote Enrico Letta, pleure un ami et un compagnon politique.

Avec sa disparition soudaine s’éteint une conscience sociale européenne qui nous était chère. A la tête du Parlement européen pendant la pandémie, il s’est efforcé non seulement d’en assurer la continuité des travaux, au nom de l’exigence démocratique, mais aussi d’en ouvrir l’accès aux plus démunis, au nom de l’exigence sociale qui l’animait. Cette même lutte contre la pauvreté l’avait amené à réserver son premier déplacement en France à une visite aux Restaurants du cœur, en défense du fonds européen d’aide aux plus démunis initié par Jacques Delors.

Son nom est aussi indissociable de la libéralisation du transport ferroviaire pour laquelle, en 2017, ce député européen social-démocrate sut montrer ses talents de bâtisseur de compromis.

Au début de son mandat à la présidence du Parlement européen, en 2019, David Sassoli nous avait fait l’honneur et l’amitié d’intervenir à la soirée annuelle de l’Institut Jacques Delors à Paris. Nous retenons sa passion pour l’Europe, son exquise simplicité et son attention envers tous, que ses équipes du Parlement ont aussi apprécié. Sa voix, bien connue en Italie des téléspectacteurs de la RAI lorsqu’il était journaliste, manquera assurément sur la scène politique européenne.

Notre président-fondateur Jacques Delors s’associe à cette déclaration et nous a fait part de sa vive émotion.

Pascal Lamy
Coordinateur du réseau des think tanks Jacques Delors,Paris-Berlin-Bruxelles

 

Contact presse :

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more