Blog post

Newsletter April 2022

War or Europe

| 08/04/2022

Editorial Read more →

The days of war follow one another in Ukraine, bringing with them their share of increasingly unspeakable horrors, as in Boutcha. Because it is taking place on our doorstep, because it is attacking a sovereign people, because its consequences are hitting us directly, because it is attacking democracy, because the belligerent is a major nuclear power, this conflict haunts and mobilises us, as Europeans.

The war is taking place in a country where 19th century geographers located the true centre of our continent. But these eastern marches, alternately disputed and occupied throughout history, have remained an unthought-of part of European construction. The European Union (EU) has always been careful not to define its borders. It has not made explicit the place it might reserve for Ukraine. Ambiguity has prevailed, both to avoid irritating Moscow, without discouraging Kiev, and to avoid dividing us on this potential enlargement, which has never been looked at head on until now.

The war is forcing us to do so, with a new eye. In a « changing era », France, traditionally cautious about membership applications, has already come to terms with the idea that Ukraine will one day end up becoming an EU member state. It is also the case about Moldova and Georgia. Discussing future accessions sounds strange in the midst of war. The debate seems out of place when the urgencies are elsewhere. But the promise of Europe can at least bolster the morale of this nation in arms, which the Ukrainians are now courageously forming.

Moreover, the war has broken out precisely where Europe does not yet exist, in the sense of its institutional construction. The latter is based on three foundations for lasting peace between its members. Firstly, on a deep and accepted interdependence between its member states, most of which trade and cooperate with each other. There is nothing like this established between Ukraine and Russia. On the contrary, trade between them has been declining. In 2020, 42% of Ukraine’s imports came from the EU and only 8.5% from Russia. And when interdependence exists, as in the case of gas that transits through Ukraine and comes from Russia, Moscow uses it for political purposes in a relationship of strong towards weak.

Europe serves precisely to place relations between countries, large or smaller, under the same law. It is another leaven of peace. The strength of the European idea is to get out of the power relations between states. To settle our differences through law. Something unconceivable for “Greater Russia” to deal with “Little Russia”, as it has historically called Ukraine. The kleptocracy in power in the Kremlin ignores, as a matter of principle, any respect for a law other than its own. In the EU, by contrast, the rule of law is the keystone of European integration.

The latter also keeps the peace by conducting a kind of healing of memories, like the initial Franco-German reconciliation and other parallel processes. In this respect, it also allows its members, many of whom were at the head of vast empires, to turn the page on their colonial past. Europe was not only built on the ruins of wars but also on the crumbling of empires. More than 70 years of European integration have turned nationalistic dreams of grandeur, past solitary adventures, into a collective quest for influence. In contrast, Russia, humiliated by the implosion of its Soviet empire, has never come to terms with it. The war it is waging in Ukraine is imperial in nature, hijacking a narrative taken from the “Great patriotic war” of 1941-1945.

Interdependence, respect for the law, reconciliation: these three processes have « made » Europe. And they were able to make “war unthinkable” between Europeans, according to the aim of the Schuman Declaration, which justified: “Europe was not made, we had war”.

We have war before our eyes now again. It has always remained thinkable in Moscow. Europe’s peace building hoped to be imitated. Instead, it was seen as naive. Its dependencies are vulnerabilities that are today exploited, as on Russian gas. This is why, without turning their backs on decades of openness and free movement, the 27 Member States are working to protect these achievements in a hostile and even bellicose environment. Their peace project is becoming, at the same time, a power project. The initiatives of the von der Leyen Commission and the priorities of the French Presidency of the EU Council are part of this “sovereignty agenda”, the need for which is accelerated by the war in Ukraine.

The objective is not to barricade ourselves in the shelter of a hostile world, nor to docilely align ourselves behind an American protector. What is at stake for Europeans is not to allow a new iron curtain to be erected on the continent between a West – in which the EU would be diluted – and a Russia making a pact with China. Our great challenge to this part of our continent will be to make “war unthinkable” there too. Through enlargement and other means of close cooperation yet to imagine, we will have to involve a battered and bloodless country in the long threefold process of economic interdependence, respect for the law and reconciliation of peoples. In this way, a new European order will be patiently and singularly forged.

Read more →

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Blog post

infolettre avril 2022

La guerre ou l’Europe

| 08/04/2022

Édito Lire la suite →

Les jours de guerre se suivent en Ukraine et charrient leur lot d’horreurs toujours plus indicibles, comme à Boutcha. Parce qu’il se livre à nos portes, parce qu’il s’attaque à un peuple souverain, parce que ses conséquences nous frappent directement, parce qu’il s’en prend à la démocratie, parce que le belligérant est une grande puissance nucléaire, ce conflit nous hante et nous mobilise, en Européens.

La guerre se déroule dans un pays où des géographes au XIXe ont situé le véritable centre de notre continent. Mais ces marches de l’Est, tour à tour disputées et occupées au fil de l’Histoire, sont restées un impensé de la construction européenne. L’Union européenne (UE) s’est toujours gardé de définir ses frontières. D’expliciter la place qu’elle pourrait réserver à l’Ukraine. L’ambiguïté reste de mise à la fois pour ne pas irriter Moscou, sans décourager Kiev, et pour ne pas nous diviser sur ce potentiel élargissement, qui n’a jamais été regardé en face jusqu’à présent.

La guerre nous y oblige, avec un œil nouveau. Devant le « changement d’époque » en cours, la France, traditionnellement prudente envers les demandes d’adhésions, accepte dorénavant l’idée que l’Ukraine finisse un jour par devenir un Etat membre de l’UE. Idem au sujet de la Moldavie et de la Géorgie. Discuter de futures adhésions résonne étrangement en pleine guerre. Le débat paraît déplacé quand les urgences sont ailleurs. Mais la promesse d’Europe peut au moins soutenir le moral de cette nation en armes, que forment à présent avec courage les Ukrainiens.

Allons plus loin : la guerre a éclaté précisément là où n’existe pas l’Europe, au sens de sa construction institutionnelle. Celle-ci fait reposer la paix durable entre ses membres sur trois fondements. D’abord, sur une interdépendance profonde et assumée entre ses Etats membres, qui échangent et coopèrent en majorité entre eux. Rien de tel n’a su s’établir entre l’Ukraine et la Russie. Le commerce entre eux est au contraire allé déclinant. En 2020, l’Ukraine importe à 42% de l’UE et seulement à 8,5% de la Russie. Et lorsque l’interdépendance existe, comme à propos du gaz qui transite par l’Ukraine et qui provient de Russie, celle-ci l’instrumentalise à des fins politiques dans un rapport du fort au faible.

L’Europe sert justement aussi à replacer les relations entre pays, grands ou plus petits, sous l’empire du même droit. C’est un autre ferment de paix. La force de l’idée européenne est de sortir des rapports de force entre Etats. De régler nos différends par le droit. Inconcevable pour la « Grande Russie » vis-à-vis de la « Petite Russie », comme elle a historiquement désigné l’Ukraine. La kleptocratie au pouvoir au Kremlin ignore par principe tout respect d’un droit autre que le sien. A l’inverse, au sein de l’UE, la primauté du droit est la clef de voûte de l’intégration européenne.

Cette dernière maintient aussi la paix en conduisant une sorte de guérison des mémoires, à l’instar de la réconciliation franco-allemande initiale et d’autres processus parallèles. A cet égard, elle permet aussi à ses membres, dont beaucoup furent à la tête de vastes empires, de tourner leur page coloniale passée. L’Europe n’a pas été construite que sur les ruines des guerres mais également sur les fins d’empires. Plus de 70 ans d’intégration européenne ont ainsi retourné les rêves nationalistes de grandeur, les aventures solitaires passées, en quête collective d’influence. A l’opposé, la Russie, humiliée par l’implosion de son empire soviétique, n’en a jamais fait le deuil. La guerre qu’elle mène en Ukraine est bien de nature impériale, détournant un narratif emprunté à la « Grande Guerre patriotique » de 1941-1945.

Interdépendance économique, respect du droit, réconciliation sociale : ces trois processus ont « fait » notre Europe. Ils ont su rendre entre Européens la « guerre impensable », selon le but visé par la déclaration Schuman, qui justifiait : « L’Europe n’a pas été faite, nous avons eu la guerre ».

La guerre, nous l’avons de nouveau sous nos yeux. Sa pensée n’a jamais quitté Moscou. L’Europe espérait voir imitée son œuvre de paix. Elle est au contraire passée pour naïve. Ses dépendances sont aujourd’hui autant de  vulnérabilités exploitées. C’est pourquoi, sans tourner le dos à des décennies d’ouverture et de libre circulation, les Vingt-Sept s’emploient à protéger ces acquis dans un environnement hostile voire belliqueux. Leur projet de paix est en train de devenir, en même temps, un projet de puissance. Les initiatives de la Commission von der Leyen et les priorités de la présidence française du Conseil de l’UE s’inscrivent dans cet « agenda de souveraineté », dont la guerre en Ukraine accélère la nécessité. L’énergie et la défense sont les grands chantiers rouverts.

L’objectif n’est pas de nous barricader à l’abri d’un monde hostile, ni de nous ranger docilement derrière un protecteur américain. L’enjeu des Européens est de ne pas laisser s’installer sur le continent un nouveau rideau de fer, qui opposerait un Occident -dans lequel l’UE serait diluée- à une Russie pactisant avec la Chine. Notre immense défi envers cette partie de notre continent va être d’y rendre aussi dorénavant la « guerre impensable ». Au travers de l’élargissement et d’autres modes de partenariat étroit encore à inventer, il faudra entraîner à son tour un pays meurtri et exsangue dans le long triple processus d’interdépendance économique, de respect du droit et de réconciliation des peuples. Ainsi se forgera, patiemment et singulièrement, une nouvelle paix européenne.

Lire la suite →

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more