Policy paper 239
 

Just energy transition: a reality test in Europe’s coal regions

Monika Oczkowska and Thomas Pellerin-Carlin, Head of the Jacques Delors Energy Centre, collaborate for this analyse of the energy transition in Europe’s coal regions.

|   21/05/2019             |   Thomas Pellerin-Carlin             |   Energy and environment
Policy paper

In Europe, the transition away from coal started decades ago but remains incomplete. Coal phase-out now seems inevitable for economic and political reasons.

The declining competitiveness of coal and European coal mining, together with European Union’s (EU) climate and air pollution objectives make coal an energy of the past. Nevertheless, phasing it out entails important social and political risks. As this coal phase out partially results from policy decisions of the EU, the latter must act to help its coal regions address those risks and achieve a socially fair energy transition.

With 450,000 jobs at stake, social and political consequences of a disorderly coal phase-out can be disastrous, further weakening already fragile territories, deepening the European regional divides and boosting political resentment.

Despite its shortcomings, the Coal Regions in Transition Platform, created by the European Commission in 2016, reflects the EU’s willingness to develop a truly proactive approach to performing a socially fair energy transition. Indeed, the EU attempts to anticipate and mitigate the unavoidable economic and social consequences of the coal phase out, rather than merely respond to its unfolding consequences in a reactive and purely compensatory manner.

Ensuring a socially fair energy transition for coal regions is of paramount importance to guarantee the political sustainability of this transition. As such, the Coal Regions in Transition Platform is a necessary component of the ‘Social Pact for the Energy Transition’ that the Jacques Delors Institute calls for.

“We’re not just talking about jobs and money… it’s about our existence” Christine Herntier, mayor of the German coal town of Spremberg

Policy Paper 239
 

Une transition énergétique juste : l’épreuve de la réalité dans la régions charbonnières d’Europe

Monika Oczkowska, chercheuse, et Thomas Pellerin-Carlin, chef du Jacques Delors Energy Centre, collaborent pour cette étude de la transition énergétique dans les régions charbonnières d’Europe.

|   21/05/2019             |   Thomas Pellerin-Carlin             |   Energie et environnement
Policy Paper

En Europe, la transition vers une sortie du charbon a commencé il y a des décennies mais elle reste inachevée. L’abandon du charbon semble néanmoins inévitable pour des raisons économiques et politiques.

La baisse de compétitivité du charbon et de son extraction en Europe, associée aux objectifs que l’Union européenne (UE) s’est fixée en termes de lutte contre le dérèglement climatique et de pollution de l’air, font du charbon une énergie du passé. Toutefois, son abandon comporte d’importants risques sociaux et politiques. Cette sortie du charbon étant en partie le fruit de décisions politiques de l’UE, celle-ci doit agir pour aider ses régions charbonnières à affronter ces risques et à parvenir à une transition énergétique socialement juste.

Avec 450 000 emplois concernés, les conséquences sociales et politiques d’une sortie désordonnée du charbon peuvent être désastreuses, affaiblissant davantage encore des territoires déjà fragiles, approfondissant les divisions régionales en Europe et favorisant le ressentiment politique.

Malgré ses lacunes, la Plateforme pour les régions charbonnières en transition, créée par la Commission européenne en 2016, reflète la volonté de l’UE de développer une approche réellement proactive afin de permettre une transition énergétique socialement juste. En effet, l’UE cherche à anticiper et à atténuer les inévitables conséquences économiques et sociales de la sortie du charbon, plutôt que de se contenter de réagir aux conséquences qui en découlent et d’y apporter une réponse purement compensatoire.

La garantie d’une transition énergétique socialement juste est d’une importance cruciale pour assurer la durabilité politique de cette transition. La Plateforme pour les régions charbonnières en transition constitue donc une composante essentielle du Pacte social pour la
transition énergétique que l’Institut Jacques Delors appelle de ses vœux.