Brief 200504
 

The race for a Covid-19 vaccine :
A major challenge for Europe

By Isabelle Marchais, Expert Associate, Health, Jacques Delors Institute.

|   04/05/2020             |   Isabelle Marchais             |   Europe in the world
Brief

In the absence of an effective cure against COVID-19, only a safe and effective vaccine could put an end to the health crisis currently hitting the world, and Europe in particular. UN Secretary-General António Guterres even stated that only a vaccine can allow an eventual return to “normalcy”. Such a vaccine could save millions of lives and would be a major prevention tool to increase collective immunity and avoid a cyclical return of the epidemic.
This global race is occurring today and is a battle for scientists from China, the USA, Europe and other areas. In order to finance research into a COVID-19 vaccine, the European Union held a major on-line pledging event, in cooperation with various governments and global partners, to appeal for donations, in the hope of collecting an initial amount of €7.5 billion, which will also be used for treatment and screening tests.
Charlie Weller, vaccine specialist at the Wellcome Trust, a global charity operating in the health sector, has called for stakeholders in the sector to prepare themselves “to execute the largest and fastest scale-up in vaccine manufacturing history”. For Europeans, the challenge is not only finding a vaccine but manufacturing and distributing it as widely as possible. The stakes are multiple: health, economic, geopolitical.

Décryptage

200504

La course au vaccin contre le Covid-19 :
Un défi majeur pour l’Europe

Par Isabelle Marchais, Experte associée Santé pour l’Institut Jacques Delors.

En l’absence de remède éprouvé contre le Covid-19, seul un vaccin sûr et efficace pourra mettre fin à la crise sanitaire qui frappe le monde, et l’Europe en particulier. Le secrétaire général de l’ONU, António Guterres, y voit même le seul outil permettant, à terme, un retour à la « normalité ». Un tel vaccin permettrait de sauver des millions de vies, et constituerait un outil de prévention majeur pour augmenter l’immunité collective et empêcher un retour cyclique de l’épidémie.
Une course planétaire a lieu aujourd’hui, qui met aux prises des scientifiques chinois, américains, européens et autres. Afin de financer la recherche d’un vaccin contre le Covid-19, l’Union européenne organise le 4 mai, en association avec différents gouvernements et partenaires mondiaux, une grande conférence en ligne d’appel aux dons, dans l’espoir de recueillir un montant initial de 7,5 milliards d’euros, également destinés à des traitements et tests de dépistage.
Charlie Weller, spécialiste des vaccins au Wellcome Trust, un fonds caritatif mondial présent dans le secteur de la santé, a appelé les acteurs du secteur à se préparer « à la plus vaste et la plus rapide opération dans l’histoire de la fabrication des vaccins ». Pour les Européens, le défi est non seulement de découvrir un vaccin mais de le fabriquer et de le distribuer le plus largement possible. Les enjeux sont multiples : sanitaires, économiques, géopolitiques.

Covid-19 | sante