Blog post

Moldova and the war

Caught between caution and the abyss

| 27/04/2022

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine which was launched on 24 February has far-reaching consequences for Europe and countries in the European Neighbourhood. This is the case for Moldova, a State wedged between Romania and Ukraine which gained independence in 1991. While displaying solidarity with Ukraine and championing the principle of territorial integrity, Moldovan leaders have also attempted to err on the side of caution in their relations with Russia, for both domestic and external reasons.

Ukraine and Moldova share a border stretching over 939 km and have much in common, starting with having been part of the USSR and having the geopolitical ambition of a rapprochement with the European Union as soon as possible. Traditionally, each State is home to minorities from the other (Romanian-speakers in Ukraine and Ukrainians in Moldova), while the current war has forced Moldova to welcome many refugees coming mostly from the South and East of Ukraine.
It was therefore with great concern that the Moldovan authorities learned at the end of April of the declarations made by the deputy commander of the Central Military District of Russia, Rustam Minnekayev, who brought up the possibility of taking control over the breakaway Moldovan region of Transnistria if the entire Black Sea shore were to come under Russian control. Will Moldova’s caution enable the country to escape Ukraine’s fate, or is the conflict set to expand in the near future?

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Décryptage

La Moldavie face à la guerre

Entre la prudence et l’abîme

Par Florent Parmentier
Secrétaire général du CEVIPOF, enseignant à Sciences Po et chercheur-associé au Centre de géopolitique de HEC. Il est notamment l’auteur, avec Josette Durrieu, de La Moldavie à la croisée des mondes, Paris, Non Lieu, 2019.

| 27/04/2022

L’invasion de l’Ukraine par la Russie initiée le 24 février a de profondes conséquences pour l’Europe et les pays du voisinage : ainsi en est-il de la Moldavie, État coincé entre la Roumanie et l’Ukraine indépendant depuis 1991. Solidaires avec l’Ukraine et défendant le principe d’intégrité territoriale, les gouvernants moldaves tâchent pour autant de faire preuve de prudence dans leurs relations avec la Russie, tant pour des raisons internes qu’externes.

Ukraine et Moldavie partagent 939 km de frontières et de nombreux points communs, à commencer par une appartenance passée à l’Union soviétique, ainsi qu’une aspiration géopolitique à se rapprocher dès que possible de l’Union européenne. Traditionnellement, les deux États comptent des minorités croisées (roumanophones en Ukraine et ukrainiennes en Moldavie) de part et d’autre de leurs territoires, tandis que la guerre actuelle a contraint la Moldavie à accueillir de nombreux réfugiés en provenance pour l’essentiel du Sud et de l’Est de l’Ukraine.

C’est donc non sans inquiétudes que les autorités moldaves ont pris connaissance fin avril des déclarations du commandant adjoint des forces du District militaire du Centre de la Russie, Rustam Minnekaïev, qui a évoqué la possibilité de créer un couloir vers la Transnistrie si l’ensemble du rivage de la mer Noire passait sous contrôle russe. La prudence permettra-t-elle à la Moldavie d’échapper au sort de l’Ukraine, ou le conflit s’étendra-t-il prochainement ?

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more