Blog post
 

Will Brexit turn the European Parliament upside-down ?

Christine Verger, Vice-president, Jacques Delors Institute,
analyses what practical impact Brexit has on the European Parliament.
(translation from french: Lauren Clark)

|   21/01/2020             |   Christine Verger             |   Law and institutions
Blog post

There was much emotion during the European Parliament’s last session in January in Strasbourg. But this was not the case for the 29 deputies of Nigel Farage’s Brexit Party, elected in May 2019 (nor for the only pro-Brexit conservative deputy), who had also turned away during the European anthem at the inaugural session in July 2019. Having found no accomplices within the new Parliament, they now sit among the non-attached members.

But for the other 43 MEPs (Labour, Liberals, Greens, Conservatives – all opposed to Brexit), the departure from the European Parliament on the 31st of January is heart-breaking, and for many of their colleagues from other countries as well.

Hemicycle numbers after Brexit

A Council decision made on the 28th of June in 2018 established the composition of the European Parliament for the 2019-2024 parliamentary term, which included the Brexit hypothesis. 751 MEPs were therefore elected following the 2019 elections, as Brexit had not yet been effective at that date. The UK is due to leave the European Union on January 31st, 2020. Following this date, the European Parliament will have only 705 MEPs. Indeed, the Council decided that out of the 73 seats that would be left empty by the British departure, 46 of them would be reserved in the possible case of future enlargements, and/or in the event of the creation of a transnational constituency. 27 seats remain to be filled, which were, up until now, frozen (some members had even given these seats the name “Picard MEPs”), and which will be distributed among 14 member states. These states are considered to be under-represented, regarding their changing demographics since 2014.

No member states lose a seat. Legal and administrative arrangements have been made to ensure that there is no need to organise elections in the countries concerned.

The countries in question are listed beside.

With 705 seats, the simple majority decreases thus from 376 to 353.

Political groups after Brexit

The 7 political groups in the European Parliament will be variously impacted by the departure of the British MEPs.

Seats before Brexit

Seats after Brexit

The EPP group, which did not have any British MEPs, are strengthened with 5 additional MEPs (187 deputies, corresponding to 26.4% of the seats).
The S&D group loses 10 Labour MEPs but gains 4 additional MEPs (148 deputies, corresponding to 21% of the seats).
The Renew group loses its 17 British MEPs and gains 6 (97 deputies, corresponding to 13.8% of the seats).
The Greens-EFA group loses 11 MEPs and gains 5 (68 deputies, corresponding to 9.6% of the seats).
The Identity and Democracy group gains 3 MEPs (76 deputies, corresponding to 10.9% of the seats).
The ECR group loses its 4 British MEPs (62 deputies, corresponding to 8.8% of the seats).
The GUE group loses 1 elected representative (40 deputies, corresponding to 5.7% of the seats).
And finally, the non-attached members lose all the British deputies, leaving only those from the Italian Five Star Movement.

Below is a table of the national parties of the additional MEPs and their affiliation by political group.

What conclusions can be made in the short term?

The political landscape of the European Parliament will not be entirely changed after the 31st of January, especially with a strong ‘pro-European’ majority remaining.

Nonetheless, three elements are worth mentioning:

  1. The EPP consolidates its position as the largest group.
  2. The Identity and Democracy Group notably takes 4th place from the Greens, which can have both a political and psychological effect: particularly, on the speaking order in the plenary session and on obtaining reports. However, the ‘cordon sanitaire’ put in place by the main groups in the European Parliament, which prevents members of the ID group from assuming positions of responsibility, will most likely continue to be applied. Similarly, the organisation of parliamentary committees (Presidencies, vice-presidencies) will remain unchanged until the mid-term. Only positions held by British officials will be subjected to internal elections, and in particular, the Presidency of the Committee on Legal Affairs and the Committee on Fisheries. From the French perspective, the République en Marche and the National Rally (Rassemblement National) will be even, each having 23 elected representatives.
  3. Does this situation suggest further changes in the political balance of power? What will happen to the 13 members of Victor Orbán’s Fidesz, currently suspended from the EPP, but not excluded? The EPP is preparing a report on the subject, and Victor Orbán himself is contemplating the possibility of joining the Polish PIS MEPs in the ECR group. The other question concerns the Italian Five Star Movement, which currently resides among the non-attached members. Seeing that the political situation at the national level has evolved in Italy, the Greens in particular, and even the Liberals, are wondering whether the Five Star Movement should be integrated into their groups. However, this would not be an easy task considering the unpredictability of the Italian movement and its internal divisions.

All of which are questions to be addressed in 2020.

Blog post

Le Brexit va-t-il bouleverser le Parlement européen ?

Christine Verger, vice-présidente de l’Institut Jacques Delors,
nous livre quelques chiffres révélant l’impact du Brexit sur le fonctionnement du Parlement européen.

Beaucoup d’émotion lors de la dernière session du Parlement européen en janvier à Strasbourg. Pas pour les 29 députés du Brexit Party de Nigel Farage élus en mai 2019 (ni pour le seul député conservateur pro-Brexit), qui s’étaient retournés lorsque les musiciens ont joué l’hymne européen lors de la session inaugurale de juillet 2019. N’ayant pas trouvé de compères dans le nouveau Parlement, ils siègent parmi les Non-Inscrits.

Mais pour les 43 autres députés (travaillistes, libéraux, verts, conservateurs, tous opposés au Brexit), le départ du Parlement européen le 31 janvier est un déchirement. Pour nombre de leurs collègues des autres pays aussi.

Les chiffres de l’hémicycle après le Brexit

Une décision du Conseil en date du 28 juin 2018 a établi la composition du Parlement européen pour la législature 2019-2024, tout en incluant l’hypothèse du Brexit. 751 députés ont donc été élus après les élections de 2019, le Brexit n’étant pas encore effectif à cette date. Au 31 janvier 2020, il le devient, et le Parlement européen ne comptera plus, après cette date, que 705 députés. En effet, le Conseil a décidé que sur 73 sièges laissés vacants par le départ des Britanniques, 46 seraient mis en réserve pour l’éventualité de futurs élargissements, et/ou dans l’hypothèse où serait créée une circonscription transnationale. Il reste donc 27 sièges à pourvoir, qui étaient jusqu’à présent gelés (certains leur ont donné le nom de ‘députés Picard’), et qui seront répartis entre 14 États membres. Ces derniers étant considérés comme sous-représentés au regard de l’évolution de leur démographie depuis 2014.

Aucun État membre ne perd de siège. Les dispositions juridiques et administratives ont également été prises pour que nul soit besoin d’organiser des élections dans les pays concernés.

On trouvera ci-dessus les pays en question.

Avec 705 sièges, la majorité simple passe donc de 376 à 353.

Les groupes politiques après le Brexit

Au nombre de 7, les groupes politiques au Parlement européen vont être impactés par le départ des députés britanniques de façon variable.

Sièges avant le Brexit

Sièges après le Brexit

Le groupe PPE, qui ne comportait pas de députés britanniques, sort renforcé avec 5 députés supplémentaires (187 députés correspondant à 26,4% des sièges).
Le groupe S&D, perd 10 députés travaillistes mais gagne 4 députés supplémentaires (148 députés, correspondant à 21% des sièges).
Le groupe Renew, perd ses 17 députés britanniques et en gagne 6 (97 députés, correspondant à 13,8% des sièges).
Le groupe Vert perd 11 députés et en gagne 5 (68 députés correspondant à 9,6% des sièges).
Le groupe Identité et Démocratie gagne 3 députés (76 députés, correspondant à 10,9% des sièges).
Le groupe CRE perd ses 4 députés britanniques (62 députés correspondant à 8,8% des sièges).
Le groupe GUE perd 1 élu (40 députés, correspondant à 5,7% des sièges).
Enfin, le groupe des Non-inscrits perd tous les députés britanniques et ne reste composé que de ceux du Mouvement 5 étoiles italien.

On trouvera ci-après le tableau des partis nationaux des députés additionnels avec leur affiliation par groupe politique.

Quelles leçons en tirer à court terme ?

Le paysage politique du Parlement européen ne sera pas bouleversé après le 31 janvier, avec une forte majorité ‘pro européenne’ qui demeure.

Mais trois aspects méritent d’être notés :

  1. Le groupe PPE conforte sa position de premier groupe
  2. Surtout le groupe Identité et Démocratie ravit la 4e place aux Verts, ce qui peut avoir un impact à la fois politique et psychologique : sur l’ordre de la prise de parole en session plénière, et sur l’obtention de rapports notamment. Mais le « cordon sanitaire » mis en place par les principaux groupes du Parlement européen, constituant à empêcher des membres du groupe ID d’occuper des postes à responsabilité, continuera très vraisemblablement d’être appliqué. De même, l’organisation des commissions parlementaires (Présidences, vice-présidences) restera la même jusqu’à la mi-législature. Seuls les postes occupés par des responsables britanniques devront faire l’objet d’élections internes. En particulier la présidence de la commission des affaires juridiques et celle de la pêche. D’un point de vue français, la République en marche et le Rassemblement national seront à égalité, avec 23 élus chacun.
  3. Cette situation augure-t-elle d’autres modifications des rapports de force politiques ? Qu’en sera-t-il des 13 députés du Fidesz de Victor Orban, actuellement suspendus du PPE, mais non exclus ? Le PPE prépare un rapport sur le sujet, et Victor Orban lui-même s’interroge quant à l’opportunité de rejoindre les députés du PIS polonais au sein du groupe CRE. L’autre question concerne le Mouvement 5 étoiles italien, qui siège actuellement parmi les Non-inscrits. La donne politique ayant changé, au niveau national, en Italie, les verts, en particulier, et même les libéraux s’interrogent quant à l’intégration éventuelle du Mouvement 5 étoiles au sein de leur groupe. Cette dernière ne serait néanmoins pas aisée, étant donné l’imprévisibilité de ce mouvement et ses divisions internes.

Toutes questions qui devraient être tranchées en 2020.

Brexit | Parlement européen