Blog post

Europe and asylum: from a protection area to a protected area

By Yves Pascouau,
Holder of a PhD in Law
Programme Director at the Res Publica association
Associate Senior Research Fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute

| 24/08/2021

In October 1999, in Tampere, Finland, the European heads of State or government laid the foundations for European asylum policy. They asserted the principles structuring this policy, namely “the absolute right to seek asylum”, “the full and inclusive application of the Geneva Convention” and respect for the “principle of non-refoulement”. Almost 22 years later, the hopes that were forged in Finland have vanished.

When the President of the French Republic announced on 16 August 2021 that “the destabilisation of Afghanistan will likely also increase the flow of irregular migration to Europe” and “We must plan and protect ourselves against large irregular migratory flows that endanger those who are a part of them and fuel trafficking of every kind”, not only did he renounce, just like his predecessors, the commitments made in Tampere regarding the right to asylum, he also validated a shift that has been ongoing for several years, making control of migratory flows the crux of national policies and, consequently, of European policy.

In simple terms, in less than 20 years European leaders have moved from the objective of building a European protection area for people fleeing war and persecution, to building a protected area, based on the ever greater reinforcement of the external border and the temptation to transfer the management of migration to third countries, without always considering the role these countries have already played in hosting displaced populations.

How did we, collectively, reach this point? Without claiming to be exhaustive, several elements can explain this. First of all, the parallel development of asylum policies and border management have led to an enduring paradox. European States have adopted rules establishing a high level of protection for asylum seekers and refugees but this protection is only granted once these people have entered European territory. Yet, and at the same time, they have reinforced external border control of the European area. Ultimately, European States have established increasingly sophisticated protection rules, but have made access to Europe increasingly complicated.

Secondly, the geopolitical context has evolved. The terrorist attacks of 2001, 2004 and 2005 and the political transformations in the immediate neighbourhood of the European Union – Arab Spring, Syria, Crimea – have helped to hoist the topic of securing the European Area, and particularly its borders, to the forefront of political discussions and programmes.

Lastly, the powerful upswing in “populisms” and extreme-right parties has helped to place issues of migration and security at the top of Europe’s political agenda. Between conflation and manipulation, the cursor has moved in the direction of restrictive control policies. The Strategic Agenda for 2019-2024 adopted by European leaders in June 2019 or the European Commission’s New Pact on Migration and Asylum illustrate this movement.

It was therefore in this context of a shift towards solutions providing ever greater security, where protection of a space prevails over protection of people, that the President of the French Republic made his speech. This situation calls us to reflect on solutions to be adopted in response to this tragic fate experienced by the Afghan people but also the on the direction of European migration and asylum policy.

In the immediate future, the European States must establish legal and rapid access channels for persons most exposed to persecution such as agents who have worked to serve European and national authorities, human rights defenders and family members of Afghan refugees recognised in Europe. They must also stop all removals of migrants to Afghanistan.

In the medium term, organising the reception and distribution of refugee applicants among European States is a major issue of solidarity. The catastrophic failure of relocating Syrian asylum seekers in 2015-2016 should not be repeated. The European States must rise to this challenge, by assuming responsibility for providing temporary protection to all Afghans, as permitted by a European directive[1], or by creating a solidarity-based and effective distribution mechanism based on existing proposals[2]. Failing this, solidarity will remain just an empty shell.

The current situation, both in the emotion that it stirs and the lack of preparation that it reveals, questions the basis and the direction of a common EU asylum and migration  policy. At the level of both States and the European Commission, a global political project has given way to a piling up of circumstantial texts. Reinforcing controls, increasing special and fast-track procedures, curtailing rights and limiting secondary movements, are the backdrop of recent proposals that are struggling to be part of a long-term policy.

The issues of asylum and immigration are too important to be left to emotion and opportunity. They above all call for reflection on our common history and our attachment to the fundamental texts that underpin it. They then invite us to widen the scope and consider this topic other than a simple issue of internal security. Migration pertains as much to foreign policy, as it begins far from our territories, internal security, as people pass through borders, as it does to social and inclusion policies, as the refugees settle in our societies in the long term. Lastly, migration imposes a long-term vision based on geopolitical projections, better understanding of future mobility, analysis that is interconnected between demographic challenges and labour needs and better consideration for integration.

It is not too late to launch major work of reflection and debate on these issues in the public arena as much as in national and European institutions. Do we wish to continue building a space protected from the rest of the world, in the identity rationale that unites only those who are similar? Or do we wish to build a space of protection for Europeans and those who are entitled to protection by Europeans, in the French and European universalist tradition that promotes policies and actions that unite people towards a collective goal regardless of the nationality and origins?


References

[1]   Council Directive 2001/55/EC of 20 July 2001 on minimum standards for giving temporary protection in the event of a mass influx of displaced persons and on measures promoting a balance of efforts between Member States in receiving such persons and bearing the consequences thereof

[2]   See the solidarity mechanisms proposed by the European Commission, the Proposal for a Regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council on asylum and migration management COM(2020) 610 final; the Proposal for a Regulation of the European Parliament and of the Council addressing situations of crisis and force majeure in the field of migration and asylum COM(2020) 613 final.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Blog post

L’Europe et l’asile : d’un espace de protection à un espace protégé

Par Yves Pascouau,
Docteur en droit, Directeur des programmes à l’association Res Publica, Chercheur Associé Senior à l’Institut Jacques Delors

| 24/08/2021

En octobre 1999, à Tampere en Finlande, les chefs d’État ou de gouvernement européens posaient les jalons de la politique européenne de l’asile. Ils y affirmaient les principes structurant de cette politique à savoir « le droit absolu de demander l’asile », « l’application intégrale et globale de la Convention de Genève » et le respect du « principe de non-refoulement ». Presque 22 ans après, les espoirs forgés en Finlande ont disparu.

Lorsque le président de la République française a annoncé le 16 août 2021 «  la déstabilisation de l’Afghanistan risque également d’entraîner des flux migratoires irréguliers vers l’Europe (…) Nous devons anticiper et nous protéger contre des flux migratoires irréguliers importants qui mettraient en danger ceux qui les empruntent, et nourriraient les trafics de toute nature », il n’a pas seulement, tout comme ses prédécesseurs, renié les engagements de Tampere au regard du droit d’asile, il a aussi validé un glissement à l’œuvre depuis des années faisant du contrôle des flux migratoires l’axe central des politiques nationales et, par conséquent, de la politique européenne.

Pour le dire simplement, les dirigeants européens sont passés en moins de 20 ans de l’objectif de construire un espace européen de protection, pour les personnes fuyant les guerres et les persécutions, à la construction d’un espace protégé, basé sur le renforcement toujours plus important de la frontière extérieure et la tentation de transférer aux pays tiers la gestion des migrations sans toujours considérer la part déjà prise par ces pays dans l’accueil des populations déplacées.

Comment en sommes-nous – collectivement – arrivés là ? Plusieurs éléments peuvent, sans prétendre à l’exhaustivité, l’expliquer. Tout d’abord, le développement en parallèle des politiques d’asile et de gestion des frontières a abouti à un paradoxe qui perdure. Les États européens ont élaboré un droit d’asile très protecteur mais qui ne produit ses effets qu’à la condition d’être entré sur le territoire européen. Or, ils ont renforcé dans le même temps le contrôle des frontières extérieures de l’espace européen. Si bien qu’à mesure que les États européens établissaient des règles de protection toujours plus sophistiquées, ils rendaient l’accès au territoire toujours plus compliqué.

Ensuite, le contexte géopolitique a évolué. Les attentats terroristes de 2001, 2004 et 2005, ainsi que les transformations politiques au voisinage immédiat de l’Union européenne – printemps arabes, Syrie, Crimée – ont contribué à hisser le thème de la sécurisation de l’espace européen, et notamment de ses frontières, aux avant-postes des discussions et programmes politiques.

Enfin, la montée en puissance des « populismes » et partis d’extrême-droite a contribué à placer les questions de migration et de sécurité en haut de l’agenda politique européen. Entre amalgame et instrumentalisation, le curseur s’est déplacé en direction de politiques restrictives et de contrôle. Le programme stratégique 2019-2024 adopté par les dirigeants européens en juin 2019 ou encore le nouveau Pacte de la Commission européenne sur l’asile et l’immigration illustrent ce mouvement.

C’est donc dans ce contexte de glissement vers des solutions toujours plus sécuritaires, où la protection de l’espace l’emporte sur la protection des personnes, que s’inscrit l’allocution du président de la République. Cette situation invite à réfléchir aux solutions à adopter pour répondre au drame vécu par les afghans mais aussi aux orientations de la politique européenne d‘asile et d’immigration.

Dans l’immédiat, les États européens doivent établir des voies d’accès légales et rapide pour les personnes les plus exposées aux persécutions telles que les agents qui ont travaillé à leur service, les défenseurs des droits humains et les membres de famille des réfugiés afghans reconnus en Europe. Ils doivent par ailleurs cesser tout éloignement vers l’Afghanistan. Accueillir par pont aérien 2 000 personnes évacuées en France, à ce jour, sera cependant bien insuffisant au regard des dizaines de milliers d’Afghans menacés qu’il faudrait recevoir en Europe.

À moyen-terme, l’organisation de l’accueil et de la répartition des candidats réfugiés entre États européens est un enjeu de solidarité majeur. L’échec désastreux de la relocalisation des demandeurs d’asile syriens en 2015-2016 ne saurait se répéter. Les États européens doivent être à la hauteur de l’enjeu, en assumant d’accorder une protection temporaire à tous les Afghans, comme le permet une directive européenne[1], ou en créant un mécanisme de répartition solidaire et efficace sur la base de propositions existantes[2]. A défaut de quoi, la solidarité restera une coquille vide.

La situation actuelle, tant dans l’émotion qu’elle suscite que dans l’impréparation qu’elle trahit, impose de s’interroger sur le fondement et les orientations d’une véritable politique d’asile et d’immigration. Tant dans les États qu’au niveau de la Commission européenne, un projet politique d’ensemble a cédé la place à un empilement de textes de circonstances. Renforcement des contrôles, multiplication de procédures spéciales et accélérées, réduction des droits ou encore limitation des mouvements secondaires, constituent la trame de fond des propositions récentes qui peinent à s’inscrire dans une politique de long-terme.

 

Les questions de l’asile et de l’immigration sont trop importantes pour être abandonnées à l’émotion et à l’opportunité. Elles convoquent, avant tout, une réflexion sur notre histoire commune et notre attachement aux textes fondamentaux qui la fonde. Elles invitent, ensuite, à ouvrir la focale et à considérer ce thème autrement que comme une simple question de sécurité intérieure. Les migrations relèvent tout autant de la politique étrangère, car elles commencent loin de nos territoires, de la sécurité intérieure, car les personnes franchissent des frontières, que des politiques d’accompagnement social, car les réfugiés s’installent durablement dans nos sociétés. Enfin, elles imposent une vision à long-terme qui s’appuie sur des projections géopolitiques, une meilleure compréhension des mobilités futures, une analyse articulée entre défis démographiques et besoins de main d’œuvre et une meilleure prise en considération de l’intégration.

Il n’est pas trop tard pour engager un grand travail de réflexion et d’échanges sur ces questions dans l’espace public tout autant que dans les institutions nationales et européennes. Souhaitons-nous poursuivre la construction d’un espace protégé du reste du monde, dans la logique identitaire qui réunit seulement ceux qui se ressemblent ? Ou bien, souhaitons-nous construire un espace de protection pour les européens et ceux qui sont éligibles à une protection par les européens, dans la tradition universaliste française et européenne qui promeut les politiques et actions qui rassemblent ?


Références

[1] Directive 2001/55/CE du Conseil du 20 juillet 2001 relative à des normes minimales pour l’octroi d’une protection temporaire en cas d’afflux massif de personnes déplacées et à des mesures tendant à assurer un équilibre entre les efforts consentis par les États membres pour accueillir ces personnes et supporter les conséquences de cet accueil

[2] Voir les mécanismes de solidarité proposés par la Commission européenne, Proposition de règlement du Parlement européen et du Conseil relatif à la gestion de l’asile et de la migration COM (2020) 610 final ; Proposition de règlement du Parlement européen et du Conseil visant à faire face aux situations de crise et aux cas de force majeure dans le domaine de la migration et de l’asile COM (2020) 613 final.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more