Policy paper 200410
 

The EU facing the coronavirus:
A political urgency to embody European solidarity

By Thierry Chopin, Professor of Political Science at the Catholic University of Lille (ESPOL), Special Adviser at the Jacques Delors Institute in Paris, Nicole Koenig, Deputy Director, Jacques Delors Centre in Berlin, & Sébastien Maillard, Director, Jacques Delors Institute in Paris

|   10/04/2020             |   Thierry Chopin   |   Nicole Koenig   |   Sébastien Maillard             |   Europe in the world
Policy paper

“The climate that seems to prevail among Heads of State or government and the lack of European solidarity are putting the European Union in mortal danger,” Jacques Delors warned in an exceptional public speech in the middle of Europe’s devastating coronavirus crisis. This lack of solidarity has already left its mark on public opinion, especially in Italy, as divisions unfolded during the March European Council.

The extent of this health crisis and the severe economic recession, that will be triggered as a result of the drastic measures currently underway to curb the pandemic, call for a collective response from European leaders, with solidarity as the rallying force. Solidarity is not just a slogan, but a foundation of the European construction which, in support of its health and budgetary implications, requires a political embodiment commensurate with these historical circumstances that must be overcome. As Chancellor Angela Merkel acknowledged, “the European Union is facing its greatest test since its creation.”

Indeed, the present crisis requires the solidarity that has guided European construction since its very first steps. The Schuman Declaration, whose 70th anniversary will be celebrated on May 9th, called for “concrete achievements which first create a de facto solidarity.” The very concept of “community” stands for open and trusting exchanges between its members, sharing resources, and mutual assistance within this community. Moving from Communities to a Union has not taken anything away from the threefold dynamic underpinning the European project, summed up by Jacques Delors in his famous statement: “Competition that stimulates, cooperation that strengthens, and solidarity that unites.”

At its core, this solidarity is rooted in the “spiritual and moral heritage” to which the EU refers in the preamble of its Charter of Fundamental Rights. But it has developed as a result of the interdependence and interests linked to the preservation of the European project and its common goods, which today are represented by the internal market and the euro. This self-serving, yet mutual assistance makes European solidarity all the more obvious, without removing any emotional motive or altruistic justification.

The implementation of European solidarity relies on established legal frameworks, mechanisms, funds, and programmes financed by the European budget. Over the past two decades, new EU instruments, created explicitly for the sake of solidarity, have been added: the “Solidarity Clause,” the “European Union Solidarity Fund,” and more recently, the “European Solidarity Corps.”

Despite the wide-ranging scale and breadth of these tools, the implementation of European solidarity is limited when it comes to healthcare. Firstly, its extent depends on the scope of EU competences, which are exercised almost entirely by Member States in line with the principle of subsidiarity. It has been recalled since the beginning of the Covid-19 outbreak that EU competences within this field are only supportive, as EU institutions do not directly possess the personnel or resources necessary to intervene during an emergency. This did not prevent the European Central Bank from taking action, nor did it stop the Commission from identifying the legal bases that would allow for numerous initiatives to help states and citizens in distress.

Despite limited competences, European solidarity can be indirectly exercised in other ways. By relaxing or temporarily suspending a number of measures related to the competition rules of the Single Market (state aid) and the fiscal framework (European Stability and Growth Pact), the Commission made it easier for Member States to invoke national solidarity mechanisms. Solidarity is thus enabled through the European level.

However, as we are facing a challenge of an unprecedented scale that is shared shared by all twenty-seven members, we need more concrete articulations of European solidarity. This solidarity requires (1) an official activation, (2) a Franco-German initiative, (3) a European representative providing a face to the common struggle and counterbalancing the current lack of European leadership at the level of the European Council, (4) and a geopolitical strategy including global solidarity measures and a more systematic communication strategy (5). Such political initiatives are necessary to tackle a crisis that has already given rise to significant “EU-bashing,” ultimately putting the future of the European project in danger.

Blog post 200410
 

Face au Coronavirus: l’indispensable incarnation politique de la solidarité européenne

Par Thierry Chopin, professeur de science politique à l’Université catholique de Lille (ESPOL) et conseiller spécial à l’Institut Jacques Delors à Paris, Nicole Koenig, directrice adjointe du Jacques Delors Centre à Berlin, & Sébastien Maillard, directeur de l’Institut Jacques Delors à Paris.

|   10/04/2020             |   Thierry Chopin   |   Nicole Koenig   |   Sébastien Maillard             |   Europe dans le monde
Blog post

« Le climat qui semble régner entre les chefs d’État et de gouvernement et le manque de solidarité européenne font courir un danger mortel à l’Union européenne », a alerté Jacques Delors dans une rare prise de parole publique au cœur de la crise du coronavirus sévissant durement en Europe. Ce manque de solidarité a déjà marqué les opinions, en particulier en Italie, tout comme les divisions étalées lors du dernier Conseil européen.

L’étendue de la crise sanitaire et la grave récession économique que vont entraîner les mesures draconiennes prises pour enrayer la pandémie exigent au contraire en réponse un sursaut collectif des dirigeants européens, avec la solidarité pour étendard.Bien que péniblement conclu, l’accord à l’Eurogroupe est un premier encouragement. Mais la solidarité ne doit pas résulter que de de laborieux calculs et de compromis techniques. Elle est un fondement de la construction européenne qui, à l’appui de sa traduction sanitaire et budgétaire, appelle une incarnation politique à la hauteur des circonstances historiques à surmonter. Comme l’a reconnu Angela Merkel, « l’Union européenne fait face à sa plus grande mise à l’épreuve depuis sa fondation ».

Cette épreuve exige une solidarité qui sous-tend la construction européenne depuis ses premiers pas. La Déclaration Schuman, dont le 9 mai prochain marquera le 70ème anniversaire, appelait à des « réalisations concrètes créant d’abord une solidarité de fait ». Le concept même de « Communauté » signifie à la fois des échanges ouverts et confiants entre ses membres, la mise en commun de moyens et l’entraide en son sein. La substitution de l’Union aux Communautés n’a rien retiré à cette triple dynamique du projet européen qu’a résumé Jacques Delors selon sa fameuse formule : «La concurrence qui stimule, la coopération qui renforce et la solidarité qui unit».

Sur le fond, cette solidarité trouve son origine dans « le patrimoine spirituel et moral » auquel l’UE fait référence dans le préambule de sa Charte des droits fondamentaux. Mais elle s’est développée en raison de l’interdépendance et des intérêts liés à la préservation du projet européen et de ses biens communs, que représentent aujourd’hui notamment le marché intérieur et l’euro. Cette assistance mutuelle intéressée rend d’autant plus évidente une solidarité européenne, sans lui retirer tout motif émotionnel et fondement altruiste.

Pour permettre et garantir sa mise en œuvre, la solidarité européenne s’appuie sur des bases juridiques établies ainsi que divers mécanismes, fonds et programmes financés par le budget européen. Depuis une vingtaine d’années, de nouveaux instruments spécifiques à l’UE, créés explicitement au nom de la solidarité, l’ont plus encore instituée : « clause de solidarité », « fonds de solidarité de l’Union européenne » ou plus récemment « Corps européen de solidarité ».

Malgré un large éventail de types et d’échelles d’interventions, la mise en pratique de la solidarité européenne est limitée en matière sanitaire. D’abord, son étendue dépend du champ de compétences de l’UE qui les exercent entièrement, en partage ou en appui avec les États membres, en vertu du principe de subsidiarité. Il a été rappelé depuis le début de l’épidémie de Covid-19 que la compétence européenne dans le domaine de la santé publique n’était que d’appui. Les institutions européennes ne disposent pas directement des équipes, ni des équipements pour intervenir dans l’urgence. Néanmoins, ceci n’a pas empêché la Banque centrale européenne d’agir et la Commission de trouver les bases juridiques pour prendre maintes initiatives afin de secourir des États et citoyens en détresse.

À défaut de compétences directes, la solidarité européenne peut s’exercer indirectement autrement. Ainsi en assouplissant ou en suspendant temporairement plusieurs dispositifs du jeu normal de la concurrence sur le marché européen (aides d’État) et de l’encadrement budgétaire (Pacte de stabilité), la Commission a facilité le recours des États à leurs instruments nationaux de solidarité. Celle-ci s’accomplit ainsi en creux au niveau européen.

Mais lorsque l’épreuve devient collective aux Vingt-Sept et d’ampleur inédite depuis la Seconde guerre mondiale, la solidarité européenne doit se montrer au grand jour. Malmenée au fil des crises des dix dernières années (1), cette solidarité exige aujourd’hui à la fois d’être officiellement activée (2), une impulsion franco-allemande (3), une figure incarnant le combat commun qui comble le déficit de leadership et d’incarnation européen actuel (4), une stratégie géopolitique et de communication internationale (5). Celle-ci est incontournable dans une crise qui donne lieu jusqu’ici, au contraire, à un « EU-bashing » dangereux pour l’avenir du projet européen.