Other document
 
Mainstreaming Innovation Funding in the EU Budget
This study was conducted by Dr. Eulalia Rubio, Jacques Delors Institute, Dr Fabian Zuleeg, European Policy Centre, Emilie Magdalinski, Jacques Delors Institute, Thomas Pellerin-Carlin, Jacques Delors Institute, Marta Pilati, European Policy Centre, Philipp Ständer, Jacques Delors Institut – Berlin, on behalf of the commission of budgetary control of the European Parliament.
Other document

Reproduction and translation for non-commercial purposes are authorised, provided the source is acknowledged and the publisher is given prior notice and sent a copy.

You can fin the study on the European Parliament website

This study provides a comprehensive analysis and assessment of how the EU budget supports innovation in the current programming period and analyses the approach to innovation financing in the Commission´s MFF 2021-2027 proposals. In particular, the study:
• Proposes a conceptual framework to identify amounts of EU budget in support of innovation;
• Estimates the aggregate volume of funding directly and indirectly intended to support innovation in the 2014-2020 MFF;
• Explores existing synergies between different EU sources of innovation funding, and how these contribute to the attainment of the Horizon 2020 seven societal challenges;
• Assesses the functioning of various EU-sponsored partnerships for innovation;
• Analyses the role played by EU financial instruments and budgetary guarantees in support to innovation;
• Analyses the approach to innovation financing in the Commission´s MFF 2021-2027 proposals.
The study is based on extensive desk research, including the analysis of academic publications, legislative regulations, impact assessments, monitoring reports and mid-term evaluations and reports from the European Court of Auditors on EU budgetary programmes, EU-sponsored partnerships, financial Instruments and the European Fund for Strategic Investments (EFSI). Complementing this information, 30 in-depth interviews have been conducted with officials from different Commission DGs (AGRI, CLIMA, EAC, ENER, ECFIN, REGIO, RTD), EIB and EIF representatives, members of the European Court of Auditors and OECD experts on innovation and research.

Autres documents
 

Mainstreaming Innovation Funding in the EU Budget

Cette étude a été menée par Eulalia Rubio, Institut Jacques Delors, Fabian Zuleeg, Centre européen de la politique, Emilie Magdalinski, Institut Jacques Delors, Thomas Pellerin-Carlin, Institut Jacques Delors, Marta Pilati, Européenne, Philipp Ständer, Jacques Delors Institut – Berlin, au nom de la Commission de contrôle budgétaire du Parlement européen.

Autres documents

La reproduction et la traduction à des fins non commerciales sont autorisées, moyennant mention de la source, notification préalable à l’éditeur, et copie de celui-ci.

Vous pouvez consulter l’étude sur le site du Parlement européen.

Cette étude fournit une analyse et une évaluation complètes de la manière dont le budget de l’UE soutient l’innovation au cours de la période de programmation actuelle et analyse l’approche du financement de l’innovation dans les propositions du CFP 2021-2027 de la Commission.
En particulier, l’étude :

  • propose un cadre conceptuel pour identifier les montants du budget de l’UE en faveur de l’innovation ;
  • estime le volume global des financements destinés directement et indirectement à soutenir l’innovation dans le CFP 2014-2020
  • explore les synergies existantes entre les différentes sources de financement de l’innovation de l’UE et leur contribution à la réalisation des sept défis de société d’Horizon 2020
  • évalue le fonctionnement de divers partenariats pour l’innovation parrainés par l’UE
  • analyse le rôle joué par les instruments financiers et les garanties budgétaires de l’UE pour soutenir l’innovation
  • analyse l’approche du financement de l’innovation dans les propositions du CFP 2021-2027 de la Commission.

L’étude repose sur des recherches documentaires approfondies, notamment l’analyse de publications universitaires, de réglementations législatives, d’analyses d’impact, de rapports de suivi et d’évaluations à mi-parcours, ainsi que de rapports de la Cour des comptes européenne sur les programmes budgétaires de l’UE, les partenariats parrainés par l’UE, les instruments financiers et le Fonds européen pour les investissements stratégiques (EFSI). En complément de ces informations, 30 entretiens approfondis ont été menés avec des représentants de différentes directions générales de la Commission (AGRI, CLIMA, CAE, ENER, ECFIN, REGIO, RDT), des représentants de la BEI et du FEI, des membres de la Cour des comptes européenne et des experts de l’OCDE en innovation et recherche.