Other document

Message for the JDI’s 25th anniversary celebration. Thinking Europe as ours

This message from Jacques Delors was read out on his behalf by Pascal Lamy on December 6th 2021 at the Odeon theater in Paris for the 25th anniversary of the Jacques Delors Institute.

| 07/12/2021

Dear President of the French Republic,
Dear Minister for European affairs,
Ladies and Gentlemen Members of Parliament,
Dear Ambassadors,
Dear friends,

I have been given the opportunity to say a few words to you who are so many here tonight. Twenty-five years ago, I wanted to create a study and research group on Europe, because I believe in the need to “think Europe”. Europe must be thought about over and over.

Since then, “Thinking Europe” has become the shared motto of the Delors Institutes today in Paris, Berlin and Brussels and it is a healthy mindset to have. European construction is not a fully-formed programme, a procedure to roll out, a miraculously irreversible design. It is never plain sailing, as you know. We must constantly rethink Europe in terms of what has been achieved, of what worked and what did not, and in terms of the global situation which is so unstable and can even be brutal. Sticking to past decisions and the status quo would amount to intellectual laziness and a lack of political courage. We must draw inspiration from the “founding fathers”, from their original intuitions and their daring, but to renew them, to broaden the horizon, to take other avenues towards unity, such as differentiation which has not been sufficiently explored.

The stimulus package and the debt contracted by the Commission on behalf of the European Union have shown that Europeans do know how to travel down unchartered paths towards integration. The COVID-19 pandemic has also led us to design an EU health strategy, which was until then almost inconceivable. Ideas and reality must therefore always be in a dialectic relationship. This is what “Thinking Europe” truly means. The Conference on the Future of Europe is an original means of doing this. I hope this initiative underway will receive all the political and media attention it deserves. Europe was originally conceived as a project for peace. Today, this project must also be thought of in terms of power; a budding global power that is both responsible and generous.

Twenty-five years ago, I named the think tank we were creating “Notre Europe”, or “Our Europe”. I want to emphasise this plural possessive pronoun: Our. Are we able to “think Europe” as really ours? Can we consider European legislation to be our law and not law pulled out of thin air, that is forced upon us from above? Do we know how to understand European legislation and case law as something that connects us, that obliges us or is it viewed as a system that each State can flout as they see fit?

If Europe really is ours, it cannot simply be the Europe that France wants, or the one that suits Germany, or any other country, exclusively. It must not become the Europe desired by Poland or Hungary either. Neither does Europe belong solely to the European Parliament, nor can it be confiscated by the European Council. The Commission does not enjoy any more ownership of it either. It is, however, much more than the guardian of the Treaties. Through its initiatives, it is first and foremost the Commission that has the formidable task of thinking our Europe, while staying one step ahead.

Asserting our Europe –stressing the “our”–means that the Union belongs to each of us but also that it is essentially plural in nature. It is both a public good to be protected and a collective work to be furthered. I am delighted that the French Presidency of the Council of the EU has decided to highlight the concept of belonging to Europe. The meaning of this belonging is twofold: Europe belongs to us as much as we belong to Europe.

For all our countries, today belonging to Europe means refusing to let ourselves belong to China, to Russia or even to align ourselves meekly with the USA. It means refusing to let our continent become fragmented once again and see its destiny slip through its fingers.

Belonging to Europe does not mean breaking away from one’s country. On the contrary, it implies remaining loyal to it. As Albert Camus said, “I love my country too much to be a nationalist”. The European project has never been an enemy of nations, which cannot grow and flourish in isolation. What better proof of their influence than their commitment to Europe?

May this key moment in European affairs that our country is preparing to experience strengthen this feeling of belonging, without which our project will collapse like a house of cards. Let’s make Europe ours. May this wonderful anniversary evening in Paris in this magnificent European theatre contribute to that.

I wish you an excellent evening.

Jacques Delors
Founding President of Notre Europe – Institut Jacques Delors

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Autre document

Message de Jacques Delors à la soirée des 25 ans. L’EUROPE AVEC UN POSSESSIF PLURIEL

Ce texte de Jacques Delors a été lu par Pascal Lamy en présence du Président de la République, Emmanuel Macron, à l’Odéon – théâtre de l’Europe à la soirée des 25 ans de l’Institut Jacques Delors.

| 07/12/2021

Monsieur le Président de la République,
Monsieur le Ministre,
Mesdames, Messieurs les Députés
Mesdames, Messieurs les Ambassadeurs,
Chers amis,

À vous qui êtes nombreux réunis ce soir, l’occasion m’est donnée de vous adresser quelques mots. Si j’ai voulu créer, il y a 25 ans, un groupement d’études et de recherches sur l’Europe, c’est que je crois en la nécessité de « penser l’Europe ». La penser et repenser toujours.

« Penser l’Europe » est devenue depuis la devise commune des instituts delors aujourd’hui de Paris, Berlin et Bruxelles et c’est une saine hygiène d’esprit. La construction européenne n’est pas un programme préparé de toute pièce, une procédure à exécuter, un dessein miraculeusement irréversible. Ce n’est jamais un long fleuve tranquille, vous en faites l’expérience. Nous devons sans cesse repenser l’Europe au regard de ce qui a été réalisé, de ce qui a fonctionné ou non et au regard de l’état du monde si mouvant, si brutal. Ce serait céder à la paresse intellectuelle et manquer de courage politique que de s’en tenir aux arbitrages passés, au statu quo. Il faut s’inspirer des « pères fondateurs », de leurs intuitions d’origine, de leur hardiesse, mais pour les renouveler, pour élargir l’horizon, pour arpenter d’autres voies d’unité, comme la différenciation qui n’a pas été assez explorée.

Le plan de relance budgétaire et l’endettement contracté par la Commission au nom de l’Union européenne ont montré que les Européens savaient prendre des chemins nouveaux d’intégration. La pandémie du Covid nous conduit aussi à imaginer l’Europe de la santé, qui était restée jusqu’ici presqu’un impensé de l’Europe. L’idée et la réalité doivent être ainsi en dialectique permanente. C’est cela « penser l’Europe ». La Conférence pour son avenir nous y invite d’une manière inédite. Je souhaite à cette initiative en cours toute la considération politique et médiatique qu’elle mérite. L’Europe au commencement a été pensée comme un projet de paix. Elle doit aujourd’hui se penser aussi comme puissance ; une puissance en devenir, responsable et généreuse dans le monde.

Il y a 25 ans, j’avais donné au centre de réflexion et de propositions que nous étions en train de créer le nom : « Notre Europe ». Je voudrais insister sur ce possessif pluriel : Notre. Sommes-nous capables de « penser l’Europe » comme vraiment nôtre ? De considérer le droit européen comme notre droit et non pas un droit sorti d’un chapeau, qui nous serait imposé d’en haut ? Savons-nous comprendre le droit européen et sa jurisprudence comme un droit qui nous lie, qui nous oblige ou le considérons-nous comme un droit dont chacun pourrait s’affranchir à sa guise ?

Si l’Europe est bien nôtre, elle ne peut pas être seulement celle voulue par la France ou celle qui convient à l’Allemagne ou à tout autre pays exclusivement. Elle ne doit pas davantage devenir celle de la Pologne ou de la Hongrie. L’Europe n’appartient pas non plus au seul Parlement européen, ni ne peut être confisquée par le Conseil européen. La Commission n’en est pas davantage propriétaire. Mais elle est bien plus qu’une gardienne des traités. Par ses initiatives, c’est d’abord à elle que revient l’immense tâche de penser notre Europe, avec un temps d’avance.

Affirmer notre Europe – en soulignant le « notre » – signifie à la fois que l’Union nous appartient à tout un chacun mais aussi qu’elle est plurielle par essence. Qu’elle est à la fois un bien commun à préserver et une œuvre collective à poursuivre. Je me félicite que la présidence française du Conseil de l’Union ait choisi de mettre en avant la notion d’appartenance à l’Europe. C’est une appartenance à double-sens : l’Europe nous appartient autant que nous appartenons à l’Europe.

Pour tous nos pays, appartenir aujourd’hui à l’Europe, c’est refuser de se laisser appartenir à la Chine, à la Russie ou même de s’aligner docilement sur les États-Unis. C’est refuser que notre continent de nouveau se divise et laisse son destin lui échapper.

Appartenir à l’Europe ne signifie pas non plus se détacher de son pays. Au contraire c’est lui être fidèle. Comme Albert Camus, «j’aime trop mon pays pour être nationaliste». Le projet européen n’a jamais été l’ennemi des nations, qui ne peuvent s’épanouir isolément. Quel meilleur gage de rayonnement pour chacune d’elles que son engagement européen.

Puisse le temps fort européen que s’apprête à vivre notre pays raffermisse ce sentiment d’appartenance sans lequel notre projet s’écroulera comme un château de cartes. Faisons l’Europe nôtre. Que ce bel anniversaire à Paris dans ce magnifique théâtre européen y contribue.

Je vous souhaite une excellente soirée.

Jacques Delors
Président fondateur de Notre Europe – Institut Jacques Delors

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more