Brief 200410
 

Overcoming covid-19 crises
by building a clean and resilient Europe

By Thomas Pellerin-Carlin, Director of the Jacques Delors Energy Centre, Andreas Eisl, Research fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute, & Emilie Magdalinski, Research fellow at the Jacques Delors Energy Centre.

The authors would like to thank Jeff Benzak, Thierry Chopin, Marie Delair, Elvire Fabry, Sofia Fernandes, Sébastien Maillard, Léa Pilsner, Nils Redeker, Peter Sweatman and Jean-Arnold Vinois for their valuable comments and ideas.

Brief

Covid-19 has already taken tens of thousands of lives and put entire countries on lockdown. It has triggered the worst economic crisis since World War II. In this unprecedented situation this policy brief aims to shed some light on what has already happened and what may happen in the future, yet remaining humble in the face of the uncertainties on the length and magnitude of the Covid-19 health and economic crises.
What is however certain is that European societies have a choice. They can choose to follow the path of a single-minded focus on ‘returning to normal’. Or they can instead choose to address the major health and economic crises by embracing a forward-looking vision, one that places human and societal resilience at the heart of the continent’s Covid-19 response, which will notably impact our energy and mobility systems during and after the crises.

The fact is, getting back to the way things were in 2019 is the wrong objective. In today’s context, a return to this ‘normal’ would actually represent a big step backward. It would be a return to a society neither resilient to pandemics, nor able to protect the very environmental conditions that are essential to our health and security.

This policy brief highlights actions the European Union can undertake during each of the three main phases of Covid-19 crisis response: crisis management, economic recovery and fiscal consolidation. It specifically focuses on the energy and mobility tools that can help address the Covid-19 health and economic crises, and that are vital tools to deliver a clean and resilient Europe in the near future.

Décryptage 200410
 

Surmonter les crises liée au covid-19
Construire une Europe durable et résiliente

Par Thomas Pellerin-Carlin, Directeur du Centre énergie, Andreas Eisl, Chercheur à l’Institut Jacques Delors,
& Emilie Magdalinski, Chercheuse au Centre énergie.

Les auteurs tiennent à remercier Jeff Benzak, Thierry Chopin, Marie Delair, Elvire Fabry, Sofia Fernandes, Sébastien Maillard, Léa Pilsner, Nils Redeker, Peter Sweatman et Jean-Arnold Vinois pour les idées et les commentaires précieux qu’ils ont apportés.

Décryptage

Le Covid-19 a déjà fait des dizaines de milliers de morts et placé des pays entiers en confinement. Il a déclenché la crise économique la plus désastreuse depuis la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Dans ce contexte sans précédent, ce décryptage entend mettre en lumière les enjeux politiques, économiques et énergétiques de cette crise, tout en restant humble face aux incertitudes quant à la durée et l’ampleur des crises sanitaire et économique liées au Covid-19.
Une chose est sûre. Les sociétés européennes ont le choix : décider d’avoir comme seul objectif un « retour à la normale », ou faire face aux crises sanitaire et économique en adoptant une approche qui place la résilience de la population et de la société au cœur de la réponse européenne au Covid-19. Celle-ci aura des impacts conséquents sur nos systèmes d’énergie et de mobilité pendant et après les crises.

Revenir à la situation de 2019 constituerait un échec. Dans le contexte actuel, revenir à la « normale » reviendrait en réalité à faire un pas en arrière. Cela voudrait dire retrouver une société ni résiliente face aux pandémies ni en mesure de préserver les conditions environnementales indispensables à notre santé et notre sécurité.
Ce décryptage présente les actions que l’Union européenne peut mener au fil des trois étapes principales qui composent la réponse à une crise comme celle du Covid-19 : gestion de crise, reprise économique et assainissement budgétaire. Il s’intéresse en particulier aux mesures en matière d’énergie et de mobilité qui peuvent être mises en place pour résoudre les crises sanitaire et économique liées au Covid-19 et qui sont essentiels au développement rapide d’une Europe durable et résiliente. ▪▪▪