Brief

200331

Health: a highly perfectible added value for the EU

By Isabelle Marchais, expert fellow for the Jacques Delors Institute.
Translation from French by Emma Morton Saliou

Health policy is an exclusive competence of the Member States; the EU has only a supporting competence, essentially to provide coordination and cooperation actions. The conclusion of the Covid-19 crisis should be an opportunity to review existing arrangements and to consider the establishment of a genuine common European health policy which also encompasses industrial production. More than ever, citizens are asking Europe to protect them, in terms of health and in other areas.

The scattered closing of borders, varying levels of confinement, the refusal to distribute equipment to neighbours, the misappropriation of masks: at the outset of the Covid-19 pandemic, Member States reacted as they wished and showed a withdrawal into themselves contrary to the empathy and solidarity that could be expected from the members of a community. This attitude persists today – despite a number of genuine gestures of intra-European mutual aid – and is strongly felt by Italy, which has been hit hard by the health crisis.

National leaders have appeared ill-prepared, without emergency plans, lacking in equipment, and seemed to be slow to grasp the extent and seriousness of the situation. Yet it is the European Union, once again, that has been accused of failing to respond to the need to protect its citizens. These criticisms are all the more severe considering that the EU, let us not forget, has only meagre powers in the field of human health and is currently doing what it can to maximise the tools at its disposal, having also shown some hesitation in calibrating its true added value.

Covid-19 | Health

Décryptage 200331
 

Santé : une plus-value européenne très perfectible

Par Isabelle Marchais, experte associée à l’Institut Jacques Delors.

|   31/03/2020             |   Isabelle Marchais             |   Travail et affaires sociales
Décryptage

La politique de santé est une compétence exclusive des États membres ; l’UE ne dispose que d’une compétence d’appui, qui prévoit pour l’essentiel des actions de coordination et de coopération. Une fois passée, la crise liée au Covid-19 devra être l’occasion de revoir les dispositifs existants et de réfléchir à la mise en place d’une véritable politique commune européenne de la santé, y compris sur le plan de la production industrielle. Plus que jamais, les citoyens demandent à l’Europe de les protéger, sur le plan sanitaire comme dans d’autres domaines.

Fermeture des frontières en ordre dispersé, confinements à géométrie variable, refus de distribuer du matériel à ses voisins, détournement de masques : au début de la pandémie du Covid-19, les États membres ont réagi à leur guise et témoigné d’un repli sur soi contraire à l’empathie et à la solidarité que l’on pouvait attendre des membres d’une même communauté. Une attitude qui perdure aujourd’hui, malgré de nombreux et réels gestes d’entraide intra-européenne, et qui est durement ressentie par l’Italie, touchée de plein fouet par la crise sanitaire.

Les responsables nationaux sont apparus mal préparés, dépourvus de plans d’urgence, en manque de matériel, semblant mettre du temps à saisir l’ampleur et la gravité de la situation. C’est pourtant l’Union européenne qui, une fois de plus, a été accusée de ne pas répondre au besoin de protection des citoyens. Des critiques d’autant plus sévères que l’UE ne dispose en matière de santé humaine, rappelons-le, que de maigres compétences et fait aujourd’hui ce qui est en son pouvoir pour maximiser les outils à sa disposition, après avoir elle aussi montré quelques hésitations à calibrer sa juste plus-value▪▪▪