Policy paper

251

SURE : A welcome LYNCHPIN for A European unemployment re-insurance

By Sofia Fernandes, Senior Research Fellow, Jacques Delors Institute in Paris, & Frank Vandenbroucke, Professor at the University of Amsterdam, & Advisor to the Jacques Delors Institute.

This paper expands upon/ “The European Commission’s SURE initiative and euro area unemployment re-insurance” by Frank Vandenbroucke, László Andor, Roel Beetsma, Brian Burgoon, Georg Fischer, Theresa Kuhn, Chris Luigjes and Francesco Nicoli, VoxEU, 6 April 2020.

The authors would like to thank Klervi Kerneïs for her work as research assistant.

On 9 April 2020, the EU finance ministers of the enlarged Eurogroup (with the ministers of the eight countries which are not members of the euro area) agreed, at least in principle, to implement SURE, a pan-European support system for national short-time work schemes, proposed by the European Commission. We will discuss the relationship between this proposal and the idea of a European unemployment re-insurance scheme, to which the Commission also refers in its communication on SURE. Rather than an “unemployment (re)insurance scheme”, in its first-order effect, SURE is above all a “job insurance scheme”.
We will explain why, against the backdrop of the sharp contraction caused by the public-health response to the COVID-19 pandemic, collective European support for this type of measure is welcome and urgent, even though SURE can only constitute one component of a much broader European solidarity effort. The Commission’s proposal has some important virtues, in particular the scale of the planned support, but we will also identify some questions and caveats that it raises. Systems which can prevent lay-offs for a limited time cannot be the only solution to combat unemployment. Establishing SURE is an important step forward in the organisation of European solidarity, but it does not dispense us of making progress towards a fully-fledged European unemployment re-insurance scheme for which SURE should act as a lynchpin. We will recap the main economic and political arguments in favour of the implementation of such a system and stress that, notwithstanding some national sensitivities, European citizens, regardless of whether they live in the North or the South, in “old” or “new” Member States, are in favour of this type of cross-border solidarity.
The timeline is a short one. It is urgent to implement SURE as quickly as possible. Failing this, the economic and social upheavals caused by the vital fight against the pandemic will grow.

Covid-19 | Health | Labour | Solidarity

Policy Paper 251
 

SURE : Un catalyseur bienvenu pour une réassurance chômage européenne

Par Sofia Fernandes, chercheuse senior à l’Institut Jacques Delors, & Frank Vandenbroucke, professeur à l’Université d’Amsterdam et conseiller pour l’Institut Jacques Delors.

Cette note développe le texte de : Frank Vandenbroucke, László Andor, Roel Beetsma, Brian Burgoon, Georg Fischer, Theresa Kuhn, Chris Luigjes, Francesco Nicoli, The European Commission’s SURE initiative and euro area unemployment re-insurance, VoxEU, 6 avril 2020.

Les auteurs remercient Klervi Kerneïs pour son travail d’assistante de recherche.

|   10/04/2020             |   Sofia Fernandes   |   Frank Vandenbroucke             |   Travail et affaires sociales
Policy Paper

Le 9 avril 2020, les ministres des finances de l’UE, réunis en Eurogroupe élargi (avec les ministres des huit pays non membres de la zone euro), ont trouvé un accord de principe pour mettre en place SURE, un soutien paneuropéen aux régimes nationaux de chômage partiel, proposé par la Commission européenne. Nous discutons de la relation entre cette proposition et l’idée d’un système européen de réassurance chômage, auquel la Commission fait également référence dans sa communication sur SURE. Plutôt qu’un « régime de (ré)assurance chômage », SURE constitue avant tout, compte tenu de son effet premier, un « régime d’assurance emploi ».

Nous expliquons pourquoi, dans le contexte de la forte contraction provoquée par la réponse sanitaire à la pandémie du COVID-19, un soutien collectif européen à ce type de mesures est en effet bienvenu et urgent, même si SURE ne peut qu’être une composante d’un effort de solidarité européen beaucoup plus large. La proposition de la Commission a des mérites importants, notamment l’ampleur du soutien envisagé, mais nous signalons aussi les questions et limites qu’elle soulève. Des régimes permettant d’éviter les licenciements pendant un certain temps ne peuvent être la seule solution pour lutter contre le chômage. La mise en place de SURE est une avancée importante dans l’organisation de la solidarité européenne, mais elle ne dispense pas de progresser vers un régime européen d’assurance chômage à part entière, dont elle doit servir de catalyseur. Nous rappelons les principaux arguments économiques et politiques en faveur de la mise en place d’un tel régime et soulignons que, en dépit de certaines sensibilités nationales, les citoyens européens, qu’ils soient du Nord ou du Sud, des « anciens » ou des « nouveaux » États membres, sont favorables à cette forme de solidarité transfrontalière.

Le temps est compté. L’urgence est à une mise en œuvre de SURE aussi vite que possible, au risque sinon d’accroître les dommages économiques et sociaux qu’entraîne la lutte vitale contre la pandémie.