Blog post

Making migrant returns a pre-condition of trade openness

A geopolitical error that makes no sense for development

| 22/04/2022

Download pdf →  | ← Download epub


Recommended citation:
Hassel A., Lamy P., Pons G. & Vignon J. 2022. «Making migrant returns a pre-condition of trade openness», Blogpost, Paris: Jacques Delors Institute, 22 April.


In a quirk of the European legislative calendar, EU institutions will debate the adoption of a regulation on the ten-year reform of the European Generalised System of Preferences[1] (GSP)[2], an iconic instrument of the relation between the Union and the seventy poorest countries in the world, most of which are in Africa, just as the United Nations vote on the crisis in Ukraine raises these very countries’ doubts regarding the West and Europe in particular. It is therefore essential to study the new system proposed by the Commission in September 2021 with utmost attention, in terms of the effects it is likely to have on the quality of relations between the European Union and these “least developed countries”.

Overall, the idea behind readjusting the GSP seems reasonable. It follows on from developments over the decades such as the confirmation of a three-regime system, in which the most favourable (“Everything But Arms”) is particularly beneficial for countries in the greatest difficulty, heightened incentives for countries which are beginning to comply with international conventions for sustainable development, fundamental human rights and good governance, and an improved system for checking compliance with these conventions. However, it is surprising to see, for the first time in the GSP’s pre-conditions, the criterion of compliance with the European Union’s migration policy. While it is understandable that the EU is gradually consolidating its environmental and human rights requirements because they are related to the production of goods exchanged with the EU, the same cannot be said for the circulation of persons between these countries and Europe.

In specific terms, article 19 of the draft regulation provides for the temporary withdrawal of the preferential arrangements of the GSP for countries which do not accept the readmission of their citizens obliged by an EU Member State to return there[3]. This may appear to be a legitimate measure to protect European interests, but in practice this is not the case. On the contrary, this type of provision demonstrates the ambiguity of European migratory protectionism encouraged by populist parties and governments: under the pretext of justice, they stop attempts to organise migratory flows in their tracks and tend to cause harm both for the countries of departure and for European citizens.

In terms of principles, the GSP’s conditionality, intended by the Commission to put pressure on returns, does not hold up. The GSP and more specifically the EBA regime[4] were designed against the backdrop of a universal and multilateral global system to organise global trade: this concerns the collective management of a common good and the development of trade exchanges. However, the European Union’s migration policy is not part of a multilateral framework. The unilateral nature of the EU’s migration policy has long been criticised by developing nations, in Africa in particular, which fault it for having been designed solely in the interest of countries of destination, which goes against the announced mutual principles.

Similarly, as the purpose and very often the effect of the GSP entail promoting the development of poor countries by facilitating their gradual integration into world trade, countries to be penalised by withdrawal of the EBA will have their development further curtailed, to the advantage of “good performers”, which will encourage more people to leave via illegal immigration routes. Some examples are Mali, the two Guineas, Senegal and Afghanistan, countries that are currently reputed to not be very cooperative in terms of return policies. North-American development aid practices marked by political Manichaeism have already proven the harmful nature of their client politics. In following this model, how can one fail to see that the repressive signal given by the EU will be leveraged by its Russian and Chinese opponents to expand anti-Western feeling?

Beyond principles, the trends specific to international migratory movements, and North-South flows in particular, leave us sceptical regarding the efficacy of such a migration pre-requisite being enshrined in the GSP. The poorest countries that are reluctant to cooperate with return policies are also those in which civil society is oppressed, those in which aid is lost in the meanders of corruption: they get by thanks to remittances, to resources sent back to the country by those who have emigrated. It is highly unlikely that the loss of the GSP would be incentive enough to discourage departures, even illegal ones, which subsequently generate these resources.

To some degree, the wording of the European Commission’s communication which introduces the GSP’s ten-year reform speaks volumes of the uneasiness that we strive to criticise here. The recitals (26 and 27) of the draft regulation highlight the cooperative nature of a common migration challenge between the EU and Southern countries, particularly in Africa: “It is essential for both origin and destination countries to address common challenges, such as, stepping up cooperation on readmission of own nationals and their sustainable reintegration.” And, “Return, readmission and reintegration are a common challenge”.  This is true. It is therefore surprising to see these recitals justify unilateral decisions to suspend the GSP. The European Union is within its rights to apply a return policy. It results from a legal migration policy. Yet these policies can no longer be designed unilaterally without any real consultation with countries of origin.

Today, the EU’s return policy is a failure, with a success rate of only 20% – 40% depending on the country. Yet this is not due to a lack of sanctions such as suspending visas. While legal migration policies, including return measures, are really in the common interest, it is time, as the Jacques Delors Institute and many other organisations have stressed for a long time now, to focus on real cooperation with the South.


References

[1] See the text COM(2021) 579 final.

[2] Designed in the early 1970s, the Generalised System of Preferences is intended to encourage goods imports (mainly food and industrial products) from the poorest countries through lower import duties, or even their total removal, with a view to facilitating the development of these nations according to the principle of promoting “trade, rather than aid”. This scheme has undergone several major developments, notably in 2001 with the creation of the “Everything But Arms” (EBA) initiative within the GSP which stipulates that all imports to the EU from the least developed countries are duty-free, with the exception of armaments.

[3][3] Art 19, paragraph 2c

[4] Cf note 2.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Blog post

Suspendre les préférences commerciales au retour des migrants

Une erreur géopolitique, un non-sens pour le développement

| 22/04/2022

Télécharger le pdf →  | ← Télécharger l’epub


Citer cet article:
Hassel A., Lamy P., Pons G. & Vignon J. 2022. «Suspendre les préférences commerciales au retour des migrants», Blogpost, Paris: Institut Jacques Delors, 22 avril.


Les hasards du calendrier législatif européen ont fait que vient en débat entre les institutions de l’UE l’adoption d’un règlement sur la réforme décennale du Système européen des préférences généralisées[1] (SPG)[2], instrument emblématique de la relation entre l’Union et les 70 pays les plus pauvres de la planète, dont une majorité de pays africains, au moment où le vote des Nations unies sur la crise ukrainienne révèle les doutes de ces mêmes pays à l’égard de l’Occident et de l’Europe en particulier. Il convient donc de prêter la plus grande attention aux changements que le nouveau régime proposé par la Commission en septembre 2021 est susceptible d’apporter dans la qualité des relations entre l’Union européenne et ces « pays les moins avancés ».

La philosophie d’ensemble du réajustement du SPG paraît raisonnable. Elle s’inscrit dans la continuité des évolutions observées depuis des décennies : confirmation d’un dispositif en trois régimes dont le plus favorable (« Tout sauf les armes ») est particulièrement avantageux aux pays qui connaissent les plus grandes difficultés ; incitations accrues pour les pays qui «  décollent » à se conformer aux conventions internationales pour le développement durable, les droits humains fondamentaux et la bonne gouvernance ; meilleure vérification du respect de ces conventions. En revanche, on doit s’étonner de voir, pour la première fois, inscrites dans les conditions suspensives de l’accès aux SPG le respect de la politique migratoire de l’Union européenne. S’il est compréhensible que l’UE renforce progressivement ses exigences environnementales et en matière de droits de l’Homme car elles sont liées à la production des biens échangés avec l’UE, il n’en va pas de même pour la circulation des populations entre ces mêmes pays et l’Europe.

Concrètement l’article 19 du projet de règlement prévoit la possibilité du retrait temporaire du bénéfice du SPG pour les Etats qui n’auraient pas consentis à la ré-admission de leurs ressortissants assignés par un Etat membre de l’UE à une obligation de retour [3]. Ce qui peut paraître comme une mesure de protection légitime des intérêts européens ne l’est pas en réalité. Ce genre de disposition illustre au contraire l’ambigüité du protectionnisme migratoire européen auquel incitent les gouvernements et partis populistes : sous l’apparence de la justice, ils font en réalité échec aux tentatives d’organiser les flux migratoires et tendent à perpétrer le malheur tant pour les pays de départ que pour les peuples européens.

Sur le plan des principes, la conditionnalité SPG imaginée par la Commission pour faire pression sur les retours ne tient pas. Le SPG et tout spécialement le régime TSA[4] ont été conçus dans le contexte d’un système mondial universel et multilatéral d’organisation du commerce mondial : il y va de la gestion collective d’un bien commun, le développement des échanges commerciaux. En revanche, la politique migratoire de l’Union européenne ne s’inscrit pas dans un cadre multilatéral. Le caractère unilatéral de la politique migratoire de l’UE est dénoncé de longue date par les pays pauvres, notamment africains, qui lui reprochent d’être conçue dans le seul intérêt des pays de destination, contrairement aux principes mutualistes affichés.

De même, puisque l’objet et bien souvent l’effet des SPG consistent à favoriser le développement des pays pauvres en facilitant leur intégration progressive dans le commerce mondial, les pays que voudra pénaliser la sortie du TSA verront leur développement encore freiné au bénéfice des « bons élèves » ce qui accroitra encore la motivation des candidats au départ via l’immigration irrégulière. On songe par exemple au Mali, aux deux Guinées, au Sénégal, ou encore à l’Afghanistan, pays réputés peu coopératifs aujourd’hui en matière de retour. Les pratiques nord-américaines en matière d’aide au développement marquée par le manichéisme politique ont déjà fait la preuve de leur nocivité clientéliste. Comment ne pas voir que le signal répressif donné par l’UE, en suivant ce modèle, sera valorisé par ses adversaires Russes et Chinois pour élargir la sphère anti-occidentale ?

Au-delà des principes, les dynamiques propres aux mouvements migratoires internationaux aux flux Nord-Sud en particulier, laissent sceptiques quant à l’efficacité d’une telle conditionnalité migratoire inscrite dans le SPG. Les pays les plus pauvres réticents à coopérer en matière de retour sont aussi ceux où la société civile est opprimée, ceux dans lesquels les aides se perdent dans les méandres de la corruption : ils tiennent vaille que vaille grâce aux « remittances », aux ressources renvoyées au pays par la diaspora émigrée. Il y a peu de chances pour que la perte du SPG soit une incitation suffisante à décourager les départs, fussent-ils irréguliers, qui génèrent ensuite ces ressources.

D’une certaine manière, la rédaction de la communication de la Commission européenne qui introduit la réforme décennale du SPG est révélatrice du malaise que nous voulons ici dénoncer. Les considérants (26 et 27) de la proposition de règlement qu’elle soutient soulignent la nature coopérative d’un défi migratoire commun entre l’UE et les pays du Sud, particulièrement africains : « Il est essentiel que tant les pays de destination que les pays de départ s’emploient à régler des problèmes communs tels que le renforcement de la coopération en matière de réadmission des ressortissants nationaux et leur réintégration durable. » Ou encore « le retour, la ré admission, la réintégration sont des défis communs ». Ce sont des paroles justes. Mais alors on s’étonne de voir ces considérants justifier des décisions unilatérales de suspension du SPG. L’Union européenne est bien en droit d’appliquer une politique de retours. Ils sont le corollaire d’une politique de migrations légales. Mais ces politiques ne peuvent pas ou plus être conçues unilatéralement sans véritable concertation avec les pays d’origine.

Aujourd’hui la politique de retour de l’UE est un échec, avec seulement 20 à 40 % de succès selon les pays, mais ce n’est pas faute de manier les sanctions telles que la suspension des visas. Si les politiques de migrations légales, y compris la gestion des retours, sont vraiment d’intérêt commun il est temps, comme l’Institut Jacques Delors et bien d’autres organisations le soulignent de longue date, d’en faire un enjeu de vraie coopération avec le Sud.


Notes

[1] Voir le texte COM(2021) 579 final.

[2] Conçu au début des années 70, le Système des préférences généralisées est destiné à encourager les importations de biens (essentiellement alimentaires et industriels ) en provenance des pays les plus pauvres au moyen d’un abaissement des droits de douanes, pouvant aller jusqu’à leur complète suppression, en vue de faciliter leur développement selon le principe que «  le commerce vaut mieux que l’aide ». Ce dispositif a connu plusieurs développement importants, notamment en 2001 par la création au sein du SPG du dispositif « Tout sauf les armes « (TSA) qui annule complètement les droits sur tous les biens sauf les armes importés vers l’UE originaire des pays les moins avancés.

[3] Art 19, alinéa 2c

[4] Cf. note 2.

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more