Policy paper 245
 

Greening EU trade policy – 2 :
the economics of trade and environment

This note is the second in a series of publications that the Jacques Delors Institute has undertaken with the support of the European Climate Foundation in order to explore the inevitable changes in EU trade policy following the European elections last May. Inevitably, trade policy in the upcoming years and beyond will have to find its place in Europe’s new “green deal”, which was recently announced by Ursula von der Leyen, President of the new European Commission.

|   05/12/2019             |   Pascal Lamy   |   Geneviève Pons   |   Pierre Leturcq             |   Energy and environment
Policy paper

The results of the special Eurobarometer survey on Europeans’ attitudes on trade and EU trade policy published in November (2019) also confirm the relevance of this research nexus. In the study, citizens attribute the protection of European environmental and health standards as the second highest priority in trade policy.
The first note was intended to lay out a general overview of the problems to be solved and the possible solutions available. In comparison, this note seeks to better describe the theses put forward by various schools of economics on the effects, more or less positive or negative, of the opening up of trade on the environment, mainly from a climate mitigation point of view.
It concludes that international trade, whose impact is still being debated, is not likely the essential variable for the necessary decarbonisation of the European economy, even if trade policy must make a contribution to this major undertaking.
The preservation of our natural resources, as well as the fight against inequalities will require a real paradigm shift and far-reaching reforms aimed at our modes of production and consumption. Trade must accompany, facilitate and accelerate this change. Other upcoming publications in this series will address the ways and means of this necessary trade policy contribution: ambitious standards and their application to imported products and/or carbon adjustments at the border, reforms of the WTO’s multilateral framework, new-generation bilateral trade treaties, etc.

Policy Paper

245

Verdir la politique commerciale de l’UE – 2 :
aspects économiques

Cette note est la seconde d’une série de publications que l’Institut Jacques Delors a entrepris de consacrer, avec le soutien de la Fondation Européenne pour le Climat, à l’évolution de la politique commerciale de l’Union qui s’impose suite aux élections européennes de mai dernier et qui devra trouver sa place dans le « Green Deal » annoncé par la Présidente de la nouvelle Commission Européenne, Ursula von der Leyen.

| 05/12/2019

Les résultats publiés en novembre d’une enquête d’opinion commandée par la Commission Européenne sur le rapport des citoyens au commerce et à la politique commerciale de l’UE confirment par ailleurs l’acuité de cette thématique de recherche. La protection des standards environnementaux et de santé européens figure en effet au second rang des priorités que les citoyens attribuent à la politique commerciale.
La première note avait pour objet d’exposer d’une manière générale les problèmes à résoudre et les pistes de solutions disponibles.
Celle-ci s’attache à décrire de manière plus détaillée les thèses avancées par différentes écoles de la science économique sur les effets, plus ou moins positifs ou négatifs, de l’ouverture des échanges sur l’environnement, principalement du point de vue climatique.
Elle conclut que le commerce international, dont l’impact reste en débat, ne constitue probablement pas la variable essentielle de la décarbonisation nécessaire de l’économie européenne, même si la politique commerciale doit apporter sa contribution à cette entreprise majeure. La préservation de nos ressources naturelles comme d’ailleurs la lutte contre les inégalités nécessitera un véritable changement de paradigme et de profondes réformes visant nos modes de production et de consommation. Le commerce devra accompagner cette mutation, la faciliter et l’accélérer. D’autres publications à venir dans cette série aborderont les voies et moyens de cette contribution nécessaire de la politique commerciale : normes ambitieuses et leur application aux produits importés et/ou ajustements carbone à la frontière, réformes du cadre multilatéral à l’OMC, traités commerciaux bilatéraux de nouvelle génération…

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more