Brief

Welcoming Ukrainian refugees in the EU

Preliminary insights on socio-economic consequences

| 20/04/2022

Download pdf →  | ← Download epub


Recommended citation:
Kerneïs K. 2022. «Welcoming Ukrainian refugees in the EU», Policy brief, Paris: Jacques Delors Institute, 20 April.


Introduction

The Russian federation, led by Vladimir Putin, launched a military offensive against Ukraine on 24 February 2022, triggering a humanitarian disaster on the European continent of an unprecedented scale since WWII. Faced with violent shelling, combats, and other massacres on the ground, which have caused a great deal of both military and civilian casualties and stranded part of the Ukrainian population with very little resources, around 10 million of Ukrainians have fled their homes to find safety in other regions of Ukraine but also in neighbouring countries, Poland at the forefront.

Refugees have been met with open arms in the EU as heads of states and governments, and citizens alike have displayed true solidarity towards the Ukrainian people, in line with the European values enshrined in our treaties (Article 2 TEU).
Nonetheless, the influx of millions of Ukrainians in such a short amount of time will certainly have socio-economic consequences for our societies. This paper provides some preliminary insights on these consequences, although uncertainty remains a key element to consider in our analysis.

This paper first examines the situation today and how it seems to be evolving both in terms of the number and profile of those forced to leave their country, and in terms of what the EU’s response has been so far. The second part of the paper outlines more specifically the need to guarantee emergency assistance for the refugees, which requires a considerable number of resources, both human and material, to be mobilised in the most affected Member States. The last part focuses on the long-term integration of those Ukrainian refugees who wish to stay in the EU, and, despite the tragedy at hand, the ‘benefits’ it could have for the EU.

Read more →

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Décryptage

Accueillir les réfugiés ukrainiens dans l’UE

Un premier aperçu des
conséquences socio-économiques

| 20/04/2022

Télécharger le pdf →  | ← Télécharger l’epub


Citer cet article :
Kerneïs K. 2022. «Accueillir les réfugiés ukrainiens dans l’UE. Un premier aperçu des conséquences socio-économiques », Décryptage, Paris : Institut Jacques Delors, 18 mai.


Introduction

La Fédération de Russie, dirigée par Vladimir Poutine, a lancé le 24 février 2022 une offensive militaire contre l’Ukraine, engendrant sur le territoire européen un désastre humanitaire d’une ampleur inégalée depuis la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Confrontés à de violents bombardements, à des combats et autres massacres au sol ayant causé de nombreuses pertes militaires et civiles et laissé une partie de la population ukrainienne avec des ressources très limitées, près de 10 millions d’Ukrainiens ont fui leur domicile pour se réfugier dans d’autres régions d’Ukraine mais aussi dans des pays voisins, au premier rang desquels la Pologne.

Les réfugiés ont été accueillis à bras ouverts dans l’UE, où les chefs d’État et de gouvernement, tout comme les citoyens, ont fait preuve d’une véritable solidarité à l’égard du peuple ukrainien, conformément aux valeurs européennes inscrites dans nos traités (article 2 TUE).

Néanmoins, cet afflux de millions d’Ukrainiens sur une période si courte ne sera pas sans incidences socio-économiques pour nos sociétés. Ce papier offre un premier aperçu de ces conséquences, même si l’incertitude demeure un élément crucial à prendre en compte dans notre analyse.

Ce papier examine tout d’abord la situation actuelle et son évolution, tant en termes de nombre et de profil des personnes contraintes à quitter leur pays, qu’en termes de réponse apportée jusqu’à présent par l’UE. La seconde partie de ce papier insiste plus particulièrement sur la nécessité de garantir une aide d’urgence aux réfugiés, ce qui nécessite de mobiliser un nombre considérable de ressources, tant humaines que matérielles, dans les États membres les plus concernés. La dernière partie se concentre sur l’intégration à long terme des réfugiés ukrainiens souhaitant rester dans l’UE et, malgré la tragédie actuelle, sur les « bénéfices » que cela pourrait apporter à l’UE.

Lire l’article →

SUR LE MÊME THÈME

ON THE SAME THEME

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more