External contributor

Laurent Pech

Professor of European Law, Middlesex University London

Laurent Pech is Professor of European Law, Jean Monnet Chair of European Public Law (2014-17) and Head of the Law and Politics Department at Middlesex University London. Laurent is also a Visiting Professor of Law at Bordeaux University, an expert for eLabEurope, and a member of the editorial board of the Hague Journal on the Rule of Law as well as a member of the scientific board of the Montesquieu Law Review. He has been a visiting professor at many institutions, including his alma mater: Aix-Marseille University. In 2018, Professor Pech was appointed Fernand Braudel Fellow at the European University Institute. He is currently a member of a H2020 funded four-year multidisciplinary research project on “Reconciling Europe with its Citizens through Democracy and the Rule of Law” (RECONNECT).

Professor Pech specialises in EU Public Law and has lectured in a variety of subjects including EU Constitutional Law, EU Internal Market Law, EU Competition Law and EU Fundamental Rights Law. His current primary area of research is rule of law backsliding in Europe.

Prior to his appointment at Middlesex University, Laurent was Jean Monnet Lecturer in EU Public Law at the National University of Ireland Galway. During the course of his academic career, Laurent also worked in Canada (Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the Canada Research Chair on Globalization, Citizenship and Democracy) and in the United States (Emile Noel Fellow at NYU Law). He has worked as a legal consultant in many post-conflict or EU candidate countries such as Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Latvia and Montenegro, either on behalf of the Council of Europe or in the context of EU-funded assistance and training programmes. He has also worked as an external examiner at many institutions including the Law Society of Ireland.

Professor Pech is the author of two books and more than one hundred scholarly publications, on such subjects as the rule of law in the EU, the scope of application of European human rights standards and the right to free speech in comparative law. His most recent papers are generally available on the website of the Social Science Research Network and/or on Academia.edu. He also regularly contributes to legal blogs such as the Verfassungblog.

Professor Pech’s scholarship has been cited by national and European courts as well as EU bodies. In 2011, Laurent was awarded a European scholarship prize for outstanding research on the EU’s Lisbon Treaty. The same year, the Undergraduate Awards of Ireland and Northern Ireland also awarded him a certificate in recognition of excellence in lecturing. In 2018, he was awarded The Good Lobby Academic of the Year prize.

PUBLICATIONS

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more

Contributeur externe

Laurent Pech

Professeur de droit européen, Middlesex University London

Laurent Pech est professeur de droit européen, titulaire de la chaire Jean Monnet de droit public européen (2014-17) et directeur du département de droit et de politique de l’université Middlesex de Londres. Laurent est également professeur de droit invité à l’université de Bordeaux, expert pour eLabEurope, et membre du comité éditorial du Hague Journal on the Rule of Law ainsi que du conseil scientifique de la Montesquieu Law Review. Il a été professeur invité dans de nombreuses institutions, dont son alma mater : Aix-Marseille Université. En 2018, le professeur Pech a été nommé Fernand Braudel Fellow à l’Institut universitaire européen. Il est actuellement membre d’un projet de recherche multidisciplinaire de quatre ans financé par H2020 sur le thème “Réconcilier l’Europe avec ses citoyens par la démocratie et l’État de droit” (RECONNECT).

Le professeur Pech est spécialisé dans le droit public de l’UE et a donné des cours sur une variété de sujets, notamment le droit constitutionnel de l’UE, le droit du marché intérieur de l’UE, le droit de la concurrence de l’UE et le droit des droits fondamentaux de l’UE. Son principal domaine de recherche actuel est le recul de l’État de droit en Europe.

Avant sa nomination à l’université de Middlesex, Laurent était maître de conférences Jean Monnet en droit public européen à l’université nationale d’Irlande Galway. Au cours de sa carrière universitaire, Laurent a également travaillé au Canada (chercheur postdoctoral à la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur la mondialisation, la citoyenneté et la démocratie) et aux États-Unis (Emile Noel Fellow à NYU Law). Il a travaillé en tant que consultant juridique dans de nombreux pays en situation de post-conflit ou candidats à l’UE, tels que la Bosnie-Herzégovine, la Bulgarie, la Lettonie et le Monténégro, soit pour le compte du Conseil de l’Europe, soit dans le cadre de programmes d’assistance et de formation financés par l’UE. Il a également travaillé en tant qu’examinateur externe pour de nombreuses institutions, dont la Law Society of Ireland.

Le professeur Pech est l’auteur de deux livres et de plus d’une centaine de publications savantes, sur des sujets tels que l’État de droit dans l’UE, le champ d’application des normes européennes en matière de droits de l’homme et le droit à la liberté d’expression en droit comparé. Ses articles les plus récents sont généralement disponibles sur le site du Social Science Research Network et/ou sur Academia.edu. Il contribue aussi régulièrement à des blogs juridiques tels que le Verfassungblog.

Les travaux du professeur Pech ont été cités par des tribunaux nationaux et européens ainsi que par des organes de l’UE. En 2011, Laurent a reçu un prix européen pour une recherche exceptionnelle sur le traité de Lisbonne de l’UE. La même année, les Undergraduate Awards of Ireland and Northern Ireland lui ont également décerné un certificat en reconnaissance de l’excellence de son enseignement. En 2018, il a reçu le prix The Good Lobby Academic of the Year.

PUBLICATIONS

PUBLICATIONS

Voir plus
Load more

MÉDIAS

MEDIAS

Voir plus
Load more

ÉVÉNEMENTS

EVENTS

Voir plus
Load more