

European Economic and Social Committee Comité Economique et Social Européen



### Joint Conference on the occasion of

the

#### 20th anniversary of the Community Charter for Fundamental Social Rights for Workers

#### "Social Europe: achievements and prospects"

### 30 November 2009 CESE - Meeting room JDE 62

#### **Draft Programme**

#### 9.30 a.m. Registration

10 a.m. *Opening speeches* 

*Mario Sepi*, EESC President *Jacques Delors*, European Commission President 1985-1994, Founding president of *Notre Europe* 

10.30 a.m. **The EESC: historical context and its key role** Round table with the EESC members involved in the work on the 1989 Charter

Chair: Marjorie Jouen, adviser to Notre Europe

Robert Pelletier, former EESC member, Group I (Employers) Georges Dassis, EESC member, Group II President (Employees) Alfons Margot, former EESC President, Group III (Various Interests)

**General discussion** 

## 11.45 a.m.The impact of the 1989 Community charter and the social action programme:<br/>taking stock 20 years later

Chair: Georges Dassis, EESC member, Group II President (Employees)

Vasso Papandreou, former European Commissioner for social affairs (tbc) Thérèse de Liedekerke, Executif Director of Business Europe Emilio Gabaglio, former Secretary-general of the European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC) Social Platform

#### **General discussion**

.../...

- 1 p.m. Buffet lunch (Atrium), hosted by *Notre Europe*
- 2.15 p.m. <u>Coping with the crisis: moving towards a new European programme for social action?</u>

Chair: Göke Frerichs, former EESC President, Group I (Employers)

José manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission (tbc) Göran Hägglund, Minister for health and social affairs, Swedish presidency (tbc) Evelyn Regner, MEP, rapporteur for the EESC opinion on the Social Agenda Jan Olsson, rapporteur for the EESC opinion entitled "*Towards a new European social action programme*"

#### **General discussion**

# 3.30 p.m. The Lisbon Treaty: the Charter of fundamental rights and the public's right of initiative

Chair: Staffan Nilsson, EESC member, Group III President (various activities)

Gaëtane Ricard-Nihoul, Secretary-general of *Notre Europe* Tony Venables, Director of the European Citizens Action Service (ECAS) (tbc) Claude Didry, Director for research, Unit covering the "History of economic institutions and dynamics of the economy", Cachan *Ecole normale supérieure* Ferdinando Riccardi, editorial writer for *Agence Europe* 

**General discussion** 

4.45 p.m. <u>Adoption of a declaration to conclude the conference, launching a civil society</u> <u>initiative et conclusions</u>

> Jacques Delors, European Commission President 1985-1994, Founding president of *Notre Europe* Mario Sepi, EESC President

5.30 p.m. End of meeting

Interpreting: DE/EN/FR/IT/SV into EN/FR/IT