





R&I AS A COMPASS **FO**R THE FUTURE WE WANT .

May 24 • 14:30 > 17:30

DG RTD, Square Frère-Orban 8, 1000, Brussels (ORBN building)

DG Research and Innovation (RTD) and the Jacques Delors Institute have the pleasure to invite you for a high-level discussion on the shape of Europe's future research and innovation (R&I) policy.

The coming months will be rich in transitions for our institutions and their policy agendas. With the approval of the new Horizon Europe programme underway and our leaders fresh back from discussions at Sibiu on the EU's future priorities, preparations for the new European Parliament and Commission are taking place.

To prepare for such a future, DG RTD has undertaken many changes. We have developed a new strategy and narrative that make research and innovation more politically relevant and impactful. Our organisation has been remodelled to become an agile and central actor in providing a European answer to the social, ecological, and economic transitions our society is and must be undertaking.

Our vision is clear: R&I can become a driving force for the transition of European society towards a sustainable future. At the core of our vision is the determination to respond to the needs of our citizens, the desire to foster their prosperity, the imperative to respect our planetary boundaries, and the commitment to help make sustainability the key driver of the EU's competitiveness. We want to make R&I a powerful enabler to achieve these goals.

Our vision is ambitious, and if we are to be successful, it needs to be shared by relevant institutional stakeholders.

This seminar will be an opportunity to take a first step in that direction, as Jean-Eric Paquet, Pascal Lamy, senior managers of the DG and other influential speakers will test with you, in an open and participatory setting, DG RTD's draft policy agenda for the future and its strategic repositioning in the EU's policy context.

We hope you will have the opportunity to join this conversation and look forward to your reply.

Chatham House rules will apply.









Programme

14:30 - Session 1

Introduction by Antonio Vincente, Head of Cabinet of Commissioner Moedas

Jean-Eric Paquet, Directeur of the European Commission, overview of the renewed DG RTD and its policy priorities by

14:50 - Didactic policy exchanges

Sustainability -

Geneviève Pons, Director of the Jacques Delors Institute Office in Brussel,

Kurt Vandenberghe, Director for Policy Development and Coordination, European Commission, DG RTD

Climate and energy transitions -

Thomas Pellerin-Carlin, Head of The Jacques Delors Energy Center

Clara de la Torre, Director for transport, European Commission, DG RTD

Artificial Intelligence -

Paul Jasper Dittrich, Research fellow at the Jacques Delors Institut – Berlin

Peter Dröll, Acting Director of the Directorate General for Research and Innovation of the European Commission, RTD

Moderator: Kurt Vandenberghe, Director of the Policy & Programming Centre (RTD)

16:10 • Session 2

Key address by Pascal Lamy, President Emeritus of The Jacques Delors Energy Centre

16:25 - Interactive policy exchange

Moderator: Céline Gauer, Deputy Secretary-General, European Commission

17:30 • Wrap up by Richard Hudson, Editor-in-chief &

Vice Chair of the Board, Science Business

Drinks

JDEC — JACQUES DELORS ENERGY CENTRE







List of participants

External participants

• Herman Van Rompuy Former President of the European Council

 Dirk Pilat Deputy Director, Directorate for Science, Technology and Innovation, OECD

• **Martina Larkin** Head of Regional Strategies – Europe and Eurasia and Member of the Executive Committee of the World Economic Forum

- Sandrine Dixon-Declève Co-President, Club of Rome
- Richard Hudson Editor-in-Chief, Science Business
- Andrea Renda Head of Global Governance, Regulation,

Innovation and the Digital Economy, Centre for European Policy Studies (CEPS)

• Luc Soete Coordinator of the RISE Group advising Commissioner Moedas

Philippe Adriaenssens Policy Director, European
Round of Industrialists

• **Heather Grabbe** Director of EU Affairs, Open Society European Policy Institute

• **Ellen Riotte** Head of Partnerships, Research and Outreach at the

Open Society European Policy Institute

- Carlos Trias Pintó Director of International Relations,

European Economic and Social Committee

 Janez Potočnik International Resource Panel Co-Chair, former European Commissioner

Notre Europe - Jacques Delors Institute

Pascal Lamy President Emeritus, Jacques Delors
Institute

Geneviève Pons Director of Brussels Office, Jacques
Delors Institute

• **Thomas Pellerin-Carlin** Head of the Jacques Delors Energy Center (Paris

• **Paul-Jasper Dittrich** Policy Fellow at the Jacques Delors Institute (Berlin)

• **Pierre Leturcq** Research Assistant, Jacques Delors Institute, Brussels Office

European Commission participants (Non-DG RTD)

• Helena Braun Member of Cabinet of First-Vice President Timmermans

- Céline Gauer Deputy Secretary-General
- Mauro Petriccione Director-General, DG CLIMA
- Marc Lemaître Director-General, DG REGIO
- Timo Pesonen Director-General, DG GROW
- Kerstin Jorna Deputy Director-General, DG ECFIN
- Normunds Popens Deputy Director-General, DG REGIO
- John-F Ryan Director for Public health, country knowledge & crisis management,

DG SANTE

Slawomir Tokarski Director, Innovation and Advanced
Manufacturing, DG GROW

• **Tassos Haniotis** Director, Strategy, simplification and policy analysis, DG AGRI

• Luc Van den Brande Special advisor to President Juncker

DG RTD Board

- Jean-Eric Paquet Director-General
- **Signe Ratso** Deputy Director-General, Open Innovation and Chief negotiator for Horizon Europe Association
- Wolfgang Burtscher Deputy Director-General, Science
 and Policy transitions
- **Patrick Child** Deputy Director-General, Implementation, Impact and Sustainable Investment Strategies
- Jessica Larsson Policy Assistant to Jean-Eric Paquet
- Paola-Erica Momoli Assistant to Jean-Eric Paquet
- Ariadni Terzopoulou Assistant to Jean-Eric Paquet
- Francesca Cervelli Assistant to Deputy Director-General Signe Ratso

• **Nienke Buisman** Assistant to Deputy Director-General Patrick Child

• **Henri Delanghe** Assistant to Deputy Director-General Wolfgang Burtscher







DG RTD, Senior Managers

• Kurt Vandenberghe Director Policy and Programming Center – Directorate A

- Anna Panagopoulou Director Common Implementation
 Center Directorate B
- Clara de la Torre Director Clean Planet Directorate D
- Irene Norstedt Acting Director People Directorate E
- Peter Dröll Director Prosperity Directorate F
- Maria Cristina Russo Director International Cooperation
 Directorate H

- Priscila Fernandez-Cañadas Director Innovative
 Administration Directorate I
- Jean-David Malo Director, Task Force European
 Innovation Council
- March Tachelet Director, Research Executive Agency
- Julien Guerrier Director, Executive Agency for Small
 and Medium-sized Enterprises
- Dirk Beckers Director, Innovation & Networks Executive
 Agency

 Pablo Amor Director, European Research Council Executive Agency